We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elm Street Oyster House

Elm Street Oyster House
11 West Elm St., Greenwich, CT 06830
203-629-5795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Elm Street Oyster House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 142 Restaurants in Greenwich
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Greenwich Avenue
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great ambience and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We've gone here a couple of times and the ONLY thing we have not found great is the folks are not very friendly. The first time we went there was after we had gotten married....just the two of us and when I mentioned it to whom we think was the owner or at least the manager, he didn't say a word and just led us to our table. Not very friendly! However, the food is terrific and it is a charming place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    35
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beechhurst, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Neutral”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The food was ok but the place is a bit small and cramped. Staff was friendly and attentive. I ordered the New England clam chowder and it had carrots. Who puts carrots in NE clam chowder? Personally, I don't like it when they do. Other than that, I can't say the food was exceptional but it wasn't bad either.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a great meal at this restaurant for lunch. We were a party of 12 and everyone ordered something different. Every entree was perfectly cooked and had wonderful flavors and sauces. The waiter was friendly and recommended some wonderful dishes. The portions are large so bring a big appetite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent place for seafood lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have been going on a regular basis to this restaurant and I have not been disappointed. Considering myself as a connoisseur in seafood, the fish is always perfectly cooked, never over or under done. I enjoy their shellfish and oysters and their extensive menu. Obviously there is nothing served but seafood but I love it. I highly recommend this place in Greenwich. It is actually the only place in town I go to; I found most other places nothing special and over rated.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

There are a lot of nice restaurants to go to in this area. This is not one of them. Everything is just average.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elm Street Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Elm Street Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elm Street Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.