We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The J House Greenwich

Save Saved
You added The J House Greenwich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The J House Greenwich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1114 E. Putnam Avenue, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Greenwich
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The second i stepped foot in the "J House", i was instantly impressed. I was very warmly welcomed by all the friendly staff members. It was also a pleasure meeting the rooms director. He was very accommodating and responsive to all our needs. I was very impressed by how modernized and entertaining the rooms were. First of all, the giant mirror on the wall is also a TV. Not to mention the crystal clear picture on the TV. You need to check out the mini TV in the bathroom. So when you are getting ready and freshening up in the bathroom, you can enjoy your favorite shows. Also, the entire room is controlled by an iPad. No more getting up to turn on and off the lights. When you need to go to bed, you hit the good night button and down go the blinds and the lights. When you need to wake up, there is an alarm on the iPad, then you can hit the wake up button and on go the lights and up goes the blinds. You can also order room service on the iPad, read newspapers etc. Finally, the toilet. The toilet opens when you walk up to it and is controlled by a remote. It will heat up for you, dry for you, and squirt water for you. Then there is the restaurant. The restaurant is called 1114 kitchen. The menu has a variety of great, delicious, and reasonably priced food, with great staff and service. After dinner, you must visit the chocolate lab. There you will find homemade Gillette, ice cream, and of course chocolate. It is all very delicious and will exceed to our expectations. We defiantly recommend the J House to all friends and family, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Jordan S,
Thank you for your review. We were also pleased to learn that you were most impressed with the high-tech guest room amenities. Many guest such as yourself enjoy the TV mirrors and automatic Toto washlet. We are so glad you enjoyed the food at Eleven14 Kitchen and Chocolate Lab. Thank you for recommending The J House Greenwich, and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Be Well,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
35
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bronx
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at the J House last weekend with friends and had a great experience. The hotel and its high tech decor were so unique. I loved everything from the food in the restaurant to the gelato in the chocolate lab in the lobby! ipads in every room made our stay so personalized. You gotta try this place!

Room Tip: The rooms are AMAZING!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Randi S,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at The J House Greenwich with your friends. We are thrilled you had a great experience and enjoyed our high-tech amenities. Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow readers. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Be Well,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I ended up here because I did't get a room at the Greenwich Hyatt, and wanted to stay in the neighborhood. I stayed almost two weeks and everything was perfect.
The rooms are great, all controlled through an iPad, a nice coffee machine and TV screens behind the big room mirror and in the bathroom.

There are some details that will surely get better while the Hotel gains experience like the housekeeping service (the timing is kind of eclectic) and the internet / TV connections, which need more broadband. If you are a heavy internet user, the broadband cuts your Skype video chat off after 4 minutes. Some HD channels on the TV sometimes are not available. It is fair to say that wifi is 100% complimentary so far. At the same time, if your wifi us cut off, then you have to restart the iPad app that controls the lights and shades.

Room temperature also needs adjustments, but being everything new, I am sure that will get better with time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Denis K,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay two weeks at The J House Greenwich. We are glad you enjoyed our in-room iPads, Mirror TV's, and coffee machine. Your comment about the internet connectivity will be addressed with our executive committee, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for business,bar & restaurant are easy to discuss and have fun. Meal was really great .
Bedrooms are modern with style and design, I tried electronic staff but i hope to have more time to test everything during my next stay :-):-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear ykcajh,
Thank you for your review. It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed dining at Eleven14 Kitchen. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

spent a couple of days here at greenwich and was lucky enough to find myself at the j house, the rooms were very clean and spacious, my bed was very comfortable and above all i had a quiet restful sleep.The staff is very helpful and always happy to point me to the right direction...i would advice anyone staying in the greenwich area to consider the jhouse...one of the best...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, Guest Services at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear carlos g,
Thank you for your review. It was so rewarding to read your lovely review of The J House Greenwich. We are very pleased that we were able to exceed expectations, and thank you so very much for your kind words about our comfortable accommodations and exceptional service. We sincerely appreciate you recommending us to fellow travelers. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Be Well,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The rooms look brand new and were very clean. The beds were incredibly comfortable - best sleep I've had in a hotel in a long time. The tv was a large flat screen that looked like a mirror, you could control the lights and shades with an in room ipad, and the toilet was ridiculous - heated seat, wash and dry functions, auto flush. Free self park, great tasting breakfast at the restaurant, free wifi. All this for only $150 after tax. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Recently stayed a few days while on a business trip and was very impressed by all the Hitech equipment but even more so by the staff. Besides being warm and welcoming, they were also very informative. From the moment I walked in to the time I left I had a very pleasurable experience thanks to the employees working the front desk, lobby and reception areas. I had never stayed at a J-House hotel before but rest assured if this is any example I will make it a point to search them out if this is any indication of the
quality! Especially liked the TV in bathroom mirror!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Richard B,
Thank you for your review. To exceed our guests' expectations is our number one goal and we are very happy to have done so for your stay. We pride ourselves on our exceptional service here at The J House, and glad you were able to experience this firsthand. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The J House Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The J House Greenwich

Address: 1114 E. Putnam Avenue, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The J House Greenwich 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The J House Greenwich was just awarded the 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award. Our accommodations are sophisticated and contemporary. The guestrooms are luxurious and feature a number of high-tech amenities. The hotel's restaurant, Eleven14 Kitchen, serves New American cuisine, and incorporates acclaimed Executive Chef Francois Kwaku-Dongo's many global influences, locally sourced ingredients whenever possible, with a nod to sustainable practices. The hotel also features "The Garden," an outdoor dining area with an indoor feel, warmed by an outdoor fireplace and full bar. Or to cool off, enjoy a cocktail by the outdoor pool from the poolside bar. "The Lounge" inside the hotel's lobby is a warm, inviting gathering area to meet for drinks and apps, serviced from the over-sized bar inside Eleven14. Pets policy: fee (non-refundable), 60 lbs or less, water bowl included, pooch bed included, Doggie cookie included, one dog per room. Limited Room Types Available for pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The J House Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The J House Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.