We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a company meeting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The J House Greenwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The J House Greenwich to your Saves list
The J House Greenwich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1114 E. Putnam Avenue, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Brookklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a company meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Booked the JHouse for a company offsite meeting. From the moment I contacted them, I knew I was in good hands. Their willingness to work with a small group while making us feel special did not go unnoticed. They were flexible with my requests and open to my suggestions, a refreshing combination when planning an event. From the rooms to the food, I heard only positive remarks. One coworker simply did not want to leave. It was a success all around thanks to the professional and attentive staff. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear MBS07,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear how well your company meeting was handled by our staff at The J House Greenwich. Our team does a spectacular job accommodating our in-house groups, and we are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    30
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
45
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked The JHouse as a last minute weekend getaway. Really just needed a place to stay overnight and decided on Greenwich instead of Stamford. My husband and I were so pleasantly surprised!!! Everything about this boutique hotel is fabulous !!! I was just amazed with how modern and clean the room was. The bathroom was amazing, the bed and pillows were fantastic, slept like a baby !! We definitely plan on returning for a longer visit in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Victoria M,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at The J House Greenwich for a last minute weekend getaway. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you felt everything about our hotel was fabulous! That is such a wonderful compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the summer.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance aux Epines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My first stay last week and I was most impressed by this wonderful, modern/contemporary hotel. All the comforts you would expect, with an unbelievable technological twist thrown in for good measure.

Control everything (and I do mean everything) from your room's iPad. Lights, curtains, wake up, room service and check out. Plus much more. All details are on their web site.

Give it a whirl. You will mot be disappointed!

Room Tip: They all all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Crannogrman,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you were very impressed with our modern accommodations and high tech amenities. Thank you for recommending us to the TripAdvisor community, and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Be Well,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASSACHUSETTS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am in the travel business and prefer to stay in hotels with character and comfort...avoiding if possible large (even if elegant) chain hotels. Since JFK Airport (outside of New York City) has a dirth of nice hotels AND because airport parking there is far flung and expensive, in researching staying in lower Connecticut or Westchester I stumbled on a review of the J House. What a treat! Fantastic room decorated with taste and an eye to a good sleep with lots of perks and terrific staff- lovely restaurant - NOT just an overnight en route to an early morning flight. I recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are located further from the restaurant "wing"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear 39WEAVER,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you discovered us while searching for a hotel. It pleases us to hear that you enjoyed our unique and tasteful accommodations. Thank you for highly recommending our hotel to fellow travelers, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This boutique hotel could be one of the best I have ever experienced, ESPECIALLY if you travel with your dog as I often do! It is close to Greenwich harbor,(for the sailors amongst us), the rooms are spacious and beautiful, with more upscale appointments than you can imagine,(heated toilet seats!!!Plush beds!!TV in the bathroom, too!). The dining room has a chef that used to be with Wolfgang Puck, so the meals are a gourmand's delight; even room service is fabulous!
My dog was greeted with her own bed, cookies and water bowls. The staff could not have been more accommodating, especially when checking in, by yourself, with a 50 pound dog. And the price for all of this luxurious treatment??????? $119/night! My oh my, what a wonderful visit I had!

Room Tip: If with your dog, ask for a ground floor room with access to the back parking lot. Very quiet and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, Guest Services at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear MadameKat,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of The J House Greenwich. It gives us great pleasure to hear that our hotel was one of the best you've ever experienced. We are happy to hear that your dog was well taken care of during your stay. Our accommodating staff, delicious food, and high tech amenities makes us one of the best values in Greenwich. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Be Well,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Want to reach the front desk? guest services? valet? All choices lead to "Your call is very important to us...". While the human staff are really warm, friendly and helpful, the J House is an exercise in maddeningly mis-applied technology and I'm a career technologist. While application of technology to an overnight stay is possible and could make a traveler's stay more comfortable and/or convenient, the J house chose a different path. They let the designers run wild. While having a warm seat, an automatic lid and automatic flushing is just so novel in a $5k electronic toilet, having it open and close incessantly while you move around the sink or pass by to the shower is just so not-novel. Want to turn down the temperature of the toilet seat for the comfort of your backside? Be sure to book a 3-night stay to get down the learning curve of the 14-button remote for the toilet. Hopefully, when you arrive, it's not set too hot for you and you need to use it in a hurry. Love that large mirrored flat-screen on the wall; how to ruin two products at the same time. The mirror is so dark as to be of little use and to get the TV to work you have to find that exact little spot on the face of the mirror where the set will see the remote commands from the buttons you're maddeningly pushing to get it to respond. But there's really no reason to rush since the set takes 6 seconds to change channels. Electrons must have slowed down with the economy the last few years. Then there's the halo product: the dedicated iPad to control your room environs. Just pick it up and tap the screen. Tap it at least 4 times just to turn your bedside light off - thank you Crestron for the wonderfully ill-dsigned user interface in 2013. Oh, yes, you can raise and lower the shade, turn on other lights and adjust the temperature and all that, but pilots can file a flight plan on an iPad more easily than setting the lights and the temp the way you'd like just so you can lay back and struggle to find the spot to point the remote to change channels painfully slowly. At least you can get a good night's sleep when you turn the lights out as the rooms are techno-attractive, clean and comfortable. Just grab the iPad, touch Unlock, Settings, Lighting and "Connection interrupted, please wait...". If you enjoy the vibrant bar scene, you'll have had too much to drink to operate or care about any of this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear SeasonedTraveler116,
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback from your recent stay at The J House Greenwich. We pride ourselves on our technologically advanced amenities, and regret to learn if you experienced any difficulty operating these items. In the future, please do not hesitate to contact our front desk agents if you have any questions on how to use any of our appliances. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again, and in the interim, we remain at your service.
Warm regards,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The J House is the hotel of the future! Delightful and fun. Lights are controlled via iPad and touchscreens. The bathroom is a treat with an indulgent Japanese-style toilet and high-end toiletries. I enjoyed finding a TV in the bathroom mirror, and a mirror in the bedroom that was the TV! Room was spacious, and the bed was comfortable. Final treat were motorized blackout curtains. Lobby was sleek, and hotel staff were friendly and helpful. My only small suggestion would be to upgrade the towels to something a bit more plush. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear SM529,
Thank you for your review of The J House Greenwich. We are glad you enjoyed our futuristic amenities and comfortable accommodations. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon!
Warm Regards,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The J House Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The J House Greenwich

Address: 1114 E. Putnam Avenue, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The J House Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The J House Greenwich was just awarded the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award. Our accommodations are sophisticated and contemporary. The guestrooms are luxurious and feature a number of high-tech amenities. The J House restaurant, serves New American cuisine, and incorporates many global influences, locally sourced ingredients whenever possible, with a nod to sustainable practices. The hotel also features "The Garden," an outdoor dining area with an indoor feel, warmed by an outdoor fireplace and full bar. Or to cool off, enjoy a cocktail by the outdoor pool from the poolside bar. "The Lounge" inside the hotel's lobby is a warm, inviting gathering area to meet for drinks and apps, serviced from the over-sized bar inside the restaurant. Pets policy: fee (non-refundable), 60 lbs or less, water bowl included, pooch bed included, Doggie cookie included, one dog per room. Limited Room Types Available for pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The J House Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The J House Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.