We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Groton
Glastonbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We frequented the hotel often and were always pleased with the service. This year the hotel was upgraded, all Marriott hotels were upgraded and because of this prices were increased. No longer worth going to the hotel as the location is horrible. Room views are of highways and it is a few mile drive to get anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    177
    63
    43
    17
See reviews for
125
166
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a little over a week while on a business trip. This hotel is quite nice. The rooms are big, with a small couch to sit on, and the beds are comfy, with multiple firmness pillows to choose from. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There are connections to the TV on the side of the bureau you can use to connect your laptop or other device to the TV, so I was able to stream movies, which was good. The heating system was noisy. I was able to tune it out, but I know some people would find it irritating. The room I was in (348) overlooked to roof of the banquet area of the hotel. I was usually only in the room at night and don't care about a view, but for those that do, you may want a room in a different section. There is a Starbucks in the lobby area, but I did not get coffee there because I had to leave each morning before they opened (6 AM). I did eat at the restaurant, however, and it was excellent, although expensive. I expected that though. The pool and hot tub were nice and clean. The fitness area was decently equipped, although most of the time it was too crowded. There is a Red Door Spa in the hotel, which is a nice feature. I made use of the spa once and it was worth every penny. The only complaint I had for this stay is that every day, the coffee supplies in the room were not completely replenished. I had to go ask for more creamer, sweetener, stirrers, cup lids on several occasions. I'd stay here again for a quick trip, but I think on my next trip of this length or longer I'll opt for a hotel that has small kitchens in the rooms or at least a microwave and fridge. I may also look for a hotel that has other businesses in walking distance. This one did not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, CT
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed one overnight with my husband for personal not business. I had read good things about the hotel so we decided to give it a try. I am a Hilton honors member but also have a Marriott card. I just never really stayed at Marriotts much because I didn't think they were as good as Hiltons. Lol

This place was beautiful. You walk into a very big lobby and it is nicely decorated and clean! The staff at check in were very friendly. Check in was a breeze. The room itself was beautiful. Again it was nicely decorated and very clean. The bathroom was amazing. The tub and the shower were separate and the tub was a large jacuzzi tub.

The only negative was the bed which was not terrible but my side sloped. And the pillows were a little too firm for me. I need them a bit more pliable. All of the staff seemed really friendly. A very good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went to the this hotel over Christmas and had a wonderful and peaceful Holiday time. The hotel's pool and hot tub were the feature for me and I totally enjoyed them. I swam every day and wound down in the hot tub. We ate in the hotel restaurant (Octagon) and found the food far above average. We had quite delicious dinners on 2 evenings and 2 very good buffet breakfasts as well. Service was quite too. This restaurant had become primarily a steakhouse since the last time we visited (2 years ago) at which time I recall a fabulous duck preparation that was no longer on the menu. Also, I missed the chocolate cherry bread pudding that I had eaten there previously. Who knows, next time they will have some new surprises in store. I would say the quality was very similar to our previous visit.

The only difficulty we had at the hotel was their reluctance to provide us with complimentary breakfast (we should receive this, especially when the concierge lounge is closed, as we are platinum elite guests). When I pointed this out to the desk staff, they did give us some coupons for breakfast (but not every day). Overall, we are very pleased as the staff was gracious, cheerful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Its nice to have a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've been coming to this hotel frequently since 2009. Plus are a large parking, great lobby, and a Starbucks on site. The service is always excellent, the staff is great very helpful with good recommendations. If you are in the area, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Follow staff recommendation, they are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose the Marriott Mystic for a quick romantic getaway over the holidays with a special AAA rate of $99/night. We requested a high floor with a view and early check -in. Upon arrival Rebecca at the front desk was very helpful and got us into a lovely corner room on the 5th floor. Rebecca also recommended a great local breakfast place called, 'Somewhere in Time.'The room was very comfortable and we had a refrigerator put in for convenience. The King bed had great linens and was very comfortable. My husband wouldn't care but I enjoyed the warm gold and red color scheme of the decor. The TV pay per view movies has a delay so that the images and sound were slightly off...sort of funny during action movies. We enjoyed the pool, spa tub and fitness area. The Red Door Spa looked inviting and will take advantage of a massage next time we visit!

Room Tip: The corner room on the fifth floor is quiet and has 2large windows and a view of the water across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've been coming to this hotel frequently since working in the Pharmaceutical Industry. Maybe it is because of the area supply/demand, but I would expect more from a Marriott catering to large pharma business clientele and boasting a Red Doos Spa.

Positives: Workout facility OK, plenty of parking, lobby, Starbucks on site.

Cons: Rooms are standard to below average marriott (remind you of busy airport Marriott) and seem to have more wear and tear over the years I've stayed, particularly bathrooms; rooms are not particularly well cleaned; checkin is not usually a quick process.

I've actually started just staying in Providence since I fly in there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
Free Parking, B...
Show More
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Free internet...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#2 of 12 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
17.7 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
3.8 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#7 of 12 in Mystic
3.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Fitness center...
Show More
9.8 mi away
The Ocean House
The Ocean House
#1 of 2 in Watch Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa

Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.