We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ribs around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rib House

Rib House
16 Main St, East Haven, CT 06512
(203) 468-6695
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 60 Restaurants in East Haven
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Madison, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best ribs around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Anyone who is a fan of ribs should go here. Their other food is mediocre, but their ribs are easily the best around. Prices are a little high, but worth it. Good service and deals during football Sunday's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new haven, ct
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ribs only!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Been eating at this restaurant for years and certainly enjoyed the ribs but someone must have mixed some fish into the coleslaw because it tasted disgusting. Also, the night we were there the server was less than attentive. I'm hoping it was just a bad day. Will give it one more try!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven Ct.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eat ribs here, you will go nowhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have eaten ribs at many places in the New England area. No one can compare to this restaurant. I have family members that come up regularly from NY to eat here. Have them with a healthy dose of bbq sauce or lightly done, your choice. You can eat also with bbq chicken or shrimp. They also have rotisserie chicken. What ever combination you select you will not go wrong.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best Stuffed Shrimp - Really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Rib House's shrimp, fried, bbq or stuffed, beat many seafood restaurants. The ribs are good, but we head directly for the shrimp. My husband had the surf and turf special, with baked stuffed shrimp and a Denver steak. The beef was cooked perfectly to his specifications. I requested and received extra stuffed shrimp and no steak without a problem. The stuffing is remarkable. It's rich and buttery, but light. If the surf and turf isn't available, we order either the fried shrimp, which is light and non-greasy, or the bbq shrimp which is cooked perfectly every time. Dinners are usually served with two sides, and I'm very fond of the cole slaw, with its kick of vinegar. The onion ring loaf, whole or half order, is also a winner. The service is always good, even when the restaurant's busy. If there are no tables in the dining room, consider the bar, although it can get pretty noisy. The food's worth it.

The restaurant also does a brisk take-out business and caters parties.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east haven
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best ribs around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My 8 year old loves ribs and the rib house is an awesome place to get them!! The chicken is also a favorite. Good food and awesome service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rib House also viewed

 

Been to Rib House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rib House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.