We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Greenwich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Steamboat Rd., Greenwich, CT 06830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Greenwich
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Classic Greenwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Delamar last week. It is a classically appointed small hotel in a good location relative to central shopping street, nice room, very good food quality in the restaurant, parking facilities. Gripes: high hotel price for what it is, outright bad service in Spa and incredibly long waiting time in restaurant.

Room Tip: Harbour views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Delamar Greenwich Harbor. I am delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay. With regards to the spa service, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you in greater detail and apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We certainly hope we have the oppoortuinty to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    49
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
118
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have stayed at many luxury hotels and the Delamar tries too hard and falls short. The staff is stellar. However, the property has an aged feel about it, the furnishings are oddly ornate and the fitness room something I'd have in my home, not at a luxury property. Although L'Escale may be a highly rated restaurant, the outdoor bar area turns into a pseudo-European party for sweet young Greenwich thangs and middle aged men. Not at all pleasant for a late night cocktail or two. Overall, I found that the Delamar simply didn't deliver on its pricetag.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor. I am delighted to hear that our staff and service was stellar and I will congratulate the team accordingly for their efforts. With regards to the furnishings, we will have completed a major renovation of all guest rooms including carpets, curtains, bedding and soft furnishings, in addition to our lobby, and gym by the end of this summer. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future and would welcome your feedback on these upgrades.
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I, recently, went to the Delamar Spa for the first time to have a facial with Barbara. She could not have been sweeter or more knowledgable. She gave me a whole new kind of facial - new to me - which left me looking refreshed and renewed. She was awesome and, although I live in Manhattan, I will definitely be back to see her: She is a talented lady:)

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our spa. We are implementing a number of changes in the spa this year that includes new products and treatments to further enhance our spa experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Warm Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed there on the executive floor in a room with a view to the harbour. On this floor they provided continental breakfast in a corner of the hallway, pretty limited space. We have definitely seen a much wider range of food in less expensive hotels. The milk was sour twice during our 10 days stay. The coffee from the WMF mashine was excellent, you could choose espresso, cappucchino, latte.... Our room was nice and clean, the ac was very loud. The bathroom was nothing special, older, only one sink, no extra shower. On the executive floor they provide bulgari items. The balcony to the harbourside was what we really enjoyed. You could watch yachts coming in and leavemagain. Nevertheless don't expect too much, you will either be above the hotels parking lot or above the very busy restaurant, the highway is very close, so there is noise all the time. In the evening they were providing wine and cheese on the executive floor from 5 to 8, later on they had nuts, m&m s and bretzels to serve yourself. You have to call the front desk to get ice but they will bring it right away.
We've been to the restaurant with our children and their baby for dinner. The terrace faces the harbour which is nice. Service was slow, it took very long for them to bring us the menue, staff was somehow indifferent, almost unfriendly. The food was not even average, nothing you would expect for such high prices. They wanted to place the stroller with the baby far away from our table and we had to arrange a spot where the stroller could be placed without any help of them. One time we went there just to have some drinks on the terrace. Our waitress was so non chalant, she almost didn't pay attention to us. My daughter in law asked if they have a wine list and she said 'yes'. We had to ask her to bring it. No smile, no extra word, unfriendly, stuck up. The place seems to be a hot spot for the "rich and beautiful". There is no pool and the fitness room is small. You pay a fee of 15 $ for valet parking and gratuities. The parking lot is right next to the hotel so you usually just park yourself. Check your bill thoroughly! I had booked online through the hotel website for 4 nights, then extended our stay at the front desk. They gave me the the online rate for the first night and charged me 25 $ more for every other night. When I complained about that they gave me the online rate for all nights. They allow pets and charge you 50 $ per night but they donate this to a shelter which I think is fine. Overall we enjoyed our stay but would say it's overpriced for what you get. As they serve the same continental breakfast in the lobby than on the executive floor it's not worth the money booking a room there, especially if you get a room with 'street view' which means no view and no balcony. If you just need a room for the night and don't mind the location go to the J house, you get much more for your money.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony on harbourside, rather than street view on the executive floor.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Our goal is to exceed our guests expectations, so I apologize we fell short in certain areas of your experience. I will be using your feedback to address our shortcomings and would welcome the opportunity to have you stay at the hotel again. With regards to the breakfast on our executive floor, there are distinct differences than what is served in the lobby, in that it is an 'enhaced' continental breakfast with fresh cut fruit, yogurts and granola as well as smoked salmon bagels and the like. Other enhancements that differentiate the executive floor include the nightly wine and cheese as well as late night snacks and a dedicate concierge to take care of all your needs during your stay. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed the balcony with our beautiful water views of Greenwich Harbor as this really is a guest favorite. I was however suprised to learn you found it noisey since we are located a good distance from I-95 and I have never heard of this before? Thanks again for your feedback, it is only through the eyes of our guests that we can truly see ourselves and your feedback is very important to us.
Warm Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lovely harbor-side resort with great personal service. Walking distance to a fine museum and great shopping. Magnificent coffee machine in lobby....but desperately needed a swimming hole during the 90 degree July 4th weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our guests take the ferry adjacent to the hotel marina to Island Beach, a beautiful ride 20 minutes into the harbor where guests can enjoy secluded sun and sand with swimming options as well. We are also looking into the feasability of adding a pool at the hotel as we continually look to upgrade and enhance our guest services and offerings. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabanac, Aquitaine, France
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

An excellent hotel but a disappointing restaurant.
A 5-star hotel in every way for a 4 day stay for a wedding celebration of dear friend's daughter.
Helpful, friendly staff and a pleasant location on the water, just a short walk to the Greenwich shops, which also has some decent restaurants.
Our room was comfortable with a large bed, which was well appointed in every way, with a balcony over the water, and the coffee corner on our floor was well stocked all day with goodies and drinks, such as smoked salmon, cream cheese and bagels for breakfast, and wine and cheese in evenings.
Only disappointments were the absence of a pool, and an ordinary restaurant, though with an ok bar.
We had room service salads (ok), a dinner in L'Escale (quite ordinary) and 2 breakfasts in L'Escale (average). I believe that a hotel of this high standard deserves a better quality restaurant.
I would stay again without hesitation, but would tend to eat elsewhere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor. Our executive floor is definitely a guest favorite which really adds value to the overall experience when staying at the hotel. I was dissapointed to hear your restaurant experience did not live up to your expectations and will be sharing your feedback with restaurant management so that they can address the issues highlighted. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked a last minute weekend away to the Delamar and it was a great decision to stay here. Check in was effortless, we were in our room within 10 minutes of arriving at the hotel. Room was very comfortable with a balcony over looking the marina. We both made use of the spa witch was terrific, we highly recommend their services. We walked into town didn't need use of our car all weekend, which is big plus for us. Overall very relaxing stay, planning to go back in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and took advantage of our wonderful spa! We look forward to seeing you agin in the fall!
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel

Address: 500 Steamboat Rd., Greenwich, CT 06830
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning jewel for travelers with a taste for Old World style and bespoke services, Delamar Greenwich Harbor ranks among the most elegant boutique hotels in the country. With a prime location on the beautiful waterfront, this luxury hotel in Connecticut features 82 deluxe guest rooms and suites arrayed with luxurious, European-style furnishings, relaxing hues, and contemporary communications technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delamar Hotel Greenwich Ct

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.