We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything As Advertised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Connecticut River Valley Inn to your Saves list
The Connecticut River Valley Inn
2195 Main St, Glastonbury, CT 06033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything As Advertised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a lovely B&B that is exactly as you will see it on the website. We stayed in the Spring Suite for a one-night stay. Everything is very clean, comfortable and well-cared for with an artist eye that makes for beauty as well as comfort. The bathroom in the suite has a really fun, large open shower with multiple nozzles and a steam function. We used the sofa bed as well as the California King, as we had four in our party, and the sofa bed was adequately comfortable. The wicker swing seat with a view of the lovely back yard was also fun and comfortable. The A/C was quiet and efficient and disguised by Pat's artistry. Pat supplied filtered water for the coffee maker, which was an added touch we appreciated. We had some dietary restrictions and breakfast included special treats we could all enjoy - gluten and dairy free options. Back to the back "yard" - a semi-formal garden of flowers and lawn opens up to a large, mowed meadow and then to a meadow full of wild flowers with a mowed path to a walking trail that takes you to the Connecticut River. Also a hammock under the trees - be sure to take advantage of that! The Inn is on Main Street but was quiet. We walked to restaurants, which was nice after a day of driving and touring.

Green Features: The Inn has received the Green certificate from Trip Advisor.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    8
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
27
83
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed at the Connecticut River Valley Inn the night before my wedding, my bridesmaids and I used it the morning of the wedding to get ready, we took some pictures on the grounds, and my husband and I stayed the night of our wedding. We stayed in the Spring Rain suite, which was perfect for getting ready, morning photography, etc. The suite was two rooms on the top floor, connected by a bathroom on one side and hallway on another. It was more than enough space for the 5 of us to get ready, with others coming and going, the photographer using one room for detail photos, etc. The suite and the garden/grounds outside were also beautiful for photos. One bridesmaid commented it would be a great location for an elopement :o) The hosts were welcoming and accommodating, the room was beautifully decorated, clean, and comfortable (super comfy bed, my bridesmaid said the pullout was even pretty comfortable), and the breakfast was tasty and varied. We will definitely return for another stay!

Room Tip: Spring Rain suite was great for morning wedding preparation, as well as if you wanted to have two se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were met on arrival by Pat, who was very helpful. This is an old house that has been renovated quite nicely. They have obviously spent a lot of money doing this. The bathroom
had modern conveniences. There are not a lot of rooms here, which we liked. We pretty much had our run of the place. Don't miss the walk by the nearby river. Also, Pat provided a
delicious breakfast. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, which gives access to an outdoor deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast. It is clean, beautifully decorated, and the hosts named Pat and Wayne make you feel welcome. I first got to know about this inn by checking out their website and my experience was just as advertised on their website. The rooms had charming touches and the grounds and gardens were well manicured. My wife and I relaxed on the balcony right outside our room (the Winter Solstice room) overlooking the gardens. The breakfast was delicious and really hit the spot before our trip home. I don't usually write reviews but it was my pleasure to write one after a very nice stay. We plan on coming back and highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have long admired this Inn on my many walks by. My fiance and I were very pleased to learn that we were able to get married on their picturesque grounds. Both Pat and Wayne were very accommodating and friendly, along with the staff. The house interior is beyond beautiful. The decor is a perfect combination of cozy classic with modern accents. Although we did not stay over night, I'd imagine it would be and excellent experience. The area is also nice and charming. I would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Recently stayed here for two nights to attend a funeral in Glastonbury. Pat and Wayne were so accommodating to us and some other family that needed to stay. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean and just lovely, as are the rest of the inn and grounds. We often stay here because of family in the area, but this time the circumstances were not the usual reason for staying and it made those circumstances a lot easier to deal with.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My friend got married here recently. The lawn is pretty but unfortunately, that's about the only good thing I can say. Owners were unbelievably rude to the entire wedding party and the guests. They constantly made everyone feel like they were not welcome. Being at this inn is like having to walk on eggshells around the owners...rather than a welcome guest, you're treated like an unwelcome nuisance in their home. Too bad...it's a nice area and a cute spot. But having stayed at dozens of inns and b&bs, I can say that this place has the most shockingly inhospitable management I've ever experienced. Stay elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Connecticut River Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Address: 2195 Main St, Glastonbury, CT 06033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Connecticut River Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Connecticut River Valley Hotel Glastonbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connecticut River Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.