We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant in Hip Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eleven 14 Kitchen

Eleven 14 Kitchen
1114 East Putnam Avenue, Greenwich, CT 06878
(203) 698-6999
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eleven 14 Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 143 Restaurants in Greenwich
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Riverside Avenue
Description: eleven14 Kitchen. Offering seasonal and locally sourced American Cuisine in both indoor and outdoor settings.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant in Hip Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great food with a lively, hip bar scene. The dishes are creative and the service is great. Drinks are generous. Expect NY prices.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
STAMFORD
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“This Chef Produces Outstanding Food - and the chocolate's good too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located on the site of the old Howard Johnson's -- and the new J House -- Eleven 14 is a very upscale restaurant that offers outstanding food prepared by Chef Francois Kwaku-Dongo. For starters, we had a creamless yellow squash soup that was velvety in texture and delicious. There's a number of fish dishes available for lunch or dinner, as well as several beef dishes (from Angus hamburger for $22 and filet mignon for $36. Dessert comes from the Chocolate Lab, a chocolate shop located just off the hotel's main lobby. (A great place for a hot chocolate or a gelato.) Not inexpensive, but worth it for that special lunch or dinner. Good place for a romantic getaway.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst food I have had in a long time!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I went to dinner with 3 friends and we all shared the same opinion on the food.... absolutely awful. We complained to our waiter who sent over 2 complimentary desserts that unfortunately tasted just as bland. I would never waste my money there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Staff was great, very accommodating and helpful. Food is average, but hey overall ambiance and staff make it all worth it. Also the drinks are pricey but well made.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Elegant place with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I dined tonight with my sister. Sundays are very quiet days, the place was pretty empty. We were very nicely greeted and taken care of by Pedro and Fernando, two very kind and gracious servers. I had the Foies Gras $22.00 and the Special chicken $25.00 - $30.00; both dishes were very tasty and nicely cooked. For dessert I had the Tiramisu which had a nice modern twist, not the typical dessert.
Overall, the food was good, the place itself is very charming, would have rather had a bit more of an ambience so if I were to go back, which I intend on doing so - it will not be on Sunday.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven 14 Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Eleven 14 Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eleven 14 Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.