We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, biz trip to the Navy Base.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 Gold Star Highway, Groton, CT 06340   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice, biz trip to the Navy Base.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had a good four night stay at the hotel, Good room, comfortable beds (adjustable air) which I liked very much. breakfast was good although I did not go for the hot buffet and was happy with coffee, toast, and yogurt. Also enjoyed the cookies at five pm each evening. of which I grabbed a couple for an after dinner desert. People were friendly and the hotel was clean

Booked at a per diam gov rate

I used the pool and hot tub one evening, and that was a bit cloudy. Management should keep a better eye on that one.

The hotel Restaurant was good for an easy evening meal. Also ate at OLIO's just a short distance away. This is is an excellent upper scale restaurant. Another evening we hit the Five Guys Burgers across the street (walking distance)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    119
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
121
110
21
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The HGI Mystic Groton had excellent service, including check-in, cookies for guests, and breakfast. The room is decent but nothing extraordinary. The made-to-order breakfast was excellent, and, although the pool and hot tub were nice, they were over-chlorinated, and I suspect that may have contributed to my kids getting sick that evening, which meant we had to cut our trip short. We had a problem with the lock on our door, and although it was a frustration for my husband at midnight, they did give us a discount on our room when we checked out early to bring our sick kids home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a clean and modern hotel conveniently located just off I95. We visit every year for a conference in New London, and find the hotels on that side of the river to be a bit dingy. The drive is worth it for a nice secure and well maintained hotel. Staff was friendly and accommodating. My only complaint was the noise from the kitchen we could hear in our room, but I've yet to find a hotel without some annoying noise - be it the elevators, a/c and heating units, obnoxious guest etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Neck, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The staff at the check in desk is very friendly. The lobby is clean and updated. The rooms are furnished nicely. The only things we noted was that the bathroom didn't smell very clean musty/urine like the floor had been cleaned with a dirty mop and that the comforters on the bed made sleeping somewhat difficult, because they were of a material that sounding like rustling paper when anyone moved. The food at the hotel restaurant was great and staff was very nice. Over all I'd give them an B grade. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island,n.y.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hilton is expert in the hospitality buisness. From the welcoming attitude of the staff to the cleanliness & attention to comfort they top the list. One of my pet peeves about staying in hotels are the filthy carpets that are too often found....never in a Hilton! I felt comfortable enough to go barefoot! Loved the clean duvet for every guest & we got to try out a temperpedic type number bed! I always try to book my stay at a Hilton when not lodging in a B&B.(Incidentally, I've stayed in every single casino/hotel on the boardwalk in Atlantic City,N.J. & the boardwalk Hilton surpasses them all by far in cleanliness, comfort & overall hospitality.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a very nice, clean hotel. The staff is very friendly and eager to provide any assistance necessary. The breakfast buffet is pretty standard, with cook to order options and a friendly, helpful waitress. The fitness room is simple but adequate, and includes a Precor stretch machine that is a good way to start the day. Also, there is a nice looking pool, which unfortunately we didn't have time to use. The only disappointment we had with this hotel, and the reason for our "very good" instead of an "excellent" review, is that the bed sheets were not up to Hilton standards. They were very thin (almost like gauze!) and not as comfortable as all the other Hilton properties we've stayed at -- and we've stayed at a lot all over the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I were in CT for a funeral last week, and my sister-in-law recommended the Hilton Garden Inn and Suites in Groton as it was fairly close to the funeral events and far enough outside Mystic that the prices were more reasonable.

The hotel lobby was very comforting kind of like walking into a fancy house with a fireplace, and nice smells to boot. The elevators are a little slower than we would've liked, but other than that, no complaints. They have a nice sized pool and hot tub that were barely used, and they had vending machines on each floor next to the ice machine. Our room had a microwave and mini-fridge which we did utilize. Our room was cleaned each day we were out and about, and when we had the do-not-disturb notice on the door, they left us alone.

I must say this hotel is a 180 degree difference from the last time we stayed in Groton! We were very pleased with everything. It would have been nice to have a continental breakfast each morning, but the hotel is located a block away from a Stop-&-Shop and a Walmart, so we were able to pick up milk, cereal, plastic bowls and spoons, and have breakfast in our room every morning watching tv and waking up at our own pace. I would definitely stay there again, and recommend to all my friends and family if they are looking for a place nearby Mystic. Wonderful customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton

Address: 224 Gold Star Highway, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton Hotel Groton
Hilton Garden Inn Groton
Hilton Groton
Groton Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.