We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Partly good, partly not...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Vita Gustosa

La Vita Gustosa
9 Main St, East Haddam, CT 06423
(860) 873-8999
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brookhaven
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Partly good, partly not...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ummm, had to think about this one for a while. The service was very friendly, the location so convenient to Goodspeed Opera House--but problems, too. Our calamari appetizer was tasty and crunchy, as it should be. Salad was fresh. Our entrees were problematic, however. My steak lost flavor from the char on it--not ordered that way! The lobster meat on top was supposed to be served in a garlic butter sauce--but was incredibly dried out and ruined. My husband's fish was acceptable. Our dessert of peanut butter pie was generously portioned and very yummy!
So, the dinner was definitely hit or miss--but I believe it cam be easily improved. The main dining room could use some sprucing. The entrees should not be served after a prolonged time under the heat lamp, or without the sauce expected. Get larger glasses for the ice water (but the water bottle on the table was a nice touch). Take advantage of your great location and friendly staff. We wish you the best!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    20
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, CT
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Family Owned Italian Gem of a Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were in East Haddam for our 41st Anniversary on October 20th. Our original choice for dinner was at a acclaimed restaurant in Chester but when we got there the menu was too different for us. We then stopped at Gelston House at 8pm, it was open but no one was eating then so we left. Across the street we noticed La vista Gustosa. As we approached the restaurant several folks were leaving. We asked them about the food and they raved over it so we went in. I had the linguini with clams which was 10 nice size clams in the shell in a delicious white wine sauce. It was absolutely wonderful. Nice portion and it also comes in a red sauce. My wife had the chicken carciofi which was sauteed with fresh artichokes, garlic and mushrooms in a butter wine sauce. She found it to be awesome. You can add a salad to your meal for $1.99 but we did not. They give you homemade focaccia bread with olives and it was so tasty we had seconds. For dessert we shared a large piece of chocolate fudge cake. I have never had better. I want another piece now !!!! Our waitress was a gem. She was so sweet, caring and helpful. We asked her to take a picture of us with our camera and she was delighted to. She noticed I drank a lot of water and came back several times to refill it. Our anniversary experience at this restaurant was wonderful. If we ever return to East Haddam again, we will definitely eat here again. Thanks La Vita for helping makie our Anniversary special. Dennis and Joan W.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Time after time we visit La Vita and we are never disappointed!! Best bar tenders in the area. Had the rib special last week hope they put it on the menu permanently

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

There pizza is the BEST!!! We compare all others to it. It has a "puffy" crust my husband likes and lots of toppings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yumyumyum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Its big yet still feels cozy. The service and food is consistently good. They start you off with bread and olives, which are delicious. The calamari (rhode-island style) is soo good..a meal in itself, I also love their pizza! Its thin crust and rectangular...with good toppings (EXCEPT the chicken...its breaded!) We like to design our own...like sausage and peppers. The italian dishes look good, but I just go for the pie! There is usually a band on weekends so that can be fun...also good stop if you're going to the opera house next door. I'm a local, and its one of my favorite dinner spots in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vita Gustosa also viewed

 
East Haddam, CT
 

Been to La Vita Gustosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vita Gustosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.