We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria da Lepri

Trattoria da Lepri
89 West Rd, Ste 4, Ellington, CT 06029
860-875-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Ellington
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Coventry, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Do not let the fact that this small little place is in a strip mall hinder you from trying this place out. This is some of the best italian food I ever ate. Better than most of the places I have been to in NY, and on the same level as Bricco in Glastonbury, which I put as my gold standard. The prices were very reasonable and the food was out of this world. That along with the fact that the wine list is extensive and reasoanbly price and the in-house home made desserts were to die for. I can't say enough about this place...if you try it, you will not be dissapointed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Who would of thought.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have tried several times to have dinner at this establishment but they have been booked each time we called. So we tried again, on Halloween nite. And this time they were able to accomodate us. I am quite familar with Ellington and couldn't place this restaurant. When I asked where it was, I still had difficulty placing it's location. Who would of thought this GEM of a restaurant would be tucked behind another restaurant across from a farm. I have driven by this location MANY MANY times and never knew it existed.
This restaurant is AMAZING on so many levels. The service is terrific, and the food is delicious.The bacon potato soup was creamy and very tasty, The Calamari salad was like no other. The diver scallops were scrumptious. We were told the menu changes constantly and it is appearant the chef takes pride in his creations. The price reflects the quality and even though some might think the meals are pricey, I assure you each bite is well worth the expense.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went there as party of 5 on a Friday evening. Very quaint restaurant in a non-descript mini-strip mall. All of the food was excellent. Calimari for appetizer was the best I've ever had. Between us we had 4 different entrees and cleaned our plates. For dessert we had fried tiramisu ice cream with a churro. I am a sucker for churros. The fried ice cream was outstanding. Lisa our server was very friendly and attentive. Only minor gripe is that they have a giant chalkboard with the menu on it but it is not updated. I wanted the hangar steak that was on the chalkboard but the board hadn't been updated in a month she said. How long would it take? That was a minor issue but the restaurant is generally outstanding.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is our second time eating here in 1 month. This is in a strip mall & doesn't look very appealing from the outside. Inside the ambiance is better. Big wooden bar & sectioned off dining space with a back room. The host is the owners Father, very friendly & personable. Waitstaff, very friendly & helpful. My husband wanted a wheat beer but they don't carry any. The Pinot Noir was good. Bread is good, fresh & comes with a bean dip, yummy garlic olive oil, or butter. Green salad was good, but very small. Fried calamari one of their popular dishes was good. We tried the short ribs, very good, the shrimp & butternut tortellini, also good, but too sweet. I felt I was eating a dessert, wish it had more spice & less sugar, also a meat Bolognese which was also good. There aren't very many good restaurants in this neighborhood so we were delighted to find this place & look forward to returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients, attentive service and talented chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This the new favorite for my wife and I, when we are looking for a place for a romantic dinner. The chef will usually come out and ask you how the food was, and he seems to have a lot of regulars. Both the Italian and the French menus are first rate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria da Lepri also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria da Lepri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria da Lepri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.