We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything As Advertised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Connecticut River Valley Inn to your Saves list
The Connecticut River Valley Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2195 Main St, Glastonbury, CT 06033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Click for Best Rates
Ranked #1 of 3 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything As Advertised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a lovely B&B that is exactly as you will see it on the website. We stayed in the Spring Suite for a one-night stay. Everything is very clean, comfortable and well-cared for with an artist eye that makes for beauty as well as comfort. The bathroom in the suite has a really fun, large open shower with multiple nozzles and a steam function. We used the sofa bed as well as the California King, as we had four in our party, and the sofa bed was adequately comfortable. The wicker swing seat with a view of the lovely back yard was also fun and comfortable. The A/C was quiet and efficient and disguised by Pat's artistry. Pat supplied filtered water for the coffee maker, which was an added touch we appreciated. We had some dietary restrictions and breakfast included special treats we could all enjoy - gluten and dairy free options. Back to the back "yard" - a semi-formal garden of flowers and lawn opens up to a large, mowed meadow and then to a meadow full of wild flowers with a mowed path to a walking trail that takes you to the Connecticut River. Also a hammock under the trees - be sure to take advantage of that! The Inn is on Main Street but was quiet. We walked to restaurants, which was nice after a day of driving and touring.

Green Features: The Inn has received the Green certificate from Trip Advisor.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed at the Connecticut River Valley Inn the night before my wedding, my bridesmaids and I used it the morning of the wedding to get ready, we took some pictures on the grounds, and my husband and I stayed the night of our wedding. We stayed in the Spring Rain suite, which was perfect for getting ready, morning photography, etc. The suite was two rooms on the top floor, connected by a bathroom on one side and hallway on another. It was more than enough space for the 5 of us to get ready, with others coming and going, the photographer using one room for detail photos, etc. The suite and the garden/grounds outside were also beautiful for photos. One bridesmaid commented it would be a great location for an elopement :o) The hosts were welcoming and accommodating, the room was beautifully decorated, clean, and comfortable (super comfy bed, my bridesmaid said the pullout was even pretty comfortable), and the breakfast was tasty and varied. We will definitely return for another stay!

Room Tip: Spring Rain suite was great for morning wedding preparation, as well as if you wanted to have two se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were met on arrival by Pat, who was very helpful. This is an old house that has been renovated quite nicely. They have obviously spent a lot of money doing this. The bathroom
had modern conveniences. There are not a lot of rooms here, which we liked. We pretty much had our run of the place. Don't miss the walk by the nearby river. Also, Pat provided a
delicious breakfast. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, which gives access to an outdoor deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scmaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast. It is clean, beautifully decorated, and the hosts named Pat and Wayne make you feel welcome. I first got to know about this inn by checking out their website and my experience was just as advertised on their website. The rooms had charming touches and the grounds and gardens were well manicured. My wife and I relaxed on the balcony right outside our room (the Winter Solstice room) overlooking the gardens. The breakfast was delicious and really hit the spot before our trip home. I don't usually write reviews but it was my pleasure to write one after a very nice stay. We plan on coming back and highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael246810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have long admired this Inn on my many walks by. My fiance and I were very pleased to learn that we were able to get married on their picturesque grounds. Both Pat and Wayne were very accommodating and friendly, along with the staff. The house interior is beyond beautiful. The decor is a perfect combination of cozy classic with modern accents. Although we did not stay over night, I'd imagine it would be and excellent experience. The area is also nice and charming. I would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Recently stayed here for two nights to attend a funeral in Glastonbury. Pat and Wayne were so accommodating to us and some other family that needed to stay. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean and just lovely, as are the rest of the inn and grounds. We often stay here because of family in the area, but this time the circumstances were not the usual reason for staying and it made those circumstances a lot easier to deal with.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelaurasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My friend got married here recently. The lawn is pretty but unfortunately, that's about the only good thing I can say. Owners were unbelievably rude to the entire wedding party and the guests. They constantly made everyone feel like they were not welcome. Being at this inn is like having to walk on eggshells around the owners...rather than a welcome guest, you're treated like an unwelcome nuisance in their home. Too bad...it's a nice area and a cute spot. But having stayed at dozens of inns and b&bs, I can say that this place has the most shockingly inhospitable management I've ever experienced. Stay elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Oriana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford South-Glastonbury
4.9 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#3 of 10 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
10.7 mi away
Inn at Middletown
Inn at Middletown
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
#3 of 5 in Rocky Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connecticut River Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Address: 2195 Main St, Glastonbury, CT 06033
Location: United States > Connecticut > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connecticut River Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Connecticut River Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Connecticut River Valley Hotel Glastonbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing