We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yikes” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flagship Inn And Suites

Save Saved
You added Flagship Inn And Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flagship Inn And Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route 184 - 470 Gold Star Highway, Groton, CT 06340   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Groton
lc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“yikes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

wow remember the old motor lodges. well this is one ,never updated went into room obviously floor not cleaned in a long time ,hair in bathtub, coffee maker broke ,no internet as promised air condition didn't work .not a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    15
    10
    49
See reviews for
11
21
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!
My brother-in-law booked two rooms for us to stay here for one night. We checked in after 11pm and immediately walking into the room, there was an odor of cat pee. The rugs have obviously never been cleaned - there were disgusting stains on the floor, curtains and the one chair in the room. There were dead bugs on the floor. The curtains looked like they've never been washed. It was after 11pm and we had two kids with us, so we decided to just go to sleep and deal with it in the morning. When my brother-in-law arrived with his girlfriend, I had already checked in for them and given them the heads up of the room status. It wasn't until the next morning at 8:30 that I discovered they slept in their car, because they found bugs in their bed in their room. When I went to the front desk to let them know that my brother-in-law slept in his car, the man was very rude and told me there were no bugs in the bed and they should've complained when they had the problems, not in the morning. I told him I didn't feel that I should have to pay for a room that wasn't used and that it's not proper to tell a customer that they are wrong. Didn't he ever hear that the customer is always right? He proceeded to tell me that he's been in the business for 16 years. I told him that I've worked in hotel businesses and customer service for 21 years. I asked him if I could be reimbursed and he said no. I told him be was very rude and left.
I'm not a person to complain, but I honestly feel that this place should not be in business. I've never left a bad complaint about a motel/hotel EVER!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I was going to stay there two nights. I walked in and right out. Nothing like the pictures. Drill holes through the lock on front door, smelled awful, dead bugs, dirty bathroom and the worse was the very evident stains on the bedding.. I payed extra $10 and stayed at a clean hotel up the road.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Decent sized room for the cost. The room was clean enough and ok for a overnight stay. I thought it was fine,I didn't do the breakfast. Front desk staff is friendly enough. I would recommend this to someone who needs a quick, cheap stay and who is not very picky.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Haven, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband is in a wheelchair. I made the reservation and put in all capital letters. MUST HAVE WHEELCHAIR ENTRANCE! We arrived after driving 2 days, after midnight. Not only did they not give me the room I requested I had to pay 50.00 more a night. We were there 7 nights. The room that we were assigned had a 6 inch step up, there is no way to get a 360 lbs wheelchair up that. The entrance to the office is also a large step up, no way could anyone in a wheelchair can even get in the office.The room was somewhat clean, if you don't count the cobwebs over the beds that were NEVER cleaned. The heat didn't work well enough to feel it unless you had your hand over the fan. They only made 1 bed we slept in them both, my husband in one because of his disability needed to sleep alone. They say free enternet... if it works.. and is a box outside the room with a line ran from the office. No hairdryer, no free breakfast, no ironing board, no newspaper, clock radio was broken, and no fitness center. Spend a little more money and get better for your money.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was the WORSE hotel I have ever been in. What was supposed to be a wonderful stress free Mother's day weekend, turned into waking up in filth. Dirty condoms, stains in the bed, no bed sheets, only a thin white blank to cover the mattress. The man at the front desk was rude and called me a liar to my face and told me he didnt have a bug problem. I woke up before my boyfriend in time to clean up the hundreds of Ants that showed up over night, after killing more than a dozen when we got there. The man wouldnt refund the money and our TV was broken. We had to hit it just to get the picture to work on 1 of 10 channels we had. Called in a reported them to health services. Check yourself for ring worm and possible STD's sleeping in this dumpster! I guess you get what you pay for. They gave us one little shampoo for the two of us and the man told me if I wanted towels I had to bring down my dirty ones to the front desk and then he would give me new ones.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the Flagship Inn and Suites in Groton, Connecticut. I haven't stayed there for a very, very long time. I called way in advance, made my reservations, specifically told them I wanted to be put in the quietiest area and definatally on the top floor because I am a very light sleeper and can't stand anyone over me.

I can't sleep if people above me are walking/running around and making a lot of noise, especially if they have children with them.

When I got there, they put me on the first floor and I would say the "loudest" area they could find. In fact, when they told me where I had to stay, they didn't even have any cards for me to use to get in the room. I had to wait for someone to bring me a key.

At that point, It was too late for me to try and book a room at another hotel. I was coming from Massachusetts and had no other telephone numbers with me for any other hotels.
So, I grabbed the key and left.

The place had really gone downhill. Looked like a real dump! The bathroom door on the bottom was all rotted off. The shower could not be used and the water just came out heavy, never seen anything like it, hard to describe it and I also never even got any hot water. The coffee pot was filty and obviously not cleaned. The beds certainly were not inviting and the pillows were very uncomfortable. The TV was not working properly, only got a couple of stations, stations I wouldn't even watch. There also was only a half roll of toilet paper on the roll; they never even filled them up. They say you get a continental breakfast, if that's what you call it. What it is is that you have to go in the office and there is only a little counter where you just get a cup ofcoffee; they had cereal and milk in a container, which, by looking at the cereal; I would never touch it, they had the smallest "out of date" bagels that were individually wrapped and way out of date, and tiny, tiny donuts wrapped individually and were hard as a rock; you couldn't eat them. They had a toaster there to put these tiny bagels in, which I tried, but, they never even popped up; so they burnt. When the alarm went off, the guy came in from wherever he was and yelled at me for causing smoke. I told him his damn toaster didn't work; that was not my fault that it never popped up tself. That was your "free breakfast". And, if two people stood there to try and get breakfast at the same time, it would be a wait because only one person can get what they want at one time. I guess they purposely do this so no one would even bother standing there or taking anything. It cost me $80 to stay in this dump and that was with Triple A discount. Next time I go to a hotel, if it's too expensive for my budget; I will just stay home, or, I will just sleep in my car. Anything is better then staying here.
I wish the Board of Health would investigate this place. Someone has to do something with the people who are running it. It's a disgrace!

Room Tip: Do your homework. Check out other hotels in the area. The ONLY thing about this hotel that is any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 13 in Groton
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#8 of 13 in Groton
3.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Groton
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 13 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagship Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagship Inn And Suites

Address: Route 184 - 470 Gold Star Highway, Groton, CT 06340
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flagship Inn And Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Flagship Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagship Inn And Hotel Groton
Flagship Hotel Groton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flagship Inn And Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.