We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Verona, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very satisfied guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a few days in this hotel (for both business and leisure), and everything was perfect. The entire staff was courteous and professional, and went beyond the usual impersonal service. The hotel itself is lovely, and well equipped with dining options and the lobby is very spacious and well kept. We have several options to choose from for business trips, and will now always choose this hotel - as a matter of fact, we're returning in a couple of weeks and extended our business stay to allow us some time to relax in the hotel and enjoy the atmosphere.

Room Tip: The hotel is quite large, so - if you choose a room away from the elevator - be prepared for a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Pru G.,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful experience here at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. I am happy to hear that our staff went above and beyond to meet your needs, and that you were pleased with the overall hotel itself. I am delighted that you and your husband are returning, and hope that you do have the chance to relax and enjoy all that we have to offer here.

Best Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    186
    76
    45
    21
See reviews for
136
183
14
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Don't be fooled by the name of the hotel. It's located in a secluded area just off of I95 in Groton, about 10 minutes from Mystic Seaport, but its a beautiful Marriott property. Despite a weekend calendar that included 7 weddings during the weekend of our stay, the staff was prompt and attentive. This was our second stay at the hotel and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Good gym, nice updated property restaurant has good food great staff Roger and Amy always attentive and great attitude they work the bar always enjoy dinner at the bar
Breakfast buffet at this hotel is also. Very good and complimentary for platinum members

Room Tip: Upper floors concierge access. Great gym. Red door spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear rockrimmonroad,

Thank you for your review of the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. I am pleased you were happy with the fitness center and the overall property, and that you had the chance to take advantage of the breakfast buffet. I am also glad you enjoyed your experience at Octagon, and I will pass along your comments to Roger and Amy. I hope you get the chance to stay with us again in the future!

Best Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Even though it was a one stay this hotel was a high end, luxurious, very comfortable, super friendly staff and service. Entrance is grand and amenities were very good. Restaurant was high quality and really enjoyed the environment.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

As a longtime Marriott Rewards member, I am regularly upgraded and usually enjoy excellent service at Marriott properties. I have stayed at the Mystic Marriott many times, and previously wrote a favorable review. But during my most recent stay, July 7 and 8, there was a noticeable falling off.
Although I was upgraded to the concierge floor, there is no longer a key required to enter this level. Also, in the club room, service has been drastically cut: No breakfasts at all, no dessert at night, and (this happened during my stay) no more replenishments when the first service of after-work snacks runs out.
Service at the front desk has also fallen off. During my check-in and check-out, the front desk rep did not know how to use the computer, and as a result caused considerable confusion and delay.
This is still a good looking hotel: Its corporate luster has been burnished as a longtime favorite of nearby Pfizer employees. But as that business has fallen off, so has the shine. It could use a little polishing.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtesy upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 8MoonRiver,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. During the time of your visit, we had been trying out new processes for the concierge lounge. The first attempt, the one in question, was not successful. We now have a schedule and menu that is favorable to guests and have received very positive feedback.

I understand how you feel about your check in process. We did have a few new additions to our front desk staff and we do our best to get everyone trained in a timely manner. Again, thank you for all of your comments as your feedback helps us to continuously improve. I hope you will stay with us again and give us another chance to show you what a great experience you can have here at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa.

Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stay at this hotel every year while on our vacation in the Northeast. I am happy to say that this property is exceptional. We have come to know the staff and they are truly like family. The hotel is very clean and the atmosphere is very inviting and luxurious.
We get the upgrade for our family of 5, as my husband is a Marriott Rewards Member. The room is very large and fits our family perfectly. The beds are really comfortable with plenty of pillows. The room was serviced nicely every morning and was very quiet in the evening.
The mornings are great. A full service Starbucks in the lobby was a perfect convenience. The breakfast at the Octagon restaurant exceeded expectations. More than a "continental" breakfast. The buffet had everything. Service was great.
When we arrived, we were greeted by Keith, the bellman. He graciously helped me unload the truck and get everything to our room.
We enjoyed our time very much.
The hotel lobby was playing 80's 90's music and it was great!!
There is an indoor pool and fitness center. Very clean.
The Red Door Spa is also part of the hotel.
During the week, there are business travelers and the weekends are primarily weddings.
The proximity to Mystic and area attractions off I-95 is ideal.
We love Amanda and her attention to detail. She is a fantastic employee and just a wonderful person.
The proprietor, Farouk, knows how to run a property. Attention to detail and makes a conscious effort to understand his guests needs.
Thank you again for a fantastic stay!
We will be back again next year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Theresa,

Thank you so much for your amazing review of the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa! I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your time here. Thank you for all of your positive comments, including your kind words about Amanda and myself. We are looking forward to your future stays, and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations!

Best Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Being a Marriott Rewards Member, I try to be brand loyal. In town to drop of son at the CGA and needed a 1 night stopover before moving family of 4 to the Residence Inn. Arrived at 11:00pm and checked in with ease. No baggage help at that hour or valet, but no big deal. Place was hopping b/c of 3 weddings the next day. Room was clean and spacious....We had a king with pull out sofa and a rollaway cot, due to no doubles that were available. No issues. No noise factor. It did the job. Next morning we used the restaurant for the breakfast buffett was fantastic...many selections..build your own omlette....etc. Very good. Starbucks on site but did not use. Workout room was spacious with many machines and view of indoor pool. Grounds outside we beautiful and well kept. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear jserna20,

Thank you for taking the time to share some positive feedback on your stay at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to hear that your check-in process went smoothly and that you were satisfied with our clean, spacious rooms.

I’m also glad you enjoyed the wide variety of foods that we offer for our delicious breakfast buffet! Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you stay with us.

Best Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.