We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pazzo Italian Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pazzo Italian Cafe
60 Hebron Ave, Glastonbury, CT 06033-2033
860-657-3447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 79 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Cuisines: Italian, Californian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Casual but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great choice for both traditional and creative Italian food dishes. Desserts are great to experience. You can also bring your own wine for small corkage fee.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Reliable, friendly, neighborhood favorite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Sometimes we want a good meal with friendly service and reliable choices on the menu. We come here when one of us is very hungry and the other less so. One can have a full dinner, the other salad or panini. Homemade gelato and biscotti are also excellent. We come here every couple of months. I especially like the eggplant panini, my husband the short ribs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Little Pan of Pazzo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Garlic lovers will not be disappointed at Pazzo.

The food is good, authentic Italian. Have I had better? Sure...but I've also had worse. The atmosphere is nice but unremarkable. The service was excellent and conveys that warm community-like feel. The portions were large and kept us from dessert (which looked incredible), but we took home enough for another meal.

Although this review somewhat pans the place....we will go to Pazzo again. The menu has many Italian favorites and it's worth another go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Although this review is based on my most recent visit to Pazzo, I have been going to this restaurant for years. The food is consistently good! The pasta is always cooked to perfection and the flavor combinations are excellent! The service varies, depending on the server, and at times I find it to be a bit slow.
On my most recent visit to Pazzo with my husband and young daughter - the Friday night before Christmas - the restaurant was nearly full and presented a warm, festive atmosphere. We were seated promptly and quickly greeted by our server. We placed drink and appetizer orders and were greeted by another server. After the initial confusion as to who was going to wait on our table, the service was pleasant but a bit slow, especially while waiting to place drink refill orders and requesting the check.
However, the food was delicious as always! I had the Boscaiola - mushrooms, sausage, basil, parsley and penne with tomato cream sauce - and requested it to be prepared spicy. The penne was perfectly al dente and the entree was fresh and tasty and a bit spicy! The pasta portions are large, and since the entrees come with an appetizer salad, I always take half my meal home for yummy leftovers. My husband had the pork roast special, which was cooked to perfection and served with the most delicious roasted brussel sprouts and potatoes. My daughter ordered a Ravello Salad, which is normally a good choice for her, but after tasting the pork roast, she asked if she could switch meals with her dad. (The answer was "no.")
My daughter loves the gelato at Pazzo and this time she ordered a peppermint gelato. Not my style, but she loved it!
I would highly recommend Pazzo for a great meal for friends and families!! p.s. There is also a small room in the back that can service private functions.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Increased BYOB charge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I think the food at Pazzo's is very good. We have been going there for years. Good size portions and the service is very good. I usuallly like to bring and taste a new Italian wine before I buy a larger quantity for consumption and gifts.

I recived my check last week and the corkage fee went from $2.50 to $8.00 per person. Ouch.

We were planning to meet 2 other couples that we fequently dine out with evry other week to shake things up from our usual BYOB resturants.

But, $48 for corkage was extremely high for the 6 of us.

I'll be back when they decrease the coakage fee back to the normal charge like several other resturants in the area..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazzo Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pazzo Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pazzo Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.