We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverwind Inn

Save Saved
You added The Riverwind Inn to your Saves list
The Riverwind Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverwind Inn
209 Main Street, Deep River, CT 06417   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Deep River B&B and Inns
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Deep River is a welcome relief from the somewhat hectic Connecticut shore and Riverwinds Inn is the perfect base to explore the area. The house is attractive and comfortable and the innkeepers are most hospitable. You arrive as customers and leave as friends. There is a definite separation between guest and host areas so you don't ever feel that you are intruding on their space. There are rooms in both the older and newer sections of the house but all are comfortable and well appointed. Don't even think about staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms in older section of the house are much smaller than the newer ones but are cozy and charming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Riverwind Inn. Elaine and Leo were so attentive, wonderful conversationalists, and have created a picture perfect haven away from the realities of hectic city life. Breakfast was delicious, and the room immaculate, and the bed was comfy! We had a wonderful weekend wedding we were attending at nearby Old Lyme, and loved "coming home" to a cozy, historic retreat. Very serene, and memorable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Riverwind Inn. Everything was perfectly clean, beautifully decorated. The innkeepers attention to detail is so sweet - the whole place even smells lovely.

Breakfast was delicious, the bed was comfortable. We truly enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in the Moonlight Suite, and our stay was amazing. Fabulous LARGE suite with a Jacuzzi. The room was impeccably clean and very cozy. Breakfast was to die for, and our innkeepers very kind and attentive!
Peaceful and relaxing~ we loved it!! THANK YOU Elaine and Leo!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the lovely Riverwind Inn 3 times a year for several years since we have subscription tickets to the nearby Goodspeed Theater. We truly look forward to seeing Elaine and Leo each time because they are such warm, welcoming people and wonderful hosts. We really admire their dedication to making their guests feel comfortable and happy in their homey inn with its wonderful fragrance of spices and wood fires. We have a favorite room which by now feels like a “second home!” Elaine always prepares a delicious breakfast served in the cozy, country breakfast room as Leo remembers our favorite morning beverages. They offer good suggestions for places to dine or someplace special to visit and it is fun to have a discussion about the latest show at the Goodspeed or where we went to dinner. It is a treat to find such a “special” inn and so we are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

We found the perfect place to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary! From the minute we pulled into the driveway and were greeted by the owners, Elaine and Leo, we knew we made the right choice. They both made us feel right at home and made great suggestions for dining out and day trips. Our room was amazing and breakfast this morning was beautifully presented and delicious! We loved it so much that we are planning to return in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

What a quintessential New England experience we had at the Riverwind Inn. Our room was cozy, elegant and sparkling clean. The hosts greeted us at 3 in the morning (olur plane was late) and even carried our luggage. We awakened to Elaine's delectable french toast, oven baked with tasty apple filling (recipe please). The setting in Deep River Connecticut affords the visitor a chance to see a small New England village near the Connecticut River and close to the Goodspeed Opera House. We had such a great time! The best part of our journey was staying at this beautiful, historic inn. We LOVED getting to know the hosts, Elaine and Leo. After a long flight from the West Coast, we were welcomed and felt right at home. Stay here! Elaine and Leo are the best hosts we have ever known. You will just love your visit.

Room Tip: We got a private tour of the inn and decided that all the rooms are charming. This place is very Ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Riverwind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverwind Inn

Address: 209 Main Street, Deep River, CT 06417
Location: United States > Connecticut > Deep River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deep River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the CT River Valley, between Essex & Chester, this cozy colonial B&B offers 8 comfortable rooms,all with private baths. Country breakfast included, free WI-FI, A/C. Voted Yankee Magazine Editors' Choice for 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Riverwind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Deep River
Deep River Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverwind Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.