We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, typical Marriott, lots of wedding guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location, typical Marriott, lots of wedding guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed at this location a few times. This is the first time I am writing a review.

The hotel is clean and an excellent location. It is 15-20 minutes drive from Mystic Seaport, several wineries, and both casinos.

I typically favor Marriott hotels and this hotel was the same as the others. Clean in, stay, check out. There was no reason to stay at the hotel except to sleep. there is an onsite restaurant and starbucks that we did not go to. There is also a spa- which I have been to in the past- it is just so expensive we skipped it this time.

I could not figure out if the cooling was working in the room. I could not figure out if it was my room or me so I did not complain about this though. Just seemed cooler in the hallways than in our room.

There were several wedding parties staying in the hotel. We could hear them going in and out of each others rooms in the late evening and in the morning and yelling down the hallways to each other. It kept my boyfriend up - although it did not disturb me. This must be a common occurrence as we noted that a list of night hour/quiet hour rules were posted in the evening (on Friday night).

At checkout the trainee at the front desk asked me if we enjoyed our stay and I indicated "it was not the best". She failed to ask me why.

Rooms have excellent TV selection.

Room Tip: There were several wedding parties staying in the hotel. We could hear them going in and out of eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    198
    82
    45
    22
See reviews for
144
196
15
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

So very disappointed. Poor service at the front desk on several occassions over this short stay -perhaps the staff has forgotten that we have a choice in our future hotel stays. The rooms and hallway were less than adequate from a cleanliness perspective.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really clean hotel with a yummy restaurant and late-ish night bar. The staff was VERY nice and overall great spot. The spa looked lovely, there was a nice gym and pool as well. It was 1 exit away from downrtown mystic and took maybe 10 mioutes in teh car, it was the really a great location!
Can with my husband for a wedding.

Room Tip: We were on teh 6th floor and you needed speacial key access, it was a bit of a pain, no need for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I’ll be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My grandson loves Mystic so I decided to take him for a brief "pre-back to school" getaway. I chose the Mystic Marriott because of the great amenities. Everything was perfect. We were upgraded to the concierge floor upon arrival. Our room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The beds were fabulous! Every member of the staff that we encountered during our stay was friendly, helpful, and professional. We had dinner, and complimentary breakfast in the hotel restaurant and both were excellent. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Mystic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at this Marriott on several occasions. It is right off the highway, so very easy access. The accommodations are very spacious. The last 2 visits we had an upgrade to a corner room. That was very nice as it is even larger. It is about 10 minutes to Mystic Seaport and about 15-20 minutes to each of the local casinos. The Sunday brunch is fantastic. I use the fitness center, which is open 24 hours. The equipment is standard for what I would call an upscale hotel. The one and only issue and it is the first time it was an issue, was the bathroom ceiling was a little grungy. I think housekeeping could spend a few minutes on this when doing the room. Otherwise, a great place and we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: go for the corner at the front of the building, there is a nice view of the reservoir across the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
It’s always great to hear from a continual guest of our hotel! I’m glad our location in relation to downtown Mystic and the two casinos works well for you. I’m sorry to hear about your concerns with the ceiling in the bathroom, I have spoken to our housekeeping team about the matter. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the property for 2 nights had adjoining rooms - very spacious and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Only a small negative observation with the breakfast buffet- needs more than one person on the omelette station considering the number of diners AND behind the station in view of diners needs to be cleaned/swept more often.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful way to get away for a weekend. It is a lovely hotel, clean, ample free parking and updated rooms. It is located about a 20 minute ride to Mystic or to Mohegan Sun/Foxwoods. The Red Door Spa is a nice addition to treat yourself to a facial or massage.

Nice buffet breakfast with very friendly omelette preparer!

Will definitely stay here again for another weekend away from NYC. Having the New London ferry two exits away is also a plus!

Room Tip: There is a very nice lake view facing the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We love getting feedback from our guests and I’m glad our location, central to everything in south eastern Connecticut, works well for you. We hope to see you again the next time you need a weekend away from the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.