We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot's of choices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flanders Fish Market & Restaurant

Flanders Fish Market & Restaurant
22 Chesterfield Road, East Lyme, CT 06333
860 739 8866
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in East Lyme
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Old Saybrook, CT
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Lot's of choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I can't believe it's taken me 8 years to finally stop into Flanders Fish since I live so close. But I'm glad I did. I should have known that any restaurant attached to a fish market is guaranteed to have fresh fish, especially when they've been in business for 30 years.

The interior is a bit plain and I didn't care for the lighting. The side salads were quite small, but the food itself was very good. My wife had broiled bay scallops (something we rarely see anymore) and I had their lobster pot pie, reported to be one of Rachel Ray's favorites. It was very good, filled with chunks of lobster, potatoes, peas, celery & zucchini. Our waitress, Tasha, was superb. We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    26
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somers, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Good for relaxed lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have been to Flanders Fish Market several times while in town on business. Getting there a little later in the afternoon will provide for a quiet environment. The food always has been fresh and well prepared. I am not the biggest fish fan but always walk away enjoying the meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Young man serving us was quite knowledgeable of his foods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Prices were decent. Food looked really fresh. Good value for the money. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we just wanted to take out purchases home for consumption. They did a good job of preparing our food for our 6- hr drive home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good, many choices to pick from.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had the dinner order of steamers, all 2 pounds of it (never enough for me!), they were good, but nothing special, although expensive at $27, IMO. My friend had broiled flounder which was very salty, and came with 1 side. They charge $1 for cole slaw and $2 for a 2nd side dish. Atmosphere is nice, restaurant is clean.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upperco, Maryland
2 reviews
“Soggy Cod, 1 Side, Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went to Flanders Fish Market for the first time with the family. Cod was soggy. Stuffed Flounder was mediocre. Entrees only came with one side. Expensive. Disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flanders Fish Market & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Flanders Fish Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flanders Fish Market & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.