We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners in wrong business” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverwind Inn

Save Saved
You added The Riverwind Inn to your Saves list
The Riverwind Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverwind Inn
209 Main Street, Deep River, CT 06417   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Deep River B&B and Inns
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Owners in wrong business”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Like a recent reviewer hereunder, our experience at the Riverwind Inn was disappointingly poor. As seasoned travellers we chose to stay in B&Bs across New England on our first ever trip there so that we could experience warm hospitality, have hearty breakfasts and get unique insights into each area. The Riverwind was to be our last stop after four wonderful stays elsewhere.
Upon arrival after a long journey we were greeted rather coolly by the owners and I was immediately asked for my credit card. No effort was made to make us feel at home so we headed to our room. Breakfast both days was chef's choice and a spartan affair. On the second morning we were distinctly hurried along as our table started to be cleared before we had finished. Any supposed interest in our sightseeing plans was cursory and forced. All in all the owners, Elaine and Leo, are clearly in the B&B business to make money only and genuine hospitality has been waylaid. The saving grace of the inn is the Ralph Lauren-esque interior which is beautiful, but by no means makes up for the poor hosts. Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwindinn, Owner at The Riverwind Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are sorry that "sineadj81" had a disappointing experience at our Inn. In response to his comments, I find that taking care of credit card payments upon arrival frees me from checking guests out during the breakfast time, where I need to focus on my other guest's needs. I do not understand which inn he was staying at since we do not have "Ralph Lauren-esque" decor. We are a colonial Inn and have quilts and country decor. Maybe he is confusing us with another inn. Besides that, if others read our other rave reviews, you can tell that this is not the same inn. Upon arrival of all guests, we talk to them about their travels, inform them about our breakfast and coffee times, ask if they need any dietary restrictions, ask them if they need help with dinner plans, and also help them with area attractions, provide maps, etc. All this usually before they are shown their room, which we also show them personally and point out areas of the inn for their comfort. Again, we are sorry that they had a bad experience and hope their trip back to Germany was smooth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We are sisters and cousins. We stayed the October SNOW weekend. The hosts were informative, attentive and very kind. We had 2 rooms across the hall from each other on the 2nd floor. It was perfect...and there is a sitting room right near our rooms with a fireplace! This was perfect given we were "snowed in" on Saturday night. The rooms are clean, including the bathrooms. The beds were comfortable as was the room temperature. We had wine glasses in our rooms, chocolates, and even a corkscrew. Breakfast was delicious and we had a nice table for the 5 of us. The first floor has another sitting area with a fireplace. I think Fall is the perfect time to enjoy an escape weekend. We did get to Essex during Saturday afternoon, and that was a quaint town with shops. Try lunch at The Griswald Inn.
We will definitely come back! Relaxing and you felt at home.

Room Tip: Second floor....Champagne & Roses and Quilt rooms. The best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Having seen the good reviews we were looking forward to staying here but the experience turned out to be disappointing. We arrived on a hot day and had to pay the minute we walked in the door and were not offered even a glass of water. Our room was beautifully decorated but very small and even smaller with our suitcases on the floor as there was nowhere else to put them. The heat of the day continued into the night but the air conditioner could not be left on as it was very noisy (a common problem we have found, sadly) so we turned it off and left the windows open hoping for some fresh cooler air. Alas, the traffic started up at 6am so that was the end of our sleep.
Breakfast was very elegantly presented but it was 'chef's choice' and no substitutes as well as being fairly meagre.
Overall, it was not the pleasant relaxing stay we had hoped for, and would not recommend this b&b nor stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back in the winter would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwindinn, Owner at The Riverwind Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are very concerned that we got our first disappointing review from our guest from Australia. In our defense, all our rooms have full descriptions and prices on our website. This particular guest picked this room himself, I think because it was one of our lower priced rooms. The room he chose was in the 1854 section of the house and in the front of the house. There was an unusual heat wave that week and we tried our best to make all our guests comfortable. We offer free bottled water available to all guests at anytime. in the common refrigerