We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Falls Village
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jon D
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Home away from home in sleepy, charming Connecticut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I happened upon the cottage more or less by accident, but having stayed there twice since December, I'm confident I'll be returning again and again. The gorgeous (and very accurate) photos clinched it for me, but the cottage is even more unique and exquisite in person. Surprisingly spacious, private nooks abound and even with 4 guests, there is more than enough room for everyone to spread out in order to read, work, or relax in solitude if desired.

Danielle and Mario provide every necessity (don't worry about towels, bathroom products, or even basic cooking staples) and the house is full of lovingly chosen (and even some original) art, lighting, and furniture. The tile work in the bathroom is stunning - and the kitchen, while simple, is more than serviceable if you plan to cook during your stay.

Some of my favorite features: the gorgeous bathroom vanity/cabinetry, the mural in the dining room, the regal stained glass windows, and of course, the fireplace. Both times we've stayed a fire has been built for us, ready to be lit.

There are, almost unbelievably, two separate outdoor spaces: a large deck off the living room and a smaller terrace off the entryway/mudroom, both with unobstructed but very private views of the scenery and the river below. It's easy to imagine the deck is the perfect place to grill some lunch or dinner, relax with a book, and even catch a quick nap in warmer weather.

Danielle is beyond helpful and is an expert on the area; her recommendations on dining and shopping are right on. Salisbury has a very nice wine/liquor store and two adorable bakeries. The Stop & Shop in Canaan is a typical large, suburban grocery store, but LaBonne's Market in Salisbury is a notch more upscale and much more manageable.

New Yorkers (or anyone else not used to well water) might do well to pick up a few bottles in town - though the quality is fine and just a matter of personal preference to some.

Come to the cottage with a bottle of wine (or 2) and make sure to peek at the stars before taking a soak in the tub and turning in for the night.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Responsiveness of owner and uniqueness of property
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
beccajpau...
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, unique cozy cottage.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The owners were extremely helpful and easy to work with. The cottage was cozy and warm. We stayed in winter and thoroughly enjoyed the lovely fireplace (which was already set for us upon arrival). The views are amazing out on the woods and the river. Would love to also come back in the summer as there is a nice deck and balconies. We went hiking at several nearby places which was also great. Would definitely return.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jonás & Yudy
NY
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
South Orange
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RobinC195...
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
“Ideal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The house is beautiful, as is the entire area. Danielle and Mario were wonderful to work with. For those who like air-conditioning in the hot weather, be aware that the house has no air-condtioning and it is hot there during the summer months. There are two fans in the house.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
bunnyblue...
Centereach, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Like staying at your best friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

It was like borrowing your best friends home... everything thing you need is available.It was quaint and cozy. The ambiance is incredible. It was quiet and relaxing. Yet plenty of things to do nearby.Can't say enough. Great place!!!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
BAraujo10...
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at The Cottage at Great Falls for Valentine's Day. The place is absolutely breathtaking. The aesthetic details are on a level I have not seen in a long time. The fireplace was our favorite spot to be. There was a plethora of firewood available, and one even set with little instructions where to light it. If I am not mistaken, I am almost sure that most of the walls are carved out of stone. The kitchen was stocked with different spices and seasonings which was helpful, along with pots and pans. The Cottage was spotlessly clean. My favorite room had to be the dining room. There is a lovely mural that wraps around the room (that contains the hidden light switch), along with a beautiful wooden table, and a small little fire crevice to place candles and such. There were extra linens and blankets readily available.

We had brunch at the Chaiwalla Team room (one of the places recommended by Danielle). She was great at providing all the spots we would need to seek out if we needed a bottle of wine, groceries, etc. EXTREMELY HELPFUL!

Overall, I will definitely be back, and STRONGLY recommend this immaculate gem to anyone who wants to get away, and really just be in peace. There is simply nothing negative to say about The Cottage at Great Falls, and usually, I am very persnickety.

B.A.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The attention to detail in the decor
Liked least: Everything was great
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$200
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Danielle B
1 4132290058
Speaks English
Listed since : Sep 2012
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing