We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meh.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - Groton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn - Groton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn - Groton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Long Hill Rd, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now, save 15%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Candor, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August. First the pros. Staff very friendly and helpful. room very clean. Hot dogs in lobby around dinner time (son liked). Cookies and Andes candies at night. Purchased nicely discounted Mystic Aquarium tickets. Son missed breakfast, got a free breakfast bag for him.

Now...
Our room had a view of the carport roof.
No shampoo in room.
Booked a double room, charged extra $10 for son
Breakfast - out of oatmeal at 9:15 - 10:00 close). Was told it would take 30 minutes to make more.
Breakfast - out of fruit by 9:30 each day
Breakfast - one fo 2 juice dispensers output juice flavored water, the other, nearly pure juice.
Mattress "slid" on bed somewhat
Serious light leakage from both window and door at night
crazy loud elevators

I realize that this is the low end of the Hilton chain - the room looked like a Comfort Inn/Days Inn, but it costs more. I selected this hotel as it was considerably cheaper than Mystic options. It was adequate but I doubt that I'd stay again. We did not use the workout area or pool.

Room Tip: I think we were in 208. The middle rooms on the even side overlook the carport roof on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    117
    30
    16
    6
See reviews for
116
85
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nice room. Friendly staff. Free breakfast. Free wifi in the rooms. Pool. Location is fine for Groton, New London and Mystic area. Easy acces from the highway system. You can walk to Apple Bees in 2 minutes.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very friendly staff. Lobby filled with courtesy fruit and drink. Room smelled good and had LCD HD TV. Fitness room cardio equip plus swiss ball and weights - excellent. Pool temp not cold, not warm. One issue with housekeeping leaving door slightly open due to our using one reward night and one paid night - front desk knew and handled checkout-checkin but somehow housekeeping didnt get the message.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The room was nice and big--one bedroom suite is ideal for young kids. Lots of running around room. The staff was very accomodating and helpful with our young children. The carpets were questionable-- definitely need to be changed out--Socks had to be worn when we were in the room. The ac units were a little musty and could use some cleaning or new filters. The tv interface was absolutly annoying and difficult to use--wish we had more kids channels to choose from. Overall, a decent place to stay while in CT but not sure I would choose it again unless they do a makeover on the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

While the staff was excellent, this Hampton Inn needs a better management team. When we checked in the entire hall of the fourth floor reeked of cigarette smoke. When we got into the room, the carpet was wet due to an airconditioner condensate issue. When we used the shower, we found that our feet were dirty as the water ran black for a while. They were dirty because the carpet in the room was filty. The air conditioner was replaced the next day. They had offered us a different room; however, we were unpacked and when we got back the carpet was drying out so we stayed in the same room. The first morning that I went down for breakfast, they had run out of scrambled eggs, saying that the delivery truck had not arrived. Obviously, they did not know how to plan for food usage. The property is showing its' age and it appears taht the owners are cutting corners on maintenance.

Room Tip: The fourth floor has some smoking rooms. If you are a non-smoker, ask for another floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My family stayed at this Hampton Inn at the end of July 2012. We stayed 3 nights (2 adults 3 kids). Only double beds were available, no queen sized rooms. TV did not work and shower curtain was broken and would not stay shut. We changed rooms to same size room for a working TV. The first morning we headed out for a day with the inlaws only to find that the gas tank in our 15 passenger van was EMPTY! The tank was freshly filled when we parked it. 30 gallons of +/-$4.00 per gallon gasoline GONE!
The hotel explained that they were sorry.
No accomodation was offered for the room changed that was needed.
The room was overall over priced.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd and 4 floors, but you will have to wait for elevators the higher up you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We recently spent three nights here. I requested two rooms, one for a person using a wheelchair or scooter. I was told one was available. When we arrived, I did not receive that room. I was not able to use the shower or tub in our room. The room was clean with no issues in that catagory. However, it was very stuffy and no way to vent the air. The bed was excellent. The sofa on the other hand was very low and hard to stand after sitting awhile. We appreciated having breakfast onsite. The staff opened the conference room for the overflow of people eating. Our friends said they used the pool and found it clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn - Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Groton

Address: 300 Long Hill Rd, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great amenities at our Groton, CT hotel near Mystic, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn - Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Groton Hotel Groton
Groton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.