We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accomodations & breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Connecticut River Valley Inn to your Saves list
The Connecticut River Valley Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2195 Main St, Glastonbury, CT 06033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Branch, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodations & breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I spent Christmas night at this B&B while visiting family in town. The room has all the comforts of some of the finest hotels that I've ever stayed in, but it has the warmth and hospitality of home. The owners cannot do enough for you and Pat makes the most outstanding breakfast! Our only regret was that we had to leave early to beat the impending snowstorm, but we plan to return for our next family visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    10
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
29
90
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at this wonderfully restored inn located in the center of Glastonbury. We've travelled on four continents and this is definitely a "fave". A tremendous value, and we love their dogs too!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

As a repeat guest of the Connecticut River Valley Inn, I continue to enjoy a new discovery each time I visit ... not only a discovery of improvements and betterments in interior, and exterior design....... which always appear to be a work in progress at this lovely locale, but, more importantly....... a better discovery of myself. The serene atmosphere allows you to quickly capture the feel of being in the home of great friends that you've known for years. The feel of the rooms, the friendliness of the town, the invitating sites nearby, the great food, this very special place is one of the best kept secrets of New England. It is, indeed, a place that I would recommend to anyone looking for a respite in their world. I applaud the attention to detail given to each and every consideration for comfort that has been given by these innkeeper's that has exceeded what I have witnessed in all across the United States in my travels. Once you stay at this charming B & B, nothing will ever match the feeling of bliss that I have discovered here in Glastonbury, CT - USA.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CtRiverValleyInn, Owner at The Connecticut River Valley Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Wayne & I thank each and every one of our guests who have taken time from their busy days to to write such wonderful comments! We are truly honored. We always try our best to treat our guests like loved friends and family. It is the greatest compliment to have that noticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We had such a pleasant stay at the Connecticut River Valley Inn this summer. The location is just right—close to the center of town, so that it’s interesting to take a walk, but set back enough from the street that the room was very quiet. The grounds are beautifully maintained. It would be the perfect place for a wedding reception—there’s even a church next door.

Our room was comfortable and attractive. We particularly appreciated the fact that there was ample lighting. The Inn is still new, and it was fun to look at the scrapbooks that show the transformation from a single family home to the freshly created inn. Oh, and breakfast was very good—a nice combination of fresh fruits and yogurt, followed by extravagant French toast. Our tablemates were people who had stayed at the inn before—a testimony to this very agreeable place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this lovely Inn for two nights in July. We found Patricia and Wayne to be very friendly and accomodating hosts. Our room decor was pleasing and the bedding was especially comfortable. The breakfasts served each morning were extremely delicious and satisfying. Our hats off to Patricia and Wayne for their hospitality. The Inn is ideally located in Glastonbury just a short drive to the City of Hartford with its many attractrions. We would highly recommend this Inn to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

My fiance and I stayed an extra night at this inn just to soak in the tranquil New England feel of this gorgeous historic home. The innkeepers were helpful and very personable, with plenty of advice on local attractions. Our room was refreshing, with crisp detailed design, high ceilings and a decadent spa-style shower. We enjoyed the modern convenience of wireless internet in a place where otherwise you might feel transported to an earlier period in history. The air was fresh, and the grounds were sprawling and well manicured, and a yummy healthy breakfast was waiting for us in a beautiful salon in the morning! I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

My now husband and I chose this inn, after much research, several months before our wedding. Unfortunately we were ignored due to the inn hosting a wedding and catering all weekend to those wedding guests. Our first morning, the inn keeper actually said “I hope you don’t feel overlooked”. No extras. No refreshments. No HOUSEKEEPING!!! Not kidding here. They actually came into our room to retrieve pillows for the other guests! Almost a thousand dollars…wasted. Lesson learned. Beautiful home. Fantastic food. Great reviews. BUYER BEWARE.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CtRiverValleyInn, Owner at The Connecticut River Valley Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
So, we finally had guests who were determined to have a less than wonderful time. We really have no way to adequately address this review as most of it is false.

These guests came to the area very unprepared to get married. We can only assume this caused them much angst (not to mention normal wedding jitters).
What DID we do on their behalf? 1.Waiting up until 3AM for their arrival – no notice, no apologies for keeping us up til 3AM. 2. Bringing breakfast to their room. 3. saving their parking spot just for them as we had a full house that weekend. 4. Flagging down their limo driver who was about to leave without them!!! 5. We found an online video (thanks, YouTube!) for him, on how to tie a bowtie as the, by now, frantic groom rented a tuxedo with a real bowtie, but never tied one! 6. We gave them directions to a local spa. 7. Fielded a call from the local jeweler about the wedding ring that he JUST purchased. If we could not contact the groom immediately, the ring would not have been ready for them in time,. 8. served them each a complimentary glass of wine on their return from their wedding. 9. packed up a bag of scones for their trip back home (which they did not take because they exited at 1PM (check-out is 11AM), exiting out the front door without ever checking out.

At this B&B, (also our home) , we take pride in treating all guests as friends & family, as opposed to "innkeeper" and "guests". As such, we don't invade our friends' personal or private space, unless specifically requested. We consider their rooms theirs for the duration of their stay. We do ask if they require additional bottled water, soda, snacks, towels or anything else that we can provide. All guests are provided our personal cell # so they can reach us anytime regardless of our location.

In this case , if their intention was to be provided "room service" there are two chain hotels nearby that would be more than happy to supply them with impersonal strangers to paw through their belongings while they were away. That is not us.

I re-mentioned the wedding as it was several months earlier when changing their arrival date to the same day as a wedding. They were aware of this. I did not want them to perceive that the wedding preparations (all done outside) were taking away from the proper attention they should expect. Sometimes the best intentions are misinterpreted!

All our rooms come with bottled water, single serve coffeemakers w/ over 20 coffee, tea & hot chocolate choices. In the dining room is a variety of cookies, chocolates, granola bars and snacks at our guest's disposal. When we make other goodies such as apple pie, gingerbread cookies or cake, that is on the buffet as well.

Our website states & guests confirm that we have resident dogs, so the dogs should not have been a surprise. When we have guests who have not read this information & either are afraid or allergic to dogs, We go out of our way to confine them during that guest's stay s extremely difficult). Normally our dogs are a real hit around the inn!

Pillows were not removed from their room for other guests. We pride ourselves in keeping all bedding sanitary. These guests went into the linen closet and removed ALL (about 8) of the spare pillows from the closet removing all pillow protectors & had them all over the bed along with crushed roses and personal items. It was a good thing that no other guests requested an extra pillow as there were no more. They all required a thorough laundering. Had they requested additional pillows, we would have been more than happy to give them more WITH the appropriate coverings on them.

In conclusion, we go out of our way with every guest as reviews on this & other sites show. We really do not know what we could have done to make these guests happy. We wish them well in their marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford South-Glastonbury
4.9 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#3 of 10 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connecticut River Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Address: 2195 Main St, Glastonbury, CT 06033
Location: United States > Connecticut > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connecticut River Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Connecticut River Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Connecticut River Valley Hotel Glastonbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connecticut River Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.