We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - Groton

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn - Groton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn - Groton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Long Hill Road - Us Rt 1, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now, save 15%
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Groton
Valhalla
1 review
“Quick Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Came across this hotel while looking for a place to stay close to Mohegan Sun. The pool and fitcenter were clean and taken care of. Courteous and helpful staff always around and cleaning, cleaning cleaning :). Lots to do in the surrounding area. Great find in a lovely town close to the sea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    82
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
80
66
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good location for the submarine base. The food was so-so. The hotel staff was good. The bed was marginally comfortable. The heating system had no thermostat. I'd stay there again only because of its proximity to the base.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

stayed for a week - clean, very friendly staff and helpful. beds are comfortable. rooms are are the smaller side. pool area is nice - maybe the pool could be a little cleaner and wished they had a hot tub. workout center is well kept. breakfast was decent - typical continental buffet items. location was good - near stores, restaurants and easy to get in and out of parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParagParekh1982, Manager at Hampton Inn - Groton, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Kathy,

Thank you for your kind words in review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your input as new perspectives help us to stay on top of our guests needs. We will keep your suggestion for additional amenities in mind as we look towards future advancements. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope yo have you back again soon.

Thank you,
Parag Parekh
General Manager
Hampton Inn Groton, CT
Phone: (860) 405-1585
Parag.Parekh@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hearing that this was an older Hampton Inn, I wasn't expecting too much here. I ended up being very impressed on a recent Friday Night stay where my wife and I attended a concert at Mohegan Sun. The bed was comfortable, and the room was very clean. The bathroom was a little small, but it was more than sufficient for one night. The video checkout actually worked(its amazing how it doesn't at many properties) The breakfast was satisfactory, and all the staff we encountered were very pleasant and welcoming.

The rates are a little high on the weekends for what you get, but the whole area around the casinos is high on Friday and Saturday. I'd prefer to stay a little closer, but I wasn't about to pay 400 to stay on property or 239 to stay at the Hyatt.

Room Tip: Its about a 10 mile drive to Mohegan Sun on a windey road, so call a cab or designate a driver if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were visiting friends in the area and decided to try the Groton Hampton. We normally stay in Hampton hotels and find them a good place to stay. The check in and out was fine, the room was clean, the staff friendly. They had coffee and fruit out all the time and a decent (it was OK not the best we have had at a Hampton but decent) breakfast. It is easy to find, not too far from Mystic and the beach. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We live in a neighboring town and our area was evacuated due to Hurricane Sandy. We checked in Sunday night. The hotel staff was on point! Every member of this hotel staff was helpful and remained cool and calm during this stressful time. They were ready to help and accomodate us with all of our needs. They even provided dinner for hotel guests, knowing we would not be able to get out or send out for food after a certain time on Monday. The hotel was packed and the staff flowed like it was a normal day. I can't say enough about this wonderful team here. The rooms were clean and comfortable as well and a good breakfast. The staff helped to make everyone feel comfortable and taken care of. Other hotels should follow suit. This will be our go to hotel when we have out of town guests! I'm beyond pleased.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed on a Friday night...ck in was a breeze..room was clean and king bed had a wonderful comforter and the mattress was great. We were pleasantly surprised with how good the breakfast was also. The only complaint we had was that we could not have booked just a Saturday night..it was Friday only or Friday and Saturday. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn - Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Groton

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Groton Hotel
Hampton Inn - Groton Hotel Groton
Hampton Inn Groton
Groton Hampton Inn
Address: 300 Long Hill Road - Us Rt 1, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Groton
#2 Family Hotel in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Groton 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn - Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.