We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Max Fish

Max Fish
110 Glastonbury Boulevard, Glastonbury, CT 06033
+1 860-652-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Max Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 79 restaurants in Glastonbury
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: When you're in the mood for good service and great seafood be sure to check out Max Fish, the newest of the Max Restaurant Groups fine dining establishments. True to the Max Restaurant Groups mission statement, this restaurant embodies an uncompromising commitment to quality service, style and superb cuisine that made the Max Group famous. The menu at Max Fish features a wide array of the finest seafood and raw bar items, made from only the freshest and highest quality ingredients, with something sure to please every member of your group. The Shark Bar at Max Fish also offers a lighter variety of seafood and Max classics in an exciting and up tempo environment. Max Fish is sure to offer you a pleasant and unique dining experience every time you visit. Please stop by soon to see our beautiful new restaurant!
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Me and my fiancé LOVE this place. We come for happy hour 430-6pm adn sit at the oyster bar. there is no better way to end the day with fresh shucked oysters, at least 10 different kinds, and a great beer from tap, again at least 10 different kinds. The waitstaff is wonderful at creating a good dining experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    87
    35
    16
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“MAXimum Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had the opportunity to eat at Max Fish on a recent Saturday night. What a pleasure!. The restaurant is located in a mall in Glastonbury. Ct. There are no views to speak of. The fun begins as soon as you enter. We chose to eat at the bar. It was packed. A mix of thirty somethings, business types and seniors out on the town. There is a happy hour every day. Specials are really great. Drinks are properly made and the bartenders are great. You cannot go wrong no matter what you choose.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy Hour Is The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Top quality food for pennies. Everything on the Happy Hour menu, which is very extensive, is excellent. Maybe smaller size but no compromise on quality or presentation. Heartily recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Max Continues To Get it Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are, in general, fans of the Max Restaurant Group, and eat frequently in various Max restaurants. We hadn't been to Max Fish for a few years, however, and boy -- are we glad we came back!

Six of us enjoyed a great dinner and exceptional service on a recent Saturday night. As a non-fish eater I could wish for a few more non-fish choices on the menu (only two), but after all, they do make it clear this place is all about fish. I had their chicken dish; it was very good. All in our party had different entrees and heaps of oysters to start; all are very pleased with their meals. ( I'm told the monk fish was fabulous.) We were also brought an excellent bread basket -- warm, assorted choices.

But here'e what puts the experience over the top -- at a restaurant with these prices its fair to expect good food. But Max Fish provides some of the most excellent service we've had in a while. The entire staff is very professional and all clearly know and understand their role. (Kudos to whomever provides the staff training.) Everything is done promptly and gracefully; attentively without being intrusive. There was always someone there when you wished there would be, but never when you didn't. And here's a nice touch we appreciated -- the manager brought our bottle of (pricey!) wine to the table, decanted it into a lovely crystal pitcher, and made just the right amount of small talk about its merits with the fellow who had selected it. Now that's a good way to take some of the sting out of the price tag!

Max -- you've done it again, and we'll be back for more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is my second review of this restaurant, once should be enough but our second experience at this place was even better than this first. We have only have had brunch there but must also try dinner I am sure it will be just as wonderful. We started with the seafood tower great selection and as fresh as it gets, then Lobster quiche, chopped salad with shrimp on top, and filet bennedit,
.Three different choice then on our first visit and all great !
Dont miss this place

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Fish also viewed

 

Been to Max Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.