We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - Groton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn - Groton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn - Groton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Long Hill Rd, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now, save 15%
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband & I stayed here in Oct 2011 & I can honestly say it was one of the nicest hotels that we have stayed in. The room was very spacious & clean with fridge & microwave & coffee making facilities. The check in was very quick & efficient & all the staff were very friendly & helpful, as our flight was late from New York we were allowed a later check out which was very helpful to us. I would definitely recommend this hotel & we will come back here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    103
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
104
82
21
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I would like to commend the management and staff of this facility! We can honestly say that this was one of the neatest, cleanest and friendliest Inns that we have ever stayed in... and we have been to many, many places in our years of traveling together. The front desk staff, upon check-in and check-out, were friendly and very helpful in accommodating our needs. The cleaning staff goes above and beyond any expectations, they really do exceptional work... we found our room to be just, unbelievable! The beds were neatly made, the bathroom was sparkling and the floors, rug and tile, were spotless. As a bonus to guests, they have a free breakfast buffet that is just delicious... there were a good 20-25 people in the dining room when we arrived, but the food was fresh and well stocked... the staff was very conscientious of the dining area. Also want to mention that they have fresh fruit, coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 24 hours a day as well. Thank you, so much, for a wonderful experience. I would recommend this Inn to all travelers... especially those going to the Mohegan Sun, the Inn is very close and easy to locate... and they also have a very clean pool and workout room as well. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front side and it was quiet, large and just very nice... no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This hotel is very close to Mohegan Sun and we spent the night after going to a late night concert. Check in was efficient, staff was helpful and friendly, rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Nice breakfast place right down the street and Starbucks for great coffee a little farther down the road. Nice choice for events at Mohegan Sun.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The hotel was very close to Mustic Aquarium & Mystic seaport. Also very close to casinos.
The facilities were very accomodate for our needs. The employees were friendly.To reach this hotel is very easy. This hotel provides complimentary hot breakfast. They offer free coffee or tea 24 hors.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise & good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Enjoyed the clean room and facilities, great breakfast and nice pool. My only complaint is that if you are staying more one night, your room probably won't be cleaned until after 3pm. The front desk (somewhat defensively) said they have to clean the overnighters first, so that new check-ins can get their room. The late cleaning can often interfere with getting ready for dinner, quick swim, or any other plans. This is the only motel I've ever encountered with such an inconvenience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is right off the I-95 and very convenient to Mystic Seaport.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Rooms very clean and well equipped.
There is a pool and a business center.
Fruit and coffee are always available in the lobby.

This was first time we stayed at an Hampton Inn...and after this very good experience we sticked to Hampton Inns for all our vacation!!

First time we reserved a room with Booking (found a good rate), but when we came back to Mystic area we reserved through their website even though the rates where quite higher than the first time...but we thought it was money well spent cause we knew what we would have found (in the meantime we stayed at another very good Hampton in which found the same great staff and clean rooms).

Unfortunately we had a not so nice experience on our first night (of the second time) but the staff were as always helpful and everything was arranged for us.

I would definetely recommend this hotel for 2 main reasons: general comfort and a GREAT STAFF.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at this location for one night after spending the day in Mystic. The pool area was adequate for our kids, the breakfast was standard Hampton Inn. Our biggest complaint is the smell of cigarette smoke in the hallways and rooms. There are non-smoking rooms but the smell is still everywhere. Since we only had to stay a night we just went with the smell. If we had to stay multiple nights the smell of smoke would be too much. The hotel was close to the highway to get back on the road in the AM.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn - Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Groton

Address: 300 Long Hill Rd, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great amenities at our Groton, CT hotel near Mystic, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn - Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Groton Hotel Groton
Groton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.