We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Lodge New London

Navy Lodge New London
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Lodge New London
2 Proteus Avenue, Groton, CT 06340-5000   |  
Hotel amenities
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My family and I stayed here for my son's homecoming from a six month deployment. What an excellent week long stay we had! The manager runs herself ragged in order to provide top notch service to her guests. All of the front desk employees were helpful and friendly. Also, the maintenance and housekeeping staff always had a smile and "hello" for you as they walked by. Clean, clean rooms and nicely equipped kitchens. No wi-fi in the rooms but it is available in the lobby. I definitely recommend this Navy Lodge if you are eligible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

One of the great benefits of being active duty is the lodging available to military folks. I am retired navy, and traveling with a current naval officer. We try to stay at a Navy Lodge whenever we can.

This trip we did want to return to Staten Island, but they were full. We then decided to stay in Groton, visit the sub base, friends, and take the train into Manhatten.

We arrived late, and the front desk was spot on with our reservation, answers to our questions.

The room was so clean and nice. It was very airy and had a newer flat screen tv and seperate dvd player. While the kitchen was small it was equally clean and well equipped. The bathroom and tub area was spotless. They do a great job here.

It is a newer building, well maintained. If you are in the Groton/New London area and are military I would really recommend the Lodge.

Great property, outstanding staff. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was our second stay at a Navy Lodge. The first was in Great Lakes, IL. The New London Navy Lodge is nicer as far as having more recent updated rooms. Still experienced the same great help from the front desk and housekeeping services that we did in IL. The rooms are bigger than your typical motel rooms and all have small kitchenettes. The property was always clean inside and out and always had a clean smell to it in the lobby and hallways. They do have washers and dryers available for a reasonable charge. Free coffee and tea are always available in the lobby area. It is a great value when you compare it to other hotels. We may not make it back to this Navy Lodge but I know we will definately stay in another one somewhere down the road. My only recommendation would be to have more comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the guest laundry area. Our room was upstairs but when I did use the laundry room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have a son stationed at the Navy base in Groton. We stayed for 4 days and were very pleased with the room, staff and quality of beds and bedding. A light breafast was offered in morning. Highly reccomend!

Room Tip: no elevator, tow floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were traveling to Virginia Beach and stopped here on our way. We were very surprised at how lovely this Lodge was. Very clean and accomodations were were of the upmost quality. The staff was pleasant and helpful. If we had more time we would have spent another night here. Great place to stay for any amount of time!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are fine it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

if you are able to stay, you must have a military ID or a sponsor. Clean, friendly, helpful staff. Great loaction, Rooms are HUGE

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is a great value at about $75/night. The rooms have kitchenettes and a table, as well as the usual desk, beds, nightstands, etc. However, there was a mixup with our reservations and we ended up short one room. The front desk staff did NOTHING to try to rectify the situation. Then, when I sent an email to the manager telling him what happened, I did not even get a response. I was disappointed. I rate this hotel high in value, location, and cleanliness, but low on service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Navy Lodge New London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge New London

Address: 2 Proteus Avenue, Groton, CT 06340-5000
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navy Lodge New London offers Active Duty and Retired military members and their families 72 clean, comfortable and affordable family and business class accommodations. Each guest room comes equipped with a kitchenette, air conditioning, and private bath. We offer "Breakfast to Go" each morning in the lobby. We are Pet friendly. Navy Lodge New London is conveniently located near the Submarine Base New London for quick access to the Navy Exchange, Commissary, and MWR facilities and it is just a short drive to historic Mystic, CT and the beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Lodge New London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Navy Lodge New London to your Saves list