We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic that keeps getting better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luigi's Restaurant

Luigi's Restaurant
170 Post Rd, Fairfield, CT 06824-6262
+1 203-259-7816
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 173 Restaurants in Fairfield
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A Fairfield main-stay for over 35 years, Luigi's offers tasty traditional Italian dishes along with decadent creative special entrees. Luigi's is famous for its large rotating pizza oven that boasts slicing pizzas for generations of families.
CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A classic that keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wonderful warm, comforting atmosphere and even better food. Neighborhood place with old favorite recipes and inventive nightly specials. Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuigisRestaurant, Owner at Luigi's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks so much for coming in and taking the time to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our family has been going to Luigi's for over 7 years and the food is the same consistantly good foord every single time we go. The service is usually spot on, and very friendly, but what makes Luigi's is the the owners, a husband and wife team that go out of their way to make families with small children welcome. We even had their pizza delivered to my wife's bedside after the delivery of our first child and that child still will only reliably eat Luigi's Ceasar salad! If you are looking for casual and friendly Itlaian food their is no better place in Fairfield or surrounding towns, we recently moved away and have found nothing to compare!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuigisRestaurant, Owner at Luigi's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
So glad you feel welcomed! We love sharing our food with our families! Come back soon:)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good food with distracted staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A family run Italian restaurant serving pizzas and pasta.
If you are going at prime-time, then you need a reservation or factor in a wait time of 20-30 minutes.
The place is bright with large tables and fairly attentive staff. There were times when the staff totally forgot about us and we had to wave down when we wanted something.
We enjoyed the fritura (zucchini nicely done with a spicy sauce). The pastas were standard and good portions. Surprise was the vegetarian pizza – it was a brilliant pie with lots of vegetables blended well with the cheese, and taken out from the oven at the right time.
Once the check came, the staff attending to us went out to get supplies from a liquor store close by while we kept waiting. Rush hour or not, the staff could definitely pay attention to the guests at the table. We go to restaurants for good food and being treated well. So the kitchen may cook up food really well, but if the delivery team is distracted, then how do the guests enjoy the well-cooked fare.
Overall good food with some distracted staff. May stick to a pizza take out next time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I had dinner for the first time at Luigi's. We were not disappointed! Grilled smoked Mozzarella over salad, drizzled with a touch of olive oil was a delicious appetizer. I ordered the Timbald di melanzane, a lovely combination of eggplant and homemade pappardelle pasta. The sauce was outstanding....light and so fresh. My husband was very happy with his chicken francese which was served over homemade fettucine. I know my pasta...and this was definitely homemade. The portion sizes are not huge, but neither are the prices. From the hot, crusty bread to the cappucino...this meal was outstanding. We will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not really all that it states on the other reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The other reviews speak about homemade pasta- Pasta I ordered was no different than that coming from a box. Portion size is average. Meatballs, can barely taste the meat, too much bread crumbs were used in the mix. Did not finish them, they did not have a great taste all. Had the mushroom and porchetta as an appetizer and this was very good, brought to the table warm, bread was very good - served hot. I was not happy with the meal nor was the other person that I was with who had lasagna. The waitress was excellent and very attentive. Would not go again however, disappointed with the main course.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Luigi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luigi's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.