We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanton House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stanton House Inn to your Saves list
Stanton House Inn
76 Maple Avenue, Greenwich, CT 06830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenwich B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Have stayed many of times at the inn but after this go around the help is never consistent and the owner was very cranky! To bad!

Also, the rooms are becoming dated.

Stop serving Home Depot Breakfast! Very tired place.

Seams as though the owners are nervous because of the economy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    12
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
16
36
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I've been staying at the Stanton House for 12 years. I seek it out because of its friendly, warm environment and its extremely comfortable rooms. You feel like a houseguest at a particularly posh Greenwich house.

Beds are huge, lighting is good. The breakfast isn't so great (except at weekends when they serve a hot breakfast).

Ample parking is free. This is the kind of place where the staff know you once you've stayed there a few times. Well worth trying out.

Room Tip: The nicest rooms are in the oldest part of the house, though you can get rooms with direct outdoor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in July, 2011. The Stanton House is across the street from our son, daughter-in-law,and grandaughter, at whose house we are normally welcome (really), but this occasion was a BIG birthday party, and we had no complaints about our stay here. Anyone visiting Greenwich or NYC would likely love this house and the hospitality of the hosts. The room where breakfast is served is especially fine. I wanted to sit outside to eat, but, alas, Greenwich has the same flying insects as the rest of eastern N.A., so I would have had to dine alone. On any future group family events in Greenwich, we would gladly volunteer to walk across the street. By the way, the house across the way isn't shabby, either. I'm told that Mark Twain's daughter once resided there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin P, Owner at Stanton House Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Jim, I know it's been quite a bit of time since your visit, but I just wanted to let you know that we appreciate your writing us a recommendation. It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that we could make the birthday festivities just a little more special. Next time you visit your family, we'd love for you to stay with us again!

Colin P, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I needed a night away. We don't have a car and
needed to go somewhere relatively close to home which is Manhattan.
I searched the internet and finally found the Stanton House Inn. One
thing we wanted was quiet since we are apartment dwellers. We got
it by choosing Room 32 which is tucked away in a corner of the house.
The owners aimed to please. Continental breakfast nicer than most
and included hard boiled eggs, fruit, cold cereal. Cookies always on
hand as well as coffee and tea. Lovely sitting rooms. One night stay
was just the getaway we both needed! Highly recommend if you'd
like a quiet place with charm. Metro North stops at Greenwich.

Room Tip: Room 32 for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed 2 nights. Very quiet and super comfortable. Extremely clean. Price per night was very reasonable for the area. The breakfast was all cold items, fruit, bread, cereal and yogurt. Some hot items would have been nice but all in all we really liked staying there.
Would stay there again if I visit that area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I'm grateful to have found this place - I used it for business travel during the week, but it would have been just as good a choice for any purpose. My room was very large, and very nicely furnished, and in period style, making for a very relaxing atmosphere.

This place is so far superior to your usual hotel experience! Personal greetings, relaxed atmosphere, spacious rooms, very comfortable bed, and a wonderful breakfast. Walking distance to Greenwich shopping and only a bit further to the harbor.

I'd recommend this place to anyone, whether they were looking for a B&B or a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton ny 13346
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My sister and I have stayed at the Stanton House numerous times when we return to our home town. It always meets our expectations for cleanliness, comfort ,(beds and surroundings). We have come in all seasons. Breakfast is good and served in a welcoming dining room. The grounds around this venerable,old house and the house itself are well maintained and all is welcoming. It is the closest we can come to being home in our old town. Staff, owners and the house itself make it all work.
Elizabeth H.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanton House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton House Inn

Address: 76 Maple Avenue, Greenwich, CT 06830
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanton House Inn is a unique bed and breakfast in Greenwich, offering a piece of old world charm just a few steps away from the town’s finest attractions. Lovingly restored in a country decor by its current owners, this small and peaceful Inn is an elegant and intimate alternative to ordinary hotels. With 20 individually decorated chambers including three suites, The Stanton House Inn offers all of the modern comforts and amenities you could hope for in a friendly and relaxed environment. From breakfast, dry cleaning and concierge services to cable TV, wifi and an on-site swimming pool, we provide everything you need for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stanton House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton House Hotel Greenwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanton House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.