We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally blows the lid off of excellence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The J House Greenwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The J House Greenwich to your Saves list
The J House Greenwich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1114 E. Putnam Avenue, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Totally blows the lid off of excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed five times there already and am blown away at the whole vibe the place offers. From the great lounge/bar area and the music to the fabulous rooms. The coolest bath rooms ever with the built in flat screen tv's inbedded in the mirror to the heated automatic toilet to the perfect shower. All excellent. Most of all the totally cool lighting and shades all controlled by the iPad.

The bed is perfect too in every case.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Andrew T,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that the J House "totally blows the lid off of excellence!" What a lovely compliment. It also gives us great pleasure to read that you've stayed here five times already. We thank you for your continued patronage to the J House Greenwich, and in the interim, remain at your service.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    30
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
45
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

J House is a modestly priced hotel that has a very cool, contemporary design. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is an excellent restaurant in the hotel that has a bit of a 40+ bar scene going during Friday night. The rooms are ultra modern if a bit small but each has a giant LCD tv and a smaller one in the bathroom. There are some funny quirks like a romantic kit on the mini bar that includes condoms etc. If you have small kids, you might have some explaining to do. Bottom line for me, I liked the vibe, cool modern touches and restaurant. It was great for the price. I heartily recommend it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear foodieman007,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our contemporary atmosphere and onsite Eleven14 Kitchen restaurant. Thank you for "heartily" recommending The J House Greenwich to fellow readers.
Best,
J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent location in Greenwich, very modern, great amenities, clean, comfortable, great staff, and excellent stay. the rooms have modern electronics with tv's in mirrors, all the convenient hook ups for electronics, nice gym for card, but no weights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear tfroning,
Thank you for your review and labeling us as "phenomenal". We sincerely appreciate your compliments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The location was perfect as we were travelling down 95 to come home from down south. The hotel is very clean, the rooms were awesome. Loved how the blinds were controlled by an iPad. Heated and automatic toilet seat was definatly interesting. Love that the mirrors had t.vs in them . The beds and pillows were the most comfortable from any hotel we've stayed in.
My only complaint would be that as we were looking for hotels on our route we called this one for prices and were told that we had to go online to book the room and look at prices. We ended up ordering through priceline. We called the hotel to let them know about our late check in and also to make sure we had the room with two double beds and the lady on the phone said she has 2 double beds available but can't make that accomondation through us and would have to hear it from priceline. So it was a headache to say the least, but priceline took care of that for us.
All in all the hotel was great, the only recomendation I have is they need to work on customer service, besides that the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear sol1204,
Thank you for your review. Allow us to apologize for the inconvenience caused with booking your reservation at The J House Greenwich. This will be addressed with our front office department, and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Allow us to welcome you back for a much improved experience if given another opportunity.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the J House in Greenwich on business for a few days, and was very surprised by the level of quality of the rooms. As many have previously stated here, the rooms are outfitted with a wealth of technology, including good quality, large-sized flat screen TVs, heated, auto-opening multi-function Japanese toilets, and an iPad controlled system that allows you to open and close blinds and order room service. The bed was quite comfortable as well, and the restaurant was first rate, offering truly fantastic salads, burgers and steaks.

The only cons to this hotel are the views (of the parking lot), and the location (it's not really close to anything). You definitely need to consider a car when staying here (or be prepared to spend a lot on taxis). Still, for the price this hotel was well-appointed, and a fantastic value. I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Greenwich.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear DJ_Ides,
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed our high-tech amenities and comfortable bedding. The items you mentioned in your review are a definite hit among most guests who stay at The J House. We apologize if our location caused any inconvenience during your stay, but glad you found our hotel to be a fantastic value. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place is great!! Heated toilet seat!!! U have a iPad in your room to controll the lights & blinds!! TV in the mirror !! Top notch Vegas type hotel !! In the middle of Greenwich cn ,,,,,the place is just wow

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, J House Greenwich Guest Service Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Keith p,
We were "wowed" by your review. Thank you so much! We are thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed the heated toilets and in-room iPad controlled features. Most guests are really excited about these cool amenities. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
The J House Greenwich Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My first impression when I arrived at the J House Hotel was that the hotel seemed small on the outside, but once I got inside the entire atmosphere blew my mind!!! I saw on the wall a projection of people crawling and I didn't expect that, but it was actually a fun thing to see!! I met Cindy and Diane at the front desk and both of them were absolutely fabulous!! (Thanks Diane!) They have a chocolate kitchen you can go into and buy all kinds of treats!! Loved that part!

My room was so like the future.... The bathroom was so high tech that I was shocked when i saw the kind of toilet they had! Loved the sliding frosted doors!! My bedroom mirror was also my television!!! OH MY GOD!!! My bed was like a cloud - i sat on it and just melted into it!!! My stay was only 3 days and when I left I actually missed being there.

My only criticism is that the parking in front can be a little cumbersome becuase of the limited space but overall it was a wonderful place to stay and will be returning again very soon!

Room Tip: I don't even think that'll matter. I assume all the rooms were like mine, and I loved mine!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, The J House Greenwich Guest Services Team at The J House Greenwich, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Michael C,
Thank you for your review. It thrills us to hear that our atmosphere "blew your mind". What a wonderful compliment! Your praises with be shared with Diane, and she too will appreciate the kind words. It is always a pleasure to hear how much our guests enjoy our futuristic yet very comfortable guest rooms. We can't wait to welcome you back again very soon.
Be Well,
The J House Greenwich Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The J House Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The J House Greenwich

Address: 1114 E. Putnam Avenue, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The J House Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The J House Greenwich was just awarded the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award. Our accommodations are sophisticated and contemporary. The guestrooms are luxurious and feature a number of high-tech amenities. The J House restaurant, serves New American cuisine, and incorporates many global influences, locally sourced ingredients whenever possible, with a nod to sustainable practices. The hotel also features "The Garden," an outdoor dining area with an indoor feel, warmed by an outdoor fireplace and full bar. Or to cool off, enjoy a cocktail by the outdoor pool from the poolside bar. "The Lounge" inside the hotel's lobby is a warm, inviting gathering area to meet for drinks and apps, serviced from the over-sized bar inside the restaurant. Pets policy: fee (non-refundable), 60 lbs or less, water bowl included, pooch bed included, Doggie cookie included, one dog per room. Limited Room Types Available for pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The J House Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The J House Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.