We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room, beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Groton
NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice clean room, beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a girls' getaway weekend and stayed there. The beds were comfy, and everything in the hotel was close by--lounge, the Starbucks, pool, gym and gift shop. The employees were very nice. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had room 233, which was a few steps away from the elevator, and everything was right downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    184
    75
    45
    20
See reviews for
135
180
14
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff and the guest room were excellent. The staff was gracious, meet and excceded expectations. You will enjoy your stay, but I recommend that you seek out restaurants and bars outside the hotel. I will comment on those in a seperate post. I can not say enough about the staff. They consistently asked if they could help me with anything. Also they were very knowlegable about their business and buiding.

HAPPY TRAILS
BOB

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a relaxing Saturday/Sunday mini retreat at the Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa. Rooms were clean, beds were luxuriously comfortable and the staff could not have been nicer. Nice little getaway and close to all the attractions of Mystic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review with us. We strive to make every guests’ stay a special one and that starts with our friendly staff. I’ll be sure to let them know of your kind words. I’m glad we were able to make your mini retreat more enjoyable – we would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is not a luxury property as it lacks the atmosphere, amenities and service that would make it such. Rooms are clean but small and the bathrooms are VERY small, making getting ready difficult when there is more than one in your party. Rooms are clean and we had an attentive housekeeper that provided extra towels and shampoo. The beds here are OK, but the pillows are not very comfy. Pool is OK, seems clean, but the pool area is not very inviting, a few plants and decor touches wouldn't be missed. The front desk service ranged from friendly and efficient at check-in to overwhelmed and understaffed later in the visit. It drives me crazy when there is a queue of guests needing service and all of the desk agents are in the back office, when they opened the door 3 came out, 2 quickly checked on something and returned to the safety of the office and one guy spent 10 minutes logging onto his computer before helping anyone. Parking is all around the hotel and we did not have a problem getting a decent spot but I don't think they were very busy during our stay. The in-room safe required service and although reported to the front desk I don't think it was attended to. There is a Starbucks on site which was busy. We had a room on the club level and the club was a disappointment. No breakfast on weekends and what was offered during the week was poor in quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Mystic Marriott while attending a family wedding at the Harkness Memorial State Park. We arrived after spending our first day in the US (we live in Germany) tired and ready to sleep. It was around 7 pm but we were jetlagged and ready to drop. We had made prearrival arrangements for a "feather free" room due to my asthma and unfortunately our room was not feather free. When we spoke to the front desk, they invited us to an appetizer at the bar while they prepared our room. When our room was available, we so happily fell into our very comfortable beds and were out for the night. The evening Manager was a blessing.
The next morning we joined more family members and had a marvelous breakfast. On our third morning, the waitstaff was so helpful as to find items to make a typical German breakfast for my German husband who needed a break from the American style warm meal - think cold cuts on bread.
I spent that morning having a mani pedi at the spa and would have stayed all day except for the opportunity to see family whom I had not seen in years. I tried to book other procedures but had waited too long in booking them - my advice is prebook!!!
I loved our stay at this hotel and really want to return. It was the best Jetlag recovery plan I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay here for a conference in March of this year. The hotel is spotless. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is an adequate gym that overlooks a very nice indoor pool. Rooms have been renovated recently and are clean. The spa is a great addition to your stay. They also have a very nice Sunday brunch. Restaurant and bar area are comfortable and expertly staffed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I grew up in Mystic, and return for visits. I pretty much know every hotel in the area. This is the best by far. It is not set on the water or next to any of the major attractions, but on its own, it is a significant notch above everything else in Mystic and Groton. Also, everything you want to see is a short 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.