We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good but could be better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't mean to be a 'DebbieDowner" but I have a habit of looking at the "curb appeal" of
things. This is a nice looking property and the employees seemed very professional
and very nice...but....just a little different paint color....a little change of lighting..and because
it is the holiday season..a few more decorations could have made it warmer and more cheerful.
This is not supposed to be a run of the mill Marriott...it's a hotel/spa. In other words, it seemed plain and ordinary.....I've been in Courtyard Marriotts and they seemed more up to date. Sorry.
I had to have my input...having said all this..I would stay again!

Room Tip: Big conference hotel...ask to be away from the "groups"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear dinnerand,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be very professional. You probably visited us as we were in the process of putting up our holiday decorations! It is a process that takes a week due to the extensive decoration we do. I appreciate your opinion on the décor and color scheme. I look forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    191
    79
    45
    21
See reviews for
137
192
14
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel and there are many good things to say about our stay. Our arrival and check in was quite smooth, despite our reservation through Hotel.com being incorrect. The reception staff handled the reservation issue very well and upgraded us, free of charge, to a larger room.

Good things:- Comfortable room and very nice bed. Starbucks in reception for a quick breakfast. Excellent meals in the Octagon restaurant where we ate dinner on two nights. Small but adequate gym and pool. Really friendly staff throughout all the hotel. The excellent self-serve shop by reception which had a wide range of travel items, drinks and snacks.

Not so good:- The only issue we experienced was road noise from traffic on the 117 early in the morning which woke us up, until we bought ear plugs, in the shop referred to above! Otherwise we would have given this a '5 star'. We would come back to this hotel, but take another room away from the 117.

Room Tip: Check on arrival which rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. I’m happy to hear you had a pleasant experience from your smooth check-in process to the excellent meals in Octagon!

I look forward to your next stay and we will make sure to accommodate you in a room of your preference.

Best Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamiusC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Marriott Hotel & Spa was nice for a get away. The lobby was huge and stylish. The bar was good good, however, they were out of several mixers that were on the special drink menu. The room was comfy and clean. The shower curtain hook were broken and needed replacement. The pool area was nice. The hot tub was hot one day, luke warm the next. There was also mold around the outside of the hot tub, a good scrubbing would have fixed the problem. Room service was prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My statewide association has its annual conference at the Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa every year. The staff is exceptional in how they treat us staff, and more importantly, our members to a great couple of days. The food is always great, They handle both large-group sessions and small break-out type sessions easily. The rooms are always clean and well maintained. The restaurant is very good, and a Starbucks in the lobby makes life better. I would stronly recommend any group looking to hold a meeting to consider this hotel. I'd also think it would be great for families and couples - as it is close to New London and Mystic, CT with all their attractions. It is also close to Foxwoods Casino.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear gibsonjunkie,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa! I am so delighted that you are happy with your conference that is held here annually. I’m happy to hear that our team meets and exceeds your expectations whether it be the food, the service, or the overall cleanliness of the hotel.

Thank you for also pointing out our convenient location to all of the attractions Mystic has to offer, as well as the casinos, which does make us an ideal weekend getaway hotel! We look forward to hosting you during your next conference here and hope you will have the chance to come enjoy a relaxing weekend away here as well.

Best Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as a couples weekend and had an amazing time! Everything you needed was at the hotel, spa, pool, restaurant and Starbucks coffee! We took advantage of it all and really enjoyed it! We would absolutely stay here again. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel in general was very clean and our room was spacious and clean as well. It also came with a mini fridge and a personal coffee maker.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear momoftwoboyz0004,

Thank you for your review of your recent couple’s weekend you spent here at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. I’m so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away and took full advantage of all that we have to offer here, such as Octagon Steakhouse and the Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa!

I hope you will have the chance to come here again- we always have great overnight package deals to better enjoy another fun weekend away!

Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a pretty hotel. Half hour from mohegan. Excellent steak restaurant, Starbucks, and red door spa all right here. Rooms are typical marriott rooms. Very nice. Great sleep comfort. Great staff. Very very professional staff

Room Tip: All are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great stay. The hotel is very close to just about everything I needed. Seemed like only a mile or two no matter what direction. Very close to 95. Room was very large with all the amenities you would expect from Marriot.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.