We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please - Please listen to all the negative reviews” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Bridge Street, East Windsor, CT 06088   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Windsor
San Antonio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Please - Please listen to all the negative reviews”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have never had such a bad room. Bed bugs as soon as I got in felt them and I have never felt them before. Then I read from others that they had them. THE SMELL! Awful. I am here now thinking of leaving and staying in my car. Never done that before. Thankfully I only paid $38. No wonder.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    30
    13
    41
See reviews for
30
29
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I had an exceptional time at the Clarion. Morgan who works the front desk was very helpful, friendly, and accomodating. Breakfast was nice and rooms were clean and well-maintained. I would recommend this hotel too anyone staying in the Hartford suburbs. Will repeat.

Room Tip: ask front desk what type of room you are interested in. They also have suites on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Room and hall way smells from years of smoking. Place needs a complete renovation. Rugs dirty, the wallpaper in the bathroom of the room we stayed in was filthy. Until they clean this place up find some place else to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I arrived at the hotel about 11:45pm on September 6th. I checked out 20-minutes later. I was very tired and just wanted to get a good night's sleep in a clean and comfortable place. To begin, the hotel clerk had the incorrect credit card information scanned to my account which needed to be remedied immediately. He gave me my room assignment, which to my surprise was already inhabited by another party. The 2nd room I was given was on the 2nd floor. When going to this room, I felt like I was walking down a hallway fit for a Stephen King movie - dark, dismal, and the feeling that I wasn't alone. When I got into my room, I quickly realized that I was NOT alone. There was mold/mildew growing on the already sagging ceiling of the room and there were bugs in the bed. I refused to stay there and requested a refund. They tried to upgrade me to a suite, but I refused. The hotel has bed bugs!! Another traveler was checking in as I was checking out. I told her to check her bed. Moments later, she was on her way out too - Bed Bugs. The Clarion Inn is a filthy place! Avoid it at all costs!!

Note: This hotel was booked through a bidding website, and I contacted them immediately about my experience. The hotel agreed to refund my money.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!! Spend the little extra to stay at a decent and clean hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Checked in at midnight thursday, september 6, 2012 only to discover bugs in my sheets and visible mold in the bathroom and on the ceiling. Manager offered to move me to a suite, but that room was also filthy and equally moldy. Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had a reservation for two nights but only stayed one. I would not have stayed one if it hadn't been so late and I was so tired. This place is a disgustingly dirty pit!! It is so dirty that I wouldn't use the shower. Faucets were corroded and dirty and hair from previous person in tub. All surfaces in the room were dirty. Mirror had splatters that appeared to be from who knows what. The place smelled of cigarette smoke which the perfumey spray couldn't mask. Carpets were soiled and needed cleaning and vacuuming. An absolutely filthy place which I'm surprised is able to keep the Clarion name. I sent an email to Choice hotels regarding the deplorable condition of the place and they responded with an auto email that said they would respond to me in 72 hours. It has now been six days and I haven't heard another word. By the way, I got a room the next morning at the Marriott Courtyard nearby for only $18.00 more and had a very comfortable and clean room.

Room Tip: Stay away from this filthy place. The photos don't show the filth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I got trapped in Hartford when storms popped up and flights out were delayed and cancelled. Since there was a "chance" for a while I could get out, I did not bail out and get a hotel. Unfortunately, when I determined that I'd have to spend the night, my travel agency told me there were 2 choices, Clarion and I think Econolodge.
I told her that since I was going to get into a cab and go 5 miles to the hotel, I'd rather go 10 more for a better hotel. Stupidly, I let her talk me into the Clarion by saying it was a 3 star hotel and that Clarion properties had improved over the past few years. Dumb me.
It was pretty scary driving up in the shuttle (if I'd have been in a rental or a cab, I'd have done a U turn). Old and run down. The guy at the desk was helpful, but my stomach dropped when he said "sorry, you're on the second floor. We don't have an elevator". I can't imagine how many people at an AIRPORT motel have had to slog insanely heavy bags up those steps. Luckily, I was travelling light.
The hallway to the room smelled like an ash tray but fortunately, the room smelled ok. The room itself was rough, but I will say that the bed was clean and comfortable, and other than stains on the carpet, it was relatively clean for it's age. The wifi worked pretty good, which was shocking.
So, overall, it could have been worse, but it was bad enough.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 161 Bridge Street, East Windsor, CT 06088
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > East Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, full-service hotel conveniently located between Hartford, CT and Springfield, MA. Minutes away from Bradley International Airport. Free WIFI, Airport Shuttle, Deluxe Continental Breakfast & choice privileges rewards program.On site restaurant and Bar . Easy on/off I-91 Exit 45 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion East Windsor
Best Western East Windsor
East Windsor Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.