We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really getting all of the glowing reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   375 Voluntown Road, Griswold, CT 06351   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Griswold
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not really getting all of the glowing reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I booked a 2 room jacuzzi/fireplace suite here for 2 nights for my family of 4 based on price and all of the great reviews. I really loved the idea of being able to have a separate room for my kids during part of our trip, and of course the jacuzzi! We were pleasantly surprised by the lobby when entering and the staff and check-in was very friendly and helpful recommending a restaurant nearby. We took our bags to room and noted that there were only 5 pillows for 4 people and 2 bath towels- no big deal, it is not uncommon to have to call desk for these items. My kids wanted to swim so my husband went to front desk while I took kids to pool. Staff gave him towels and said they would look for pillows (no housekeeping staff in hotel). After swimming for a while (pool was nice enough, if not a little cool for being heated) we went back to room to change for dinner. A knock came at the front door, my husband answered and a minute later came to tell me that apparently there were no more pillows in the entire hotel?! Apparently they suggested that we give our children some of the "extra" pillows from our bed. When I booked the room it was stated that it would accommodate up to 4 people so why only pillows for 2? And since when are guests only allowed 1 pillow each? That pretty much set the tone for the rest of our stay. Fireplace would not even turn on (didn't bother to complain because I figured it would not be taken care of anyway), checked 3 times for the coffee and snacks we were told were in the lobby but coffee was never made after breakfast, breakfast was less than fantastic but atleast it was free. And the worst part is that upon check-out, after being asked if everything was okay, staff stated that they were having a "pillow shortage". In other words, they already were aware of the fact that there were not enough pillows to accommodate guests BEFORE fully
the rooms. May I suggest a drive to WalMart?!
For the price we paid I would have been happy with the property if not for the annoyances we experienced during our stay, but I don't think I would take another chance staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for the review. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I appreciate your comments and would be more than happy to discuss your experience. I can be reached at 860-376-3200.

Regards,
Laura Wheatley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    38
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
70
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the online reviews. I was a little suspect of the abundance of 5 star ratings. Just seemed too good to be true. Well, you made a believer out of me. My husband and I stayed on 7/19 and both at check in and check out the front desk staff were incredibly helpful. At check in Melissa was kind enough to correct an error I made in reserving the room online. The rooms were above average in cleanliness, there was no mini fridge or microwave like most hotels offer these days. The room was very quiet…I don’t know if that’s because no one was occupying the adjacent rooms or if the rooms are sound proof. In either case, that plus the comfortable bed made for a good night’s sleep.
Its location, right off Rt. 395 made is convenient to the casinos without the price tag of the large hotels that are a little closer. For me, service and cleanliness out-weighs the extra 5 minutes it take to get to the casino. There is a shuttle to the casinos, but we didn’t use it. It’s nice to know that it is an option.
We did use the pool and hot-tub area. It was very clean although no towels were available at pool side. We just used the ones from the room. There was a problem with the filter during our stay and the chlorine levels must have been high, because it bleached out my bathing suit. I did mention it at check out and the clerk went out of her way to make it right for me. She was wonderful, although I wish I had gotten her name to acknowledge her properly. I wasn’t expecting anything I just wanted to bring it to their attention so it could be corrected.
The breakfast area was clean and well stocked with eggs, sausage, cereal, yoghurt, bagels, toast, fresh fruit and my favorite make your own Belgium waffles. Outstanding employees who go the extra mile made our stay exceptional! If this is the caliber of all the staff, then management is doing something right. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is planning to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! Our staff takes great pride in making each and every guest feel at home. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

