We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Inn in beautiful Essex CT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griswold Inn

Save Saved
You added Griswold Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Griswold Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Main Street, Essex, CT 06426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Malverne,New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Historic Inn in beautiful Essex CT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Have had many dinners and lunches here! First time staying overnight. Very satisfied.Room was across the street. Lovely surroundings and very clean. For full experience would recommend staying in Main House. Make sure to try Lobster Roll at lunch or dinner!

Room Tip: Stay in main house in case of inclement weather! They do not have pool or fitness center. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    52
    20
    13
    9
See reviews for
21
101
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia PA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was the second year in a row that we stopped at the Griswold Inn and it did not disappoint. Essex is a cute little piece of CT history and the Inn is a central Player in the history of the town. this time, we opted to stay in the annex adjacent to the Inn and the checkin person upgraded us to a mini-suite, complete with a comfy if somewhat time-worn sofa. No TV in the room though I believe there may have been one elsewhere. A continental breakfast is included in the room rate. We ate supper in the Tavern at the Inn, which pours excellent cocktails and offers basic pub food. The Inn has a more formal dining room as well. Parking is on nearby streets. The Inn seems to be very popular with the locals and given the chance, we'll join them there again.




Art

Room Tip: Ask for room 11 in the Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

When you first approach it's really a little difficult to figure out exactly where to go to check in, as the front desk area seems to double also for the restaurant......

But, while I was NOT pleased at all with the wait staff in the restaurant, I can state that the front desk staff was very accommodating, warm and gregarious.

The rooms larger than I expected, but again, finding the room was a little bit confusing..... but it was large, with a sitting area, a very comfortable, but small bed, and an okay bathroom.

Something that I felt was incredibly tacky, and on some levels insulting to guest is something that I have only seen done at hole in the wall hotels...... all of the art work on the walls is actually screwed down to the wall through the front of the frames as though they are afraid that the guest are going to abscond with it! This is an incredibly tacky move on the part of the Inn..... and something that they should change to show some level of class as an establishment...

But other than the restaurant wait staff and the tacky screwed down things, overall the experience was fine. Oh, and as another traveler noted, an upgrade to hot breakfast items would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We recently stayed in a delux room across the road from the main section of the Griswold inn. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable although the sheets are a little to thin and didn't feel like 100% cotton. They made me itch a little . Other than that I really enjoyed our stay in this lovely little town. The food at the Griswold was a very pleasant surprise! We really enjoyed our dinner, and the atmosphere was great. We will most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We loved the town and the hotel.. Always something going on. Listening to jazz music while eating lunch and good entertainment in the evening.. We were there in the run up to halloween and all the shops had built scarecrows representing their businesses, very quaint and very american..
Our only complaint was our room was tiny and extremely hot. No window to speak of.. Hotel was full as a wedding in the town, so no chance of changing. Would love to return one day, but would have to insist on a bigger room as the one we had was quite unbearable!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Griswold Inn is the oldest running Inn in the U.S. dating from 1776. The rooms are completely renovated and very clean. It is fascinating to stay at this hotel and take in the ambiance and feeling of a place that's been around so long. What's also great is their pub which has live entertainment almost every night. Particularly on Friday's when the have a band that plays great old rock music that you can sing (and dance) along to. The location is also a plus in that it is down the block from the water. You get a very peaceful feeling walking down to the dock. The room rate per night is not cheap, but this is definitely something to experience at least once.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Expensive for what it is as it's the only game in this sleepy town.

Perfect place to stay if you want to be kept awake by banjo or oldies music from the bar, slamming doors from the coffee shop, or straining window air conditioners that sound like laboring airplanes.

Be aware that king beds are actually queen-sized. Do not expect your room to be thoroughly cleaned if you are staying multiple days.

Similarly, do not expect offers of assistance or smiles from most of the staff - the pleasant Irish (?) woman at the front desk is the exception. Want ice? Get it yourself at the bar. Suggestions of where to dine? Good luck with that. This attitude extends to most - but not all - of the Town's shopkeepers as well.

Note that the continental breakfast is extremely limited considering what the room costs. Included are stale bagels, cereal, reasonably tasty muffins, coffee, and the saddest fruit salad I've seen since summer camp.

Having stayed at at least 50 B&Bs and inns over the years, I understand classic and quaint. There's a difference between antique and tired - this place is certainly listing towards the latter.

Room Tip: Stay away from anything near/over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Address: 36 Main Street, Essex, CT 06426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, the Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning nouvelle cuisine wine bar, and a taproom considered by some to be" the most handsome barroom in America", the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come, make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griswold Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.