We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just make sure you get the room you booked” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Steamboat Rd., Greenwich, CT 06830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just make sure you get the room you booked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

When we arrived in a stretch limo, the guy at the desk checking me in kept whispering to the bellboy, "Is it him? Is it him?" Wondering if my husband was the former governor of Colorado, I think.... Well, he wasn't. And the limo was a last minute grab at the airport, because the driver was ready to get home to Westport.
Anyway, this was Valentines day, and although we were there for a funeral of a business associate the following day, we were still mellow enough to not care which room we got upon arrival. Uh, oh. I had booked a harbor view room online. We were given a street view room. When we were shown to the room, I didn't feel like making a fuss because it was time to break open the wine. However, that night the city streets were cleared of snow by a beeping truck at 3 in the morning.
When I went down to the lobby the next morning, I was a little irate. The front desk man was unpleasant. However, we got moved to a much larger harbor room and were given a $100 refund for the night.
Other than this kind of attitude, of looking for the famous and downgrading the ordinary people, it was a lovely hotel with a good coffeebar and continental breakfast. Also the location can't be beat. You can walk to a number of good restaurants and shopping in the town.

Room Tip: Get the harbor side, it's quieter and much roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Delamar Greenwich Harbor. I was disappointed to hear there was a mix up with your room type and I apologize for our mistake. I was happy to learn the problem was rectified as soon as you brought it to our attention, and that overall you found Delamar to be a lovely hotel. As a result of your feedback, we have fine tuned our procedures to ensure mistakes of this kind do not happen again. We certainly hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Thanks again,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    56
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
46
128
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My friends and I just spent a really terrific weekend at the Delamar in Greenwich. The Inn is lovely-beautiful rooms-very comfortable and luxurious. The lobby is very comfortable and welcoming; they offer free wine and cheese late afternoon and have a free continental breakfast (rolls, fruit, coffee) in the morning. My friends and I purchased a spa package and we received lovely 'goodies' in our room (chocolates, champagne, spa samples, etc).The service is really terrifc; the staff is very friendly and helpful and they go out of their way to accomodate guests. We had dinner in the restaurant-it was delicious and the room is really lovely. The spa is small but the treatments were really well done. We felt relaxed and very pampered! I have stayed in many top hotels and inns throughout the world-the Delamar in Greenwich is on par with these other top hotels. Great job and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to the concierge floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor. As someone who is clearly well travelled, we appreciate you holding us in such high esteem. Our staff work tremendously hard to deliver the very best in service and your recognition of our efforts is very rewarding - I will congratulate the staff accordingly. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were in town to celebrate my dad's 90th birthday. We were treated so nicely by the terrific staff that it made a special occasion even more special. Very comfortable with a great location, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Congratulations to your Father for his 90th Birthday! We are so happy to hear that we could be a small part of your special celebration. Our staff pride themselves on delivering genuinely warm hospitality and it is great to hear your wonderful comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Warm Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed one night (Saturday/Sunday), the hotel was fairly quiet. Our room was facing the street (not the water $). Some of the waterside rooms had balconies, our street side room did not.

Hotels with doormen, mini bars, bathrobes, easy to use thermostats, included light breakfast (fruit, pastries, juice, coffee), comfortable quiet rooms and free parking automatically make it to the top of my list, the Delamar has all of these.

This hotel is beautifully appointed and clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 119, it was very nice. Pay more for a harbor view during the summer..very romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Delamar. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves and that our service and amenities met your expectations. Our harbor facing rooms with balconies are particularly nice during the warmer summer months, please reach out to me personally before your next visit so that I can ensure you enjoy a room with a harbor view.
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Thisis an excellent hotel on the harbor in Greenwhich. It is easy to walk to the small town center. The rooms are a bit small but very nice. There is a very good restaurant on location. They offer coffee, fruit and rolls in the lobby for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much, we appreciate you taking the time to write this great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently stayed here for a shopping weekend in December. It was our first visit. We were greeted like family by the staff. The concierge, Mohamed, far exceeded our expectations. He was incredibly helpful in providing us directions and advice about the surrounding area and the restaurants. The staff was always friendly and courteous and eager to drive us to the shopping area and restaurants. The afternoon happy hour, 24 hour coffee bar, and continental breakfast were real plusses. The place was festive and immaculate and we liked the holiday evergreen scent they used wafting from their scent machine. We would definitely recommend this place/come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor. Greenwich is a great destination for the holidays with a multitude of shops and restaurants in close proximity to the hotel. We are glad to hear we exceeded your expectations and I will congratulate the staff for their efforts. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Friendly front desk and staff. Beautiful Christmas decorations abound. Esxuisite Marble lobby, excellent continental breakfast in two locations of the hotel. Wonderful Personalized service.Great housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your outstanding review of Delamar Greenwich Harbor! We pride ourselves on being a wonderful destination for both business and leisure travelers alike, and are delighted we exceeded your expectations. We certainly hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel

Address: 500 Steamboat Rd., Greenwich, CT 06830
Location: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning jewel for travelers with a taste for Old World style and bespoke services, Delamar Greenwich Harbor ranks among the most elegant boutique hotels in the country. With a prime location on the beautiful waterfront, this luxury hotel in Connecticut features 82 deluxe guest rooms and suites arrayed with luxurious, European-style furnishings, relaxing hues, and contemporary communications technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delamar Hotel Greenwich Ct

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.