We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay in a New England Village Inn Filled With History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Griswold Inn to your Saves list
Griswold Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Main Street, Essex, CT 06426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Lovely Stay in a New England Village Inn Filled With History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed at "The Gris" compliments of the management after an unfortunate experience in July 2008. We were completely satified this time with the warm welcome, the spacious, comfortable accommodations, the friendly staff, and the complimentary continental breakfast (fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, a variety of cereals, juice, coffee, teas) served in one of the inn's cozy, rustic dining areas. Essex, a stone's throw from the shoreline, is a wonderful town for strolling and photography. We would not hesitate to recommend The Griswold Inn for a weekend stay or a longer break in this picturesque area of Connecticut.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    54
    23
    15
    10
See reviews for
23
106
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stopped here for one night and we were looking for a reasonable place to stay and this was it. It is very bare bones, no television in the room-we watched it in the common area. The shower pressure is unbelievable! The room was very clean but bed a little hard. The greatest asset is the bar, it comes alive with music and is very quaint.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Very clean room, but very basic. We stayed in the annex. Given that the building it old, the floor is not level and our bed tilted backwards. No TVs in the rooms, no hair dryer, no bathtub (shower only), basicaly, no frills. The blanket on the bed needed to be thrown out, it was all pilly and looked to be as old as the building itself. Bedding was poor qualities. The mattress and pillow were bad, definitely bring your own pillow if you go. Plus, the walls were very thin and we heard every noise both inside and outside. There was a sing along going on in the tavern next door and it was very loud in our room until after midnight when it stopped. Overall, yes it was clean and quaint, but not comfortable. The food at the restaurant was good, and the atmostphere in the tavern was cozy, we would have dinner there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

For several years we enjoyed dining with friends at the Griswold Inn during the Christmas season because their holiday food and ambience was always so enjoyable. Our visit this past weekend was anything but. The holiday singers were infrequently singing in our dining room and only came to our table one time. Instead we had to listen to a band in the bar that played too loudly for the building size and not even holiday music.

When it was time to be seated we were brought to the worst located table in the dining room next to the prep station when there were many other empty tables in the same room away from the congestion. All the empty tables should have been a clue to us that something was wrong. In past years every table was always filled. We asked to be seated elswhere.

Both men ordered a B & B drink to be told the inn no longer carries B & B! We never encountered a bar that did not carry B & B. They also no longer serve the pre-dinner relish tray. The candle on our table was unlit yet all the other tables' candles were lit. We had to exchange candles ourselves with an empty table. Fortunately the meal was very good although we did not order as many courses because the inn had increased their prices considerably and, as we found out, reduced their serving portions. Our server was pleasant and attentive. The coffee was only luke warm. Our bill for 4 people with tip came to $220 for 2 drinks, 1appetizer, 2 soups, 4 entrees & 4 coffees. When we left, one person in our party mentioned to the man at the front desk that there certainly were many changes in the restaurant to which the man replied "Yeah" and then continued with his Google search on the PC. He could not even take the time to talk with us.

Our group decided that the restaurant had gone down hill significantly and we will not be returning.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Nice, old, characterful building, rooms vary in quality and size. Ours was on the small size, but clean and with a fairly basic bathroom.

The restaurant and bar again is full of character and very quaint with a good atmosphere.

The Griswold is a great place to stay for a night or two if your passing through.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Griswold for a long Columbus day weekend. We live in NYC, and needed to get away for some relaxation. Essex is a lovely town, albeit a little too small/quiet for our taste (I don't think we could stay for longer than a day or two -there's not much to do). The Griswold was a little run down, e.g. water stains on the wall, peeling wallpaper, chipping paint. We stayed in a cheaper room, it was tiny and had a little bit of a funky smell. Though I don't think it should matter how much we paid, the hotel didn't live up to its reviews.
The newly renovated wine bar is very nice, it had a good selection of wines and yummy food. The main restaurant was very expensive, we ate at the Black Seal down the street (it had okay food but was the only other restaurant in town). We came back to the Griswold to listen to the live music. That was a very weird experience, the band was pretty bad, and played a really weird mix of music ( Tiffany's "I Think We're Alone Now" and Western yee-haw music). When we asked about the lounge for the hotels guests to watch TV or read, the man at the front desk told us that it had been "taken over" by other people.
All in all the experience was a little strange, we felt like we were the youngest people in the town (besides the teenagers). My husband is 28 and I'm 25, we we were constantly surrounded by older couples.
I don't think I would stay at the hotel again, I would try to find a town with more things to do and a wider selection of hotels and restaurants.

  • Liked — Cute town, good food at the Wine Bar
  • Disliked — Overpriced restaurant, rundown/tiny room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We were helping my sister in law move from NYC to Boston and needed somewhere to stay overnight in between with a 14 foot bright yellow truck.

We hadn't booked and luckily we could all be accommodated in a two-storey free-standing suite across the road from the main inn. The room was beautiful and a bargain at $150 for the night with breakfast. We ate at the Inn, although the food wasn't very exciting (especially after dinner at Nobu the night before!).

Essex is a beautiful town to wander around. The Inn is undergoing exterior rennovations at the moment (quite a lot of exterior scafolding) and workmen started before 8am on Monday - this may impact your enjoyment staying in the main building.

P.S. I can't stand before reviewing properties when they haven't stayed there recently. I find the idea of a pet-friendly hotel repulsive anyway.

  • Liked — Character
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Address: 36 Main Street, Essex, CT 06426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griswold Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.