We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Connecticut River Valley Inn to your Saves list
The Connecticut River Valley Inn
2195 Main St, Glastonbury, CT 06033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

An earlier reservation was postponed due to Hurricane Irene. The owner's easily agreed to allow us to defer to a later date. Sometimes people forget that bed and breakfasts cannot operate as hotels when it comes to cancellations. We decided to visit in October to see the area and some old friends. The Inn sets in a beautiful section of historical Glastonbury and the owners have done a great job of renovating the 1700s period home. The grounds are beautiful and the landscaping reflects what you would expect for a colonial period property. Our room was large and well-appointed. The owner is an artist and her works add much to the decor. We felt at home which is the sign of a well-run B+B. The other guests were easily met and we enjoyed conversing with them over breakfast. We hope to visit again in the near future.

Jim and Kathy Clabby
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaB2010, Owner at The Connecticut River Valley Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you so much for a kind review. Thank you for taking the time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    8
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
27
83
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed here on a business trip and all I can say is that it exceeded expectations.
- The room was spacious and extremely clean - I'm a clean-freak so to be able to say this means a lot.
- The grounds were beautifully kept and there was a wonderful little running trail that I went on a jog on.
- Internet access was also excellent and I could work outside on my personal patio that was accessible only from my room.
- The bed was comfortable.
- The breakfast was unbelievable - best home made EVERYTHING! I kind of want to go back just for the scones.

What would I change?
- Perhaps the sign could be a little bigger as I got lost a couple of times trying to find the place, and the GPS said that it was on the opposite side of the road

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaB2010, Owner at The Connecticut River Valley Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
We're so happy you had a wonderful stay. Next time you must stay longer! Concerning our sign, we would love to have a bigger sign, but since our property is actually in the historic/residential zone district, we are limited to a sign of no more than two square feet - an you can believe that we have used every inch! Hopefully in the future we will attempt to get a variance on the sign size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. It's a cute little inn. We did get to see most of the rooms, as there was only one other couple staying there at the time. Some of the decor was a little modern for my tastes, especially in such a historic building - but we liked our room ok. The shower was awesome and the bed was really comfortable. The yard is nicely landscaped. The hosts are super-friendly and offered lot of suggestions for walking trails and other activities in the area. Pat is a great cook and we enjoyed our breakfast, although I did wish for more of a selection. After breakfast we enjoyed our coffee outside over the Sunday paper - very quiet and very relaxing. Overall it was a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My boyfriend an I stayed at this inn just a few days ago and had a great experience. Unfortunately we did not arrive to the Inn until some minutes to 8pm, so we were not able to spend a lot of time in town on our first night. The inn was very well maintained, clean, and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Winter Solstice room and LOVED IT!!! We were given an opportunity to see the other rooms which were also tastefully decorated and inviting! Wayne and Pat were gracious hosts and very helpful. The dogs Allie and Widget were very friendly although Widget is a barker. His bark is much bigger than his bite. He eventually warmed up. LOL We did not get a chance to sample any breakfast because we often stayed in our room way past breakfast time because we were so comfortable. All in all, it was a great place to stay and if you have a chance to visit, might I suggest going to Plan B for a burger. It was DELICIOUS and they had many vegan and vegetarian options too! I would definitely stay at this inn again.

Room Tip: The Winter Solstice room is the biggest and it opens directly onto a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were treated like we lived there. The food was excellent ,wine and cheese a nice touch and art work topped it off. Restaurants were excellent (Bricco and 2Hopewell) rooms were spacious and bed was firm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosup, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Our family reserved the entire Inn for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding weeked in Glastonbury. This B&B is fabulous. We held the rehearsal dinner there the first night and Pat and Wayne could not have been more accomodating hosts for us and our 30+ guests that evening. The inn is gorgeous inside and out. Spotless, beautfully decorated and spacious rooms with private baths and very comfy beds. The garden was perfect for our grandchildren to play and even more perfect background for the bride and groom's wedding photos. We had a lovely time, it was well worth the price, we will go back and we recommend every chance we get!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the inn for our anniversary. Pat the hostess couldn't have been nicer. The place is meticulously kept, the room was clean and oh-so-pretty (we stayed in Winter Solstice), and the bed was the most comfortable I'd ever slept in. We enjoyed the breakfast and liked the dogs, Elliot and Widget. It's very close to Hartford. We'd recommend it to our friends for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Connecticut River Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Address: 2195 Main St, Glastonbury, CT 06033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Connecticut River Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Connecticut River Valley Hotel Glastonbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connecticut River Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.