We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Farmington, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious and comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Even though it was a one stay this hotel was a high end, luxurious, very comfortable, super friendly staff and service. Entrance is grand and amenities were very good. Restaurant was high quality and really enjoyed the environment.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    184
    75
    45
    20
See reviews for
135
180
14
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darien, CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

As a longtime Marriott Rewards member, I am regularly upgraded and usually enjoy excellent service at Marriott properties. I have stayed at the Mystic Marriott many times, and previously wrote a favorable review. But during my most recent stay, July 7 and 8, there was a noticeable falling off.
Although I was upgraded to the concierge floor, there is no longer a key required to enter this level. Also, in the club room, service has been drastically cut: No breakfasts at all, no dessert at night, and (this happened during my stay) no more replenishments when the first service of after-work snacks runs out.
Service at the front desk has also fallen off. During my check-in and check-out, the front desk rep did not know how to use the computer, and as a result caused considerable confusion and delay.
This is still a good looking hotel: Its corporate luster has been burnished as a longtime favorite of nearby Pfizer employees. But as that business has fallen off, so has the shine. It could use a little polishing.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtesy upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 8MoonRiver,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. During the time of your visit, we had been trying out new processes for the concierge lounge. The first attempt, the one in question, was not successful. We now have a schedule and menu that is favorable to guests and have received very positive feedback.

I understand how you feel about your check in process. We did have a few new additions to our front desk staff and we do our best to get everyone trained in a timely manner. Again, thank you for all of your comments as your feedback helps us to continuously improve. I hope you will stay with us again and give us another chance to show you what a great experience you can have here at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa.

Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stay at this hotel every year while on our vacation in the Northeast. I am happy to say that this property is exceptional. We have come to know the staff and they are truly like family. The hotel is very clean and the atmosphere is very inviting and luxurious.
We get the upgrade for our family of 5, as my husband is a Marriott Rewards Member. The room is very large and fits our family perfectly. The beds are really comfortable with plenty of pillows. The room was serviced nicely every morning and was very quiet in the evening.
The mornings are great. A full service Starbucks in the lobby was a perfect convenience. The breakfast at the Octagon restaurant exceeded expectations. More than a "continental" breakfast. The buffet had everything. Service was great.
When we arrived, we were greeted by Keith, the bellman. He graciously helped me unload the truck and get everything to our room.
We enjoyed our time very much.
The hotel lobby was playing 80's 90's music and it was great!!
There is an indoor pool and fitness center. Very clean.
The Red Door Spa is also part of the hotel.
During the week, there are business travelers and the weekends are primarily weddings.
The proximity to Mystic and area attractions off I-95 is ideal.
We love Amanda and her attention to detail. She is a fantastic employee and just a wonderful person.
The proprietor, Farouk, knows how to run a property. Attention to detail and makes a conscious effort to understand his guests needs.
Thank you again for a fantastic stay!
We will be back again next year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Theresa,

Thank you so much for your amazing review of the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa! I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your time here. Thank you for all of your positive comments, including your kind words about Amanda and myself. We are looking forward to your future stays, and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations!

Best Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Being a Marriott Rewards Member, I try to be brand loyal. In town to drop of son at the CGA and needed a 1 night stopover before moving family of 4 to the Residence Inn. Arrived at 11:00pm and checked in with ease. No baggage help at that hour or valet, but no big deal. Place was hopping b/c of 3 weddings the next day. Room was clean and spacious....We had a king with pull out sofa and a rollaway cot, due to no doubles that were available. No issues. No noise factor. It did the job. Next morning we used the restaurant for the breakfast buffett was fantastic...many selections..build your own omlette....etc. Very good. Starbucks on site but did not use. Workout room was spacious with many machines and view of indoor pool. Grounds outside we beautiful and well kept. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear jserna20,

Thank you for taking the time to share some positive feedback on your stay at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to hear that your check-in process went smoothly and that you were satisfied with our clean, spacious rooms.

I’m also glad you enjoyed the wide variety of foods that we offer for our delicious breakfast buffet! Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you stay with us.

Best Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was able to stay at this hotel on a business trip. The staff is well trained and very attentive to each hotel customer. It is like staying at a resort property. The best part is the award winning restaurant and lobby bar. The Happy Hour is one of the highlights of staying here. Rooms are very clean and modern. I will try to book a room each time I am on business throught this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear CRACKER_JEFF,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your stay here at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. I’m so glad you had the chance to experience Octagon Steakhouse, and that you enjoyed happy hour at the lounge. I am also delighted you found our rooms to be very clean and modern.

I look forward to your next stay with us when your business travels bring you back to this area.

Best Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Disappointing. Very disappointing. We stayed here a few years ago and it was outstanding. Great service. Great location. Everything worked. This time... not so much. First, tried printing out some email from the lobby workstations. Tried one, then the other, then the third. Nothing. Finally, someone comes out to the front desk from the back office and says the printer has been broken for a few days. A few days? A printer? Seriously... what can they cost? $300?

Walking down the hallway, it was tray after tray on the floor outside rooms for hours on end. Staff walk by and just either don't see them or have determined it's not within their job description to actually pick them up and return them to the kitchen.

At night, went to the Concierge Lounge at around 7:15. Everything was gone but the water. Seems that they no longer send up a lot of food to the lounge anymore, so if you stay on that level and want to partake, get there at 5:30. And don't let the sign fool you... it's not really staffed from 6:30am. In fact, it's not staffed until early afternoon. When we questioned the discrepancy, the front desk clerk just shrugged and said, "I guess we'll have to update that." Ya think? How about at least updating the website so that what you say will be there is actually there? That would be a good start.

On the positive side, breakfast was very good... but in the final analysis, this looks to me like a property that has already learned it's losing the Marriott brand, so they just figured, "Why bother?"

Green Features: Of course they have the sign in the bathroom asking us to do our part by "hanging up towels for future use". The only problem is YOU DON'T PROVIDE A TOWEL BAR UPON WHICH TO HANG THE STUPID THINGS!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Fish4Stripers,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa. We recognize the importance of replacing items in a timely manner. During the time of your stay, a printer had been ordered, and is now installed and working properly.

In regards to your comment about the trays, room service does floor checks every couple of hours. Thank you for your comments about the concierge lounge- we have been trying out a few new processes based on guest feedback. We will offer dinner and salad from 5:30 to 7:30 pm and dessert until 10:30. The concierge lounge is no longer staffed at 6:30 am since we moved the elite breakfast to the restaurant. Based on positive guest feedback, this has been the favorable option.

Again, thank you for providing your feedback as it helps us to continuously improve.

Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here one night while touring area colleges. It is a beautiful hotel with a grand entrance. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and a hotel/bar. We watched the World Cup while grabbing a snack at the bar/pub which is family friendly. The food was good. The room was impeccably clean with free Wi-Fi. The pool was closed for repair while we were there but we didn't have time to enjoy it anyway. Good location and a quick drive to Mystic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.