We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep fried seafood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Black Seal Seafood Grille

Black Seal Seafood Grille
15 Main St Ste C, Essex, CT 06426
(860) 767-0233
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Essex
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Sherburne, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Deep fried seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Lots of local seafoods deep-fried. The kids were not fans, but the adults enjoyed the Fried Oyster Po'boys.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Respectable Standby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I've been to the Black Seal a few times now and two things are clear: their bar is the ideal place in town to have a few glasses of wine while meeting some of the locals, and their food is average. The staff is friendly but depending on what time you go they can be somewhat inattentive. Their steak sandwich is disappointing. However, I would say they have one of the better burgers in town; I am specifically referring to their Black Seal Burger.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Had lunch with good friends. Food and service were great. Essex is a lovely town and this is a gem. Right on the middle of town with a nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always delicious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have eaten here a number of times and the food and service is always excellent. Our recent stop there on the way to Newport was no exception. The two women in our party had BLT's which they proclaimed the best they had ever had and considering the Black Seal Burgers that the two men had I would have to agree. It was only a lunch meal but it filled us up for the rest of the day. Everybody in our party loves the Black Seal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watch Hill, Rhode Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simple and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

After a long day in essex, we decided to eat at the black seal. Great service and atmosphere. Food was pretty basic, but still great. I would recommend getting a burger, they are big and delicious. Both my kids ordered off the kids menu and were satisfied with the portions and taste. Overall, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Seal Seafood Grille also viewed

 

Been to Black Seal Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Seal Seafood Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.