So my company sends me on an assignment in Jewett City, about 5 miles away from the Mohegan Sun casino.
Cool. I can stay at one of the hotels close to the casino and get in a bit of entertainment after work.
But then I checked the ratings, comments and especially the room rates at these hotels. It is a business trip, after all, and I have to keep expenses down.
So much for staying really close to Mohegan Sun. The hotels that fall within the expense guidelines are poorly rated and the ones that get good reviews will require lots of explanations on my expense report.
So I "settle" for the AmericInn Lodge in Griswold. I say "settle" because it's the first time I've stayed at any AmericInn.
The first thing that got me was the lobby. Airy, bright, breakfast area on one side, looks like someplace where you can sit and relax. Then there's registration. The lady at the front desk (should have gotten her name for a personal thank-you) was pleasant, helpful, everything one expects from front desk staff. The room was clean, larger than I expected, AC, TV and internet all working well. The bed was comfortable, the shower had plenty of hot water, furniture comfortable for a little after-travel paperwork.
I checked out after one night but found out later that my assignment would take longer than expected. Back to the AmericInn, without a reservation. Someone else was handling the front desk and she was just as pleasant and helpful as the lady who checked me in the first time (didn't get her name either, but thanks to both of you). She ulled the records from the previous night and even managed to get both nights on one charge. Makes my expense reporting much easier.
Bottom line--nice hotel, very pleasant staff, excellent accommodations, very good breakfast and the price is right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for giving us a "try". We strive to exceed our guest's expectations. Please feel free to stop in again to see us next time your company sends you to Jewett City or if you are in the area visiting the casinos (we offer complimentary shuttle service to Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun on weekends!). Thank you again. It was a pleasure serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My cousin and I have now stayed here for two separate girls' weekends. The staff is always pleasant, courteous, helpful, knowledgeable and caring. The rooms are always clean, fresh and well appointed. This year, our greeter told us she was going to put us on the first floor as there was a wedding group on the 2nd floor and she wanted us to have our quiet time. She remembered us from last year and even remembered that I love to crochet and asked about my latest project. The breakfast is always good. It is a short distance to the casinos. Convenient location to I395. The pool and hot tub and is clean and wonderful. We love this place!!
My husband and I also stayed here a couple of years ago and had the efficiency suite which was perfect for eating in and relaxing. We love this place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. There is never a bad room or location in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the AmericInn for your girl's weekend. It is a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed over one night with three teens for a basketball tournament. Room was nice, everything was clean and room really was as quiet as they advertise. Breakfast was good, very good at restocking. Staff was very nice. Pool & hot tub area looked nice although we didn't have time to use. About 20 minutes to Foxwoods. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure hosting your team. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury Mass
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

we always stay at the americinn when we want to go gambling at foxwoods or mohegan sun they have many food items to choose from at the morning breakfast like bacon, sausage , eggs, waffles, yogurt , cereals, fruit, muffins , donuts, coffee and juices The rooms are very nice and clean and the rates are reasonable .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is always a pleasure hosting you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Not happy with their service and I didn't even get to stay there. Last week I called to see if they offered government employee discounts or veteran discounts and the response I got back from the girl at the desk was 'I'm not really sure but I'm gonna say no.' Gee.. Thanks for taking all that time to get me a solid answer. I later investigate online that they DO in-fact offer those discounts. I was still bothered by that customer service that I started to look at other places. I again was in limbo between a few place but really liked their suite options. So I let it go and called back today to book a reservation for the suite with jacuzzi. A nice lady answered and said she was currently with a patron and would call me back in 15 minutes. I left her with my name and number. That was at 1pm today... It's now 7 and still no call.. I booked somewhere else. The two interactions I had with the hotel turned me off. I even called back 5 times spread out after 1 hour had passed with no call and no one answered?! I also didn't love their shuttle schedule, but that was something I was willing to work around. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
First and foremost, thank you for your feedback. I do apologize that the "the ball got dropped". We were having issues with the phone system which have since been resolved and I have addressed the call back issue. I can assure you that superb customer service is our number priority. Please feel free to contact me directly to arrange another night's stay. Please give us the opportunity to make it up to you.

Warm regards,
Laura Wheatley, General Manager
860-376-3200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold

Address: 375 Voluntown Road, Griswold, CT 06351
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Griswold
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Griswold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold is your destination for comfortable, friendly and affordable accommodations near the I-395 business corridor. Visitors to the Mohegan Sun, Foxwoods Resort Casinos and MGM Grand Casino at Foxwoods will enjoy our unbeatable hotel value and free hourly casino shuttle every weekend. (Shuttle reservations must be made in advance.) Relax and enjoy yourself gambling, or taking in a concert or event while we take care of your transportation.(Please contact the hotel direct for shuttle times.) Sports fans will also enjoy our convenient location near venues for the Connecticut Defenders baseball team and Connecticut Sun basketball team. When you're not busy at an event, you'll enjoy our comfortable rooms and vast amenities: a heated indoor pool, hot tub, fireplace and whirlpool suites, free high-speed Internet, new flatscreen TVs in each guest room and more. Start each morning out right with our free hot, home-style breakfast before exploring the Griswold and Norwich areas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Griswold
Americinn Lodge & Suites Griswold Hotel Griswold
Americinn Hotel Griswold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.