We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Lodge New London

Navy Lodge New London
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Lodge New London
2 Proteus Avenue, Groton, CT 06340-5000   |  
Hotel amenities
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Loved It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was our second stay at a Navy Lodge. The first was in Great Lakes, IL. The New London Navy Lodge is nicer as far as having more recent updated rooms. Still experienced the same great help from the front desk and housekeeping services that we did in IL. The rooms are bigger than your typical motel rooms and all have small kitchenettes. The property was always clean inside and out and always had a clean smell to it in the lobby and hallways. They do have washers and dryers available for a reasonable charge. Free coffee and tea are always available in the lobby area. It is a great value when you compare it to other hotels. We may not make it back to this Navy Lodge but I know we will definately stay in another one somewhere down the road. My only recommendation would be to have more comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the guest laundry area. Our room was upstairs but when I did use the laundry room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have a son stationed at the Navy base in Groton. We stayed for 4 days and were very pleased with the room, staff and quality of beds and bedding. A light breafast was offered in morning. Highly reccomend!

Room Tip: no elevator, tow floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were traveling to Virginia Beach and stopped here on our way. We were very surprised at how lovely this Lodge was. Very clean and accomodations were were of the upmost quality. The staff was pleasant and helpful. If we had more time we would have spent another night here. Great place to stay for any amount of time!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are fine it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

if you are able to stay, you must have a military ID or a sponsor. Clean, friendly, helpful staff. Great loaction, Rooms are HUGE

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is a great value at about $75/night. The rooms have kitchenettes and a table, as well as the usual desk, beds, nightstands, etc. However, there was a mixup with our reservations and we ended up short one room. The front desk staff did NOTHING to try to rectify the situation. Then, when I sent an email to the manager telling him what happened, I did not even get a response. I was disappointed. I rate this hotel high in value, location, and cleanliness, but low on service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
Free Parking, M...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Free internet...
Show More
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Marriott Mystic Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 13 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Budget, Free in...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#2 of 13 in Groton
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge New London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge New London

Address: 2 Proteus Avenue, Groton, CT 06340-5000
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navy Lodge New London offers Active Duty and Retired military members and their families 72 clean, comfortable and affordable family and business class accommodations. Each guest room comes equipped with a kitchenette, air conditioning, and private bath. We offer "Breakfast to Go" each morning in the lobby. We are Pet friendly. Navy Lodge New London is conveniently located near the Submarine Base New London for quick access to the Navy Exchange, Commissary, and MWR facilities and it is just a short drive to historic Mystic, CT and the beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Lodge New London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Navy Lodge New London to your Saves list