We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and delightful place to rest your head.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Griswold Inn to your Saves list
Griswold Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Main Street, Essex, CT 06426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Charming and delightful place to rest your head.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

My husband and I were traveling through New England and stayed at the Griswold Inn for one night. When we arrived, although it was very busy, Moira greeted us warmly and made us feel very welcome. Our room was small, but very clean and lovely. We thought the Inn was amazing and found ourselves wandering around, looking at the wonderful nautical paintings and admiring the astonishing craftsmanship of the furnishings.
If you're looking for a place with a lot of history that will make you feel like you're stepping back in time... stay at the Griswold. Yes, the floors squeak, but older floors do that. No, you don't have a TV, but a walk around Essex is better than any rerun of Seinfeld. This is NOT a modern hotel and if that's what you want, look someplace else. If you're looking for a quaint hotel that is steeped in history with a friendly, fun staff: stay at the "Gris". You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    60
    23
    15
    11
See reviews for
26
113
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland, me
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed at the Griswold Inn over the Thanksgiving Holiday. My room was in the Hayden House next door to the main Inn. I specificially requested a quiet room as I was there for several nites. Wed and Thursday evenings were quiet and lovely; however; the showers from the various rooms in the house; sounded like a freight train as the water moved thru the pipes; and if you were trying to sleep in; FORGET IT. Friday after Thanksgiving... at 10: 30 at night; I had to request my room be changed because the band was EXCESSIVELY LOUD. In addition; an obnoxious couple were watching the one and only TV in the living room of this little separate house I was staying in (just below my room) and screaming at one another. The Inn did move me to a room across the street right above their store. It was much quieter; however; when I returned to my room after an early morning walk; the store below the room had opened and you could hear the workers climbing up and down the stairs as well as the music piping into the store. If you want peace and quiet; would suggest a work week stay; but definitely NOT over a weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

After reading many reviews and promotional info, we were expecting a warm, cozy experience. Instead we had a warm, cozy room. At check-in, the young man didn't even bother to get up out of his chair; he simply calculated the total, handed us the keys, gave a quick rundown of rules (e.g., Guests park across the street. On-site parking is reserved for workers), handed us keys and a folder and sent us on our way. When we came down for breakfast the next morning and asked where breakfast was, the morning clerk likewise remained glued in his chair, pointed around the corner and stated, "Around there." And that general attitude prevailed until the very end when my father sought assistance with his flight check-in.

Overall, the room was comfortable and quiet. But as far as the entire experience, it was nothing more. The hospitality was most definitely lacking and we would have done better at any national chain. The Griswold seems to be staffed by college-aged people that lack the skills, training, and/or desire to focus on the guests and hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed here as part of a wedding party. Although the room was beautiful and historic, it lacked the ammenities we need to truly enjoy our stay. There was no in-room refrigerator, microwave or internet. The noise from the band was excessive. This was definitely not a peaceful part of our week. We preferred the lesser hotel chain in Old Saybrook to meet our needs. This was definitely not worth the high price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

My wife and I put together a last-minute excursion and chose Essex, Connecticut for a 1 day stay. The town is beautiful and very charming. We chose The Griswold Inn based upon its location, as well as the reviews on here. We arrived early and had a wonderful lunch on their outdoor patio. Afterwards, we went to our room in the main building. It was very charming and had alot of character--exactly what we expected after looking at the town and the website. When we went down to go walk around we were pleasantly asked if we would like to check out another, bigger room. We did, and we promptly moved to that one (at no additional charge!). The staff at The Griswold Inn were ALL so pleasant and friendly and very, very helpful! We even met Geoff, one of the owners ,who spent time chatting with us at the great wine bar in the Inn.

All in all, we would highly recommend this Inn, and we would not hesitate to return when we travel through the area again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed in a roomon the 2nd floor directly over the reception area and slightly forward of the downstairs bar & restaurant. Entry to the reception area, the bar, and the dining room are through a first floor door which is almost directly under the room. A staircase leads from this door to rooms on the 2nd & 3rd floors as well. The door banged open & shut well into the night. The 12" floor boards squeaked and thumped every time someone climbed the stairs or took a step in the room above us. It is no an exaggeration to say that the combined noise was excessive. OK, that's part of staying in an old historic building. It's all part of the charm. Bad loud music is not! There is no excuse for subjecting guests paying $200.00 a night for a room to extremely loud & bad rock music. The music from the bar below was so loud that it sounded as if the band was playing at the foot of my bed. Charm, quaintness and historical significance fade in the light of such discomfort. and aggravation. We have had very positive experiences at other historic inns. I kept asking myself, "what is the Inn's attitude toward it's guests?" Oh!, I get it. The tourists are coming! The tourists are coming!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Not only is this B & B beautiful, but the staff go out of their way to make you comfortable. Husband and I had a room that was not cooling off well, they moved us without question.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Address: 36 Main Street, Essex, CT 06426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griswold Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.