We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fairfield Museum is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Museum and History Center

Fairfield Museum and History Center
370 Beach Road, Fairfield, CT 06824
(203) 259-1598
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Attractions in Fairfield
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Fairfield Museum is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been a fan of this establishment for years. As a teenager, I would often visit the "Fairfield Historical Society" to research topics for my classes at Roger Ludlowe High. As a college history major, I would peruse the archives there to research term papers or just to indulge my love of history. With the move to a newer building several years ago, the exhibits are so much more appealing and reach out to a much wider group than just history lovers. The exhibit on dresses over the centuries is a must see for anyone, including men. My husband even found it interesting. I am a member of this museum and I can't recommend it enough. It really is a hidden gem in Fairfield and I would recommend a visit to one and all. It is well worth the time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best museum in southwestern CT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Fairfield Museum is a real gem--fascinating exhibits on the region's history, art and culture and great educational programs for kids and adults. Worth visiting throughout the year as new things are being offered all the time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Re-live History--sometimes even your own!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent, well researched exhibits in rooms that are not too large to see everything easily.

Look for upcoming exhibit on Women in the 60;s and 70's!!!! Ask yourself, "have we come a long way, baby?" to borrow from a 60's cigarette ad........

Take the time to reflect on what is NOW, and what was THEN. You won't regret it.
Small, but very inviting Gift Shop too! Check it out! You many want to come in sometime just to find a lovely hostess gift, or "old time" toy for a child, or even for yourself!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
“A day researching my ancestors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I went to the museum in July 2013 to do some research on my family history. The Librarian was very helpful & friendly. I was able to find everything I needed. Also visited the Vintage clothing Exhibit which I enjoyed. The curator (Casey Lewis) did an excellent job of explaining what was in vogue during the different eras. The clothing was beautiful.
This is a must for people interested in colonial heritage and for those who want to learn more. Also visited the Old Burying Ground which is near the museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, CT
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Hidden cultural delight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hidden in a "special" spot in Fairfield, this museum offers special events and presents historical items that will stir any "non-history" buffs appetite. Check them out especially when there is a special exhibit going on, you won't be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairfield Museum and History Center also viewed

 

Been to Fairfield Museum and History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Museum and History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.