We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor choice!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tomato and Basil Cafe & Pizzeria

Tomato and Basil Cafe & Pizzeria
1876 Black Rock Turnpike, Fairfield, CT 06825
203-333-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 184 Restaurants in Fairfield
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor choice!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My takeout food was awful. I ordered a pizza and a calzone. Both basic choices. The sauce was just terrible. Basically ruined my order seeing both of them had their red sauce. Nice concept for black rock turnpike, just bad food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, CT
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“As delicious as it looks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just happened to want a specific Italian soup, and this place had it! Not only did they have "Pasta Fagioli," but they had escarole and bean and both were delicious! Did I say they both were delicious? I meant - DELICIOUS!!!! Not only that, but because I was "eating light" I only wanted "soup and salad;" and the garden salad was beautiful to look at and a pleasure to eat! Yes indeed, a good meal all around. Since I ate light, I had room for a delicious dessert too! I forgot to mention that the manager stopped by our table issuing apologies for not allowing us to sit at a larger table - it was lunch time - and it did get very busy and understandably so! The food and the service is great!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've dined here twice -- once with a girlfriend and the 2nd time with a family member. The service is very quick and the food is okay. Nice atmosphere. Have experienced wait times during the warmer months

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't bother! unless u want RUDE/SNOBBY attitudes!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The food is good. We ordered 1panini, 3 chicken dishes and pasta and meatballs from the child menu. All was tasty except for my son's dish. The sauce tasted like store bought canned sweet sauce and the meatballs were tasteless, needless to say my toddler would not eat them. The place is cute but very tight and long, the menu is nice, however, I would not go back bc the STAFF IS unprofessional, snotty, unaccommodating and rude. We spent over $150 for lunch not incl tax and tip on 4 people. Too bad the staff ruined this place. Will not return and warn others of the unimpressive, to say the least, atmosphere and unwelcoming attitudes. Shape up or ship out bc this place is going to go belly up without a serious remodel of staff and service!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reliably good food, good value, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We usually come after the usual lunch time, so we have no problem being seated and always enjoy the food. If we didn't, I wouldn't have a problem telling them, and they seem so nice I have the impression they would hop to it to rectify anything. I don't like tvs in restaurant/cafes, but they seem a done deal. The constant assault of advertizing never ceases in the USA.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomato and Basil Cafe & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Tomato and Basil Cafe & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomato and Basil Cafe & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.