We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extraordinary wings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Taverne

Oliver's Taverne
124 Westbrook Rd, Essex, CT 06426-1551
860-767-2633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 16 Restaurants in Essex
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“extraordinary wings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

went with my boyfriend and had 50 wings!! cold beer and an overall great time. finally they remodeled the bathrooms!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    8
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Have eaten at Olver's a couple of times the most recent being Jan 2012. On this last trip there my wife and stopped in because of the experience we had there our last visit. We ate in the bar upstairs this time. Had the french Onion soup and a union jack burger, which is a burger on an english muffin, and both were great. service was fine. Nice stop anytime of year, but nice after a few hours of eagle watching along the Connecticut river.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Okay pub food; convenient to the Essex steam train”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My family went here after touring on the Essex Steam Train and Riverboat tours. The food here is standard bar food- wings, burgers, sandwiches, salads, nachos, etc. Food was good, atmosphere a little sad. Nothing special but if you need to grab a quick bite before or after the train with the kids it will suffice. A bit pricey for what it is, though.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

our family had gone to Essex to take our children on a train ride and Olivers was reccommeded to us. We loved it! Great pub fare, child friendly, resonabley priced. We would definately reccommend it to anybody.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Poor service, tables left uncleared for over an hour, large screen projection TV from the 80's, no sense of pride, no enthusiasm or excitement on a Friday night.

What a dud!

Dull menu but the burgers were not bad.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's Taverne also viewed

 

Been to Oliver's Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Taverne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.