We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to throw a party!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The J House Greenwich

Save Saved
You added The J House Greenwich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The J House Greenwich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1114 E. Putnam Avenue, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Greenwich
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
“Best place to throw a party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just held my daughter's sweet 16 at the J House and told by her friends that it was a great success! We held the party in the big party room and had an informal parent event next door. Everyone raved about how cool the venue was and how great the service was. Ewa the catering manager and Chang who was in charge of the actual party went above and beyond to accommodate all our requests and had helpful ideas of their own.They and their staff ran an incredibly tight ship and kept everything running smoothly despite the large number of teenage guests. Every staff member came up to introduce themselves and even the chef took the time to say hello. I cannot say enough good things about the staff, the service and the amazing food. In addition, we had a hotel suite for the day of the party - everyone who saw the suite thought it was as amazing as the party itself. I have already contacted them about booking the J House for my younger daughter's Sweet 16!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear S F,
Thank you for your review. We hope your daughter had an unforgettable sweet 16 birthday celebration at The J House Greenwich! Your praises will be shared with Ewa and Chang, and they too will be grateful to hear them. It makes us really proud to learn that our staff provided you with rock star service. We look forward to your younger daughter's sweet 16 party!
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
35
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed with our 4 month old for one night. From the moment we arrived, the staff were extremely friendly and considerate. The rooms are very comfortable and the Chocolate Lab makes a delicious hot chocolate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stay here any time I'm in Greenwich. It is a very hi-tech hotel, everything is accessible via i-pad. The lighting, heat,and room service at your fingertips.
The BEDS are EXTREMELY comfortable. :-)
My room had a mini-fridge, coffee maker and alarm clock (that plays 4 different nature sounds for those of us who sleep better with ambient noise).
Nice TV's ( 2 of them, one is in the bathroom mirror...pretty cool)
The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating.
The restaurant is a bit pricey, but your in Greenwich what do you expect.
I must admit I have yet to eat there, but the menu looks wonderful and passing by the kitchen always smells delicious.
There is also a chocolate factory on premise (sorry, haven't ventured there either) Looks Cool.
The fitness room is adequate at best, I wish they would expand it a bit, both in square footage and equipment. There is enough for a cardio workout.
I haven't been in the pool yet ( it's outdoors) but the patio looks nice.

Room Tip: Unless your a heavy sleeper, ask for a room NOT on the I-95 side...a bit noisy starting around 5am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear KDklips,
Thank you for your review and continued loyalty to The J House Greenwich. It gives us great pleasure to read how much you enjoy our comfortable beds. Next time you return to us, we hope you try Eleven14 Kitchen and Chocolate Lab. You will not regret it!
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

In town for a party with friends and stayed at the J House. Very cool, trendy, modern hotel with clean, comfy rooms. Great service from front desk staff. Had lunch at the restaurant, great food. The chocolate fountain smelled delicious too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear brittany h,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our modern decor and comfortable accommodations. Also, we are glad you enjoyed dining at Eleven14 Kitchen. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our son loved the 55 inch screen tv, and all the buttons that controlled the various light switches and the giant bed. delicious coffee every morning that came with free small pastry. the delicious smell of croissants and pain au chocolats filled the foyer. good burgers and soda. My son loved all the bathroom amenities, esp the heated toilet seat -- and the tv in the bathroom. the bed was
very comfortable. and the room was great overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear MaxT819,
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed reading how much your son loved all our modern amenities and heated toilet seat feature. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Found a great deal on the INTERNET (company will remain unnamed) for this place, needed to be relatively close to NYC and a single night. A wonderful surprise. Super high tech, and guess what? It all worked! IPad on the night stand, a massive TV disguised as a mirror, lighting schemes (that were a little disorienting and took awhile to figure out) like: "Welcome" and "Goodnight" or "Privacy". The heated toilet set that went up and down as you passed by could only be surpassed by the high tech bidet. The lounge and bar areas were avant-garde and comfortable, there was a chocolate/coffee shop. Didn't try the hotel restaurant, but the staff was very helpful and friendly, not really what you might expect after walking into the 2525 hotel environment. If you're in the area, look for a deal and go there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Cloudripper,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you found a great deal online. It makes us really proud that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and that our high tech amenities exceeded expectations. We hope to see you again soon at The J House Greenwich!
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

What a find!! This is a NY/Miami/LA cool boutique hotel in Greenwich, CT. The hotel staff is terrific and helpful. The rooms are modern, high tech, well designed, comfortable and all of them have bidets! The restaurant is great with a lively, hip bar scene.

I came here on business and then brought my wife for a romantic weekend when we were in the area. I travel to the area frequently for business both with and without my wife and will be staying here whenever in the area.

Definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Les D,
Thank you for your review and continued loyalty to The J House Greenwich. We are thrilled you found The J House Greenwich and enjoyed our lively and hip vibe. It gives us great pleasure to read that you have selected us as your hotel of choice when traveling to the Greenwich area.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The J House Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The J House Greenwich

Address: 1114 E. Putnam Avenue, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The J House Greenwich 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The J House Greenwich was just awarded the 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award. Our accommodations are sophisticated and contemporary. The guestrooms are luxurious and feature a number of high-tech amenities. The hotel's restaurant, Eleven14 Kitchen, serves New American cuisine, and incorporates acclaimed Executive Chef Francois Kwaku-Dongo's many global influences, locally sourced ingredients whenever possible, with a nod to sustainable practices. The hotel also features "The Garden," an outdoor dining area with an indoor feel, warmed by an outdoor fireplace and full bar. Or to cool off, enjoy a cocktail by the outdoor pool from the poolside bar. "The Lounge" inside the hotel's lobby is a warm, inviting gathering area to meet for drinks and apps, serviced from the over-sized bar inside Eleven14. Pets policy: fee (non-refundable), 60 lbs or less, water bowl included, pooch bed included, Doggie cookie included, one dog per room. Limited Room Types Available for pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The J House Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The J House Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.