We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay - not a favor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miranda Vineyard

Miranda Vineyard
42 Ives Rd., Goshen, CT 06756
860-491-9906
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Attractions in Goshen
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ideally located in the rolling Litchfield Hills near scenic two-lane highways, covered bridges, and antique shops. Its bright and airy tasting room and large exterior deck make an excellent place to sit, relax, have a glass of wine and enjoy the company of good friends. The Vineyard is two hours from New York City. A visit to the area with its famous autumn foliage, historic sights and many wineries makes a great day trip.
Milford, CT
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's okay - not a favor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Place looks like a small house and the tasting area is small. When there are more than 6 people you are 2 deep and it's hard to hear and also difficult for the tasting part. Very small outside porch with about 3 tables. Inside area is large and has more seating. IN the winter there is a fireplace.

It appeared that maybe there were looking to expand to 2 tasting areas which would be great.

Wines are so, so. First winey that was all run by women, which is a nice thing to see.

Would go back for the sole purpose of getting my passport stamped as it is very close to Sunset Meadows and would be foolish not to go for that other stamp.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They don't need to have the fireplace on to feel the warmth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I recently visited Miranda vineyards for our anniversary which was a return visit due to a very enjoyable experience previously. Our return visit was even more enjoyable. We purchased a tasting and had the pleasure of Maria Miranda as our tasting guide. Maria's kindness was felt immediately as well as her passion for the wine her and her husband produce. We sampled several of the wines all of which were excellent. We especially enjoyed the woodbridge red. When we got to the reds we paired unique chocolates made exclusively for the winery based on Maria's recommendation which turned out to be a fantastic decision. After our tasting we had the pleasure of a lengthy conversation with Maria about how the vineyard started the ideas that went into the design. The overall decor of the winery and the quality of the wine are only 2nd to the people running it! I would highly recommend Miranda to anyone looking for a truly enjoyable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mediocre service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Place looks very pretty inside, the outside didn't really suggest that you were at a winery. Help seemed frazzled the day we were there and when I came home discovered that the wine glasses I purchased were not in the bag or box with my other purchases.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“satisfied our curiosity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a nice vineyard. The owner gave the 'talk' about the wines.
However, her voice was very soft and she addressed the group as
though they were her former students. Two of the eight wines
sampled were purchased. A suggestion would be to 'treat' your
guests to the small piece of 'decadent chocolate' you promote
to enjoy with the wine rather than asking them to 'fork over the $1.00.
That seemed tacky to me. Guess the American wineries differ from
those in Europe, especially Italy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Off the beaten path, but well worth the adventure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Very nice relaxing country atmosphere. The wine is very good. My favorite picks are: "one of CT Magazine's top 10 wines of Connecticut" Cayuga; the Rosé; and my all time favorite Vinho Fino!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miranda Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Miranda Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miranda Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.