We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Save Saved
You added The Connecticut River Valley Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Connecticut River Valley Inn
2195 Main St, Glastonbury, CT 06033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place with lots of charm and awesome amenities. The hosts were great and the breakfasts were more than we expected.

The bedrooms are spacious with very comfortable beds but they are upstairs. The fireplaces and showers are a very nice touch.

The Inn is a great place for long stays as it gives you the "at home" feel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    6
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
25
74
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had such a fantastic stay at the CT River Valley Inn! Everything was well kept, very clean and beyond our expectations! Very close proximity for fantastic restaurants and shopping in Glastonbury. Can't wait to book our next visit!

Room Tip: The Autumn room has a fantastic balcony! For a complete get away, go for the room on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I were searching for a hotel not too far from home for a very special occasion when we came across reviews and the website for the Connecticut River Valley Inn. Although it was a little higher priced than the typical hotel, we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed! This B&B is fantastic, as are the owners Pat and Wayne. We arrived Friday evening and were promptly greeted by Wayne. We chatted for a few minutes and he showed us to our room - the Autumn Room - which was beautiful. He showed us how things worked in the room, told us about the area, and made a dinner suggestion. He could not have been more friendly and helpful. Both mornings we were treated to a delicious breakfast prepared by Pat. She is a very welcoming hostess. Pat and Wayne were very pleasant throughout our two-night stay. We enjoyed Glastonbury and did a lot of walking and sightseeing. Our stay was perfect. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose this inn to be married because of it's amazing location, friendliness of the inn keepers, and profound atmosphere created by the decor. From mixtures of prints and textiles in the furniture to hand crafted works of art on the walls, it creates an environment that feels like home as soon as you step inside. All the season themed rooms are very cleverly designed down to fine details such as customized shower paneling and art pieces above the fire mantles. We stayed in the spring rain suite and it was everything we wanted it to be, romantic, comfortable, spacious and relaxing. I would recommend this inn to anyone looking to get away for a night, whether you be local or far from home.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

CRVI is wonderful. The rooms are decorated with care and love -- each one unique. The furnishings are tasteful and elegant. The hosts could not be warmer and lovelier. You feel as if you are a house guest vs. paying customer. FYI; The breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were so pleased with The Connecticut River Inn! Pat and Wayne were so warm and friendly, and the inn was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. We ususally visit southern Ct. and didn't know much about this part of the state. We were pleasantly surprised by the town of Glastonbury and its many shops, lovely houses and restaurants. Wayne was very helpful when we were trying to decide on a place for dinner, and suggested a scenic route to take for a leisurely walk. Pat is a fantastic hostess, and the breakfast that she prepared was absolutely delicious! My husband and I will definitely be visiting The Connecticut River Inn again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My son and were passing through while visiting local colleges (Trinity and Wesleyan) this week and wanted to stay somewhere outside Hartford. The Connecticut River Valley Inn was a breath of fresh air. Wayne and Pat treated us like family from the moment we walked in the door. We stayed in the River Room (top floor) -- a beautiful 2 room suite. The shower was the best of 5 hotels/Inns I stayed in all week. And breakfast. Wow! The town of Glastonbury was also a nice surprise with plenty of restaurants and even a Whole Foods half a mile away.

Room Tip: we stayed in the River room - has room rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Connecticut River Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Address: 2195 Main St, Glastonbury, CT 06033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and T4B so you can book your The Connecticut River Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Connecticut River Valley Hotel Glastonbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connecticut River Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.