We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in a quaint, historical town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmington Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Farmington Inn to your Saves list
Farmington Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Farmington Avenue, Farmington, CT 06032   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
Wapakoneta, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely stay in a quaint, historical town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in the Farmington Inn when his company sent him to the town of Farmington for work-related classes. The rooms were clean and comfortable; the staff at the hotel is very friendly and accomodating. They host a continental breakfast in the morning, consisting of hard boiled eggs to waffles, and yogurts to fruits. The chamber of commerce is located right in the hotel to assist with anything you'd like to do in the area. There is a nice walk down Main Street, which allows you to view some incredible historic houses, some dating back to the 1600's, that take your breath away. It is located close enough to attractions that enable you to visit such places as the Mark Twain and Harriet Beecher Stowe houses in nearby Hartford, and a semi-short drive to the Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods Casinos about an hour away. The town was also a critical point in the underground railroad, hosting everything from Amistad gravesites to a French Revolution cemetery on a hillside (Momento Mori). You can also reach the ocean beaches of southern Connecticut in an hour as well. I recommend visiting the Hill-Stead Museum, which was left to everyone as a museum by the previous owner, one of the first women architects in the United States. For a small entry fee, you get to tour the home, which was built in 1898-1901, and view original artworks by various painters. All in all, for never have been in that area of the country before and getting to go there twice in a little over a month, I came back with a lot of nice memories, and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The four-poster bedrooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHOC-GM, General Manager at Farmington Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your stay. It was a pleasure to hear of your enjoyment of the stay and the area. Our employees are always happy to recommend things to do in our town, and we are pleased to offer a hotel that is part of the unique and historic area. We look forward to your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    46
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
31
43
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I've stayed at Farmington Inn for business several times. I've found the service and friendliness of the staff unparalleled. The rooms are very nice and always clean. The added bonus is the historic nature of the Inn. The WiFi is free and works well. Ask about the availability of the hotel's shuttle. The drivers are also very friendly and helpful. If you're traveling on business, I always recommend a surge protector strip. Hotels seem to not have enough outlets for all of the electronic devices people have nowadays. I don't think you'll be disappointed with your stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This hotel is rather dated (the television had a VCR built into it) but our room was spacious enough to accomodate a king sized bed, desk with chair, television armoire, two nightstands and two chairs easily. The fitness room was limited but suited my needs perfectly - cardio machines and free weights. We did not use the housekeeping service per se, but rather would trade out glasses, towels etc. when we saw them in the hallway. All staff was exceptional in every way - professional, helpful and friendly. The breakfast cafe was great, always had something tasty and it was part of the room rental. The free wi-fi was a bonus and our cell phones worked well in the room and outer areas. Well lit exits/entrances complete with trash/cigarette receptacles. Since we had a long stay, coin operated laundry would have been a plus along with a way to store and re-heat food. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, FL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here visiting family and it was lovely. The rooms are beautiful and you can walk around the little town very easily. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a girl's weekend. We were meeting up to attend a concert and doing some retail therapy outside New Haven. It was a quiet but convenient location just off Route 84. The room was very pretty with dual poster beds with canopies. Very clean. Standard amenities. Pleasant and helpful front desk help.
We were in a downstairs room and the floor/ceiling is not soundproof. I spent 45 minutes at 6:30am on a Sunday morning listening to the upstairs guests walk back and forth and back and forth. Ask for a second floor room.
The breakfast offerings were acceptable but it was not kept refilled and we had to ask for more coffee, more milk, more bagels.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is a very unique hotel experience for me. When I stepped into the lobby and received a heavy metal room key from a very friendly hotel employee, I knew I picked the right place. I stayed 4 nights there with my family including two young kids. I felt so at home. Everyday, after a busy or fun day, I sat with my hubby enjoying a cup of wine and crackers offered by manager for every guest. Kids enjoyed a piece of cookie or fruit also offered by hotel for free. They are so thoughful. There is always hot coffee, tea and water in the lobby. A binder with a lots of menu from local restaurants is also available. Manager helped me heating up kids' food using her own microwave. Another good point, besides the hotel, it is the main street of Farmington, a beautiful street with long history and stories.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Upon arrival, the staff person was pleasant for the late hour at which we arrived. (Bad rental car situation but that's another review.) There is some underground parking in case of precipitation. I was a bit troubled from a security point of view that the door into the hotel from the covered parking was unlocked despite being given a key which I was told that would work in the door that was never locked during the three days we stayed there. Room entry is by key and not computerized key cards. There is no elevator and we were on the second floor.

The furnishings were charming and I liked the beds, a bit soft for my taste but others with me thought they were fine. The carpet throughout the hotel is in need of replacement; it is a blue-grey color with stained and worn areas. I can't tell you if it was dirty as I wore flip-flops all the time in the room. I would not believe that it was as everything else in the room was clean. The wall covering was curled very slightly at the bottom in the bathroom next to the shower. Since I like blue and white, the color scheme of the room was pleasant. Bath amenities were Bath and Body Works products and a soap with the hotel's own logo. The towels were thick and absorbent. The biggest complaint I had was the variable water temperature. The shower would start out fine and about five minutes into it, it would become lukewarm to cold and after a few minutes, it would be fine again. I attributed it to the aging building's un or under insulated pipes. The individual wall unit heating/cooling system is a bit noisy but would be OK for those who like "white noise". There weren't enough guests to be able to discern if this is a quiet hotel. We would usually see about 6-8 others during breakfast.

The continental breakfast was rather standard (yogurt, bread, fruit, eggs, beverages). They did have real boiled eggs that were warm if you arrived early. Bagels and bread for toast were of a better quality (not like Wonder bread). The woman preparing the breakfast couldn't have been nicer. There were bowls of fresh fruit in the lobby and the breakfast area which I thought was a nice touch.

Their book keeping left something to be desired. I had booked with one of the travel websites and they had me scheduled a day earlier than I was supposed to arrive. I quickly pointed out to the woman who checked me in that I was NOT a no-show and backed it up with my reservation print-out. She was very pleasant about the entire thing. Upon checking out, a similar problem occurred but was quickly and pleasantly resolved. (I have yet to get my credit card bill so I may have to update this post.)

I'd say that the strongest points for this inn are the pleasant staff and the ambiance created by the furnishings (a Colonial feel). It was a decent value and close to where we needed to be in case of bad weather.

Also one of my teenagers tried to charge something while using what she thought was the hotel's wifi. When she tried to complete the purchase, it would not go through. I was reading and had not been paying attention to what she was doing. When I realized that she was not on the hotel's wifi, we called for the password and account information but I would not let her purchase anything as I think it's dangerous to do from a non-home internet connection. Two days later my credit card company called to alert me about a fraudulent charge on my card. I'm not computer savy enough to know if, but I don't believe that this is the hotel's problem.

The quasi-room service (with limited hours coinciding with the resturant hours of operation for lunch and dinner) is from the Zagat-rated Italian resturant next door. (The meal we had there was good.)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmington Inn

Address: 827 Farmington Avenue, Farmington, CT 06032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Farmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmington Hotel Farmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.