We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair for business, forget pleasure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Groton
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“fair for business, forget pleasure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This is a business hotel that tries to be pleasureful with a spa, but doesn't make it. There's no charm in the hotel - it's business with ballrooms for business (and weddings) in a setting just off the highway no where near the charming town of Mystic despite the name of the hotel. The hotel rooms are classic business - functional but no charm. Unfortunately we were there for a mix of business and pleasure - we should have chosen the Inn at Mystic or Taber Inn which are charming within the confines of Mystic and provide the basic business functions. The reason this gets a mediocre rating on business is the lackluster internet - the connection kept dropping and I got better bandwidth at the local coffee shop (I actually relocated there at one time for a business call so that I could get adequate coverage). I'd stay at this hotel only if a conference or wedding I was attending was there, otherwise go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    191
    79
    45
    21
See reviews for
137
192
14
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Was there for business conference; nice enough facilities (rooms nicely appointed, decent gym, nice heated indoor pool). Don't expect a hotel on the Mystic waterfront, however. If you notice from the address, it's in Groton, and while the water front is close, I only caught a glimpse of it while turning into the hotel and saw no view from the hotel itself. No shops or stores in walking distance if that's your thing, but nice running trail a couple of miles down the road. Food was very good, especially the seafood.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMHSAdmin, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. Here at the AAA 4 Diamond Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa, we take great pride in our clean and comfortable guest rooms, our outstanding commitment to guest service, being centrally located between all of the local area attractions and all of the wonderful amenities we have here on property, including our full service Starbucks, our heated indoor pool and fitness center, and our Octagon Steakhouse restaurant, which offers some of the best steak and seafood in CT. We are thrilled that you were able to experience and appreciate some of these wonderful amenities during your stay. Here at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa, we always value hearing our guest’s comments.
Again, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

With Kind Regard,
Michael D. Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Arrived on a Friday evening with my cousin and other various friends and relations. Booking in was problematic, despite us all having individual reservations. Eventually it was sorted out. Rooms are good, spacious with decent facilities.

The service at the restaurant and bar was absolutely dire. On Friday, they had a wedding party booked at the hotel. Despite knowing there would be a lot of people at the hotel, they only had 2 bar staff on and 1 waitress. We waited 2 hours before our food was brought and at least 30 minutes each time we ordered drinks.

The food was nothing special and I have had much better atmosphere, food and service in hotels with a lower star ranking. It appears that when you reach the HIlton Mystic level - they really don't give a toss about their customers.

The majority of reception staff were helpful, unfortunately, we chose the weekend when we got the most miserable woman on the planet working behind the reception desk.

Overall rating - I would say give this hotel a complete miss and book in at nearby hotels where they would probably value their customers more and not have receptionists who make their customers feel like they are inconveniencing their mundane lives.

DONT BOTHER GOING THERE - ON A VALUE FOR MONEY BASIS - THIS HOTEL IS ONLY 1 STAR.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My husband and I have dined at this restaurant many times and have always enjoyed the food, ambiance and staff. We selected this restaurant to celebrate our 34th anniversary based on these other past experiences. Unfortunately, this was a mistake from our lost reservation on. We requested to be seated in an area of the dining room with the most ambiance and were told that they would "try" to accommodate us which is a reasonable response in a very busy restaurant, but surprising in an almost empty dining room. Our Tuna appetizers were flavorless and almost old tasting. Our Prime NY strip steak and filet mignon special entree were very mediocre. Even two of the listed sauces which we requested after tasting the meal did nothing to salvage the beef . This was a very disappointing experience as this, sadly, is not the same quality restaurant it once was.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed at the Mystic Marriott last weekend following a John Fogerty concert at Foxwoods. We called ahead while stuck in Boston traffic at 6:00 PM to say we wouldn't be arriving to check in until after the concert at approx. midnight. We were using Marriott points for our stay and were a little concerned that we might end up in the least desirable room given the late checkin time. However, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the "Concierge Level" (top floor) which was lovely! The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the bedroom and bath spotlessly clean. The next morning we grabbed a quick pastry and muffin from the Starbuck's located in the hotel, but there's also a nice restaurant as well as room service available. Although it's a little drive from Foxwoods (about 20 minutes), I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on a return visit and it is very convenient if you are visting the attractions and shops in Mystic,CT.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMHSAdmin, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Thank you for posting your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at The Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. Your comments on tripadvisor.com have been shared with our outstanding staff. I am so happy to hear we were able to make your first Mystic Marriott experience such a positive one. Our teams’ commitment to guest service, quality and cleanliness in every detail cannot be surpassed.
We are thrilled to hear that you were able to take advantage several of the wonderful amenities our hotel has to offer. From the outstanding food and service in our AAA Four Diamond restaurant, Octagon, to the convenience and great service of our Starbucks in the lobby, to our comfortable and clean guest rooms, we are always striving to make sure that each and every experience is a great one.
Again, we appreciate the feedback you provided and are truly pleased that you plan to return to the Mystic Marriott in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With Kind Regards,
Michael D. Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

UNBELIEVABLE! Booked Anniversary Package 09/11/10. Room was impeccably clean, staff could not have been nicer, gave us directions to the casino which was only 20 minutes away, the food in Octagon was perfect, they had champagne waiting for us in our room, breakfast was fresh fruit, omelets, yogurt, cereal etc. etc. We never had to wait for anything. We got a couples massage and it was wonderful. I highly, highly recommend this hotel. We never get this lucky with our choice of getaways, and we could not have been happier. Also, the bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding was soft and cozy. R&J Johnson, Whitman, MA

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMHSAdmin, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you for providing us with such wonderful feedback. I am happy that you were able to book and enjoy one of our amazing packages, have the opportunity to experience our bountiful and fresh breakfast buffet offered in Octagon, our 4 Diamond steakhouse, the best place to have steak an all of Connecticut, and experience the true relaxation of our Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa here on property. With all of the wonderful amenities our hotel has to offer, we truly pride ourselves on being a destination hotel
At the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa our team strives to be knowledgeable, resourceful and eager to assist each of our guests. I am happy to hear that our staff went above and beyond to ensure that each detail of your stay was a perfect ‘10’.
Again, we are so thankful for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful hotel in the future.
With Kindest Regards,
Michael D. Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We booked a traditional guest room (using Marriott points) for our family of 5. Thanks to the tripadvisor review that mentioned that some guest rooms are larger than others, I called the day prior to our arrival and inquired about getting a larger room and was told we'd have a corner room with 2 queen beds. The room was large, spacious and clean and even had a pullout couch (we had brought an aero bed for our 3 year old just in case but didn't even need it). The staff was friendly and helpful, and breakfast was perfect in the morning. I would highly recommend this hotel, and was really pleased with our first experience using our Marriott points - I was worried we'd get a smaller room b/c we used points, but our experience could not have been more positive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMHSAdmin, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and thank you for choosing the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa as your home away from home. It’s great to hear that our staff was able to go above and beyond to provide you with spacious and comfortable guest room accommodations that exceeded your family’s needs and expectations. Here at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa, we take our guests needs very seriously and are always striving to ensure each guests stay is a true 4 Diamond experience.
In addition to our great service and spacious accommodations, we are also thrilled to hear that you were able to take advantage of our “perfect” breakfast buffet that we offer each morning in our 4 Diamond Octagon restaurant. Our restaurant staff takes pride in offering our guests a large variety of options, made fresh to satisfy anyone’s appetite.
Again, thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to providing you with outstanding service in the future.

With Kind Regard,
Michael D. Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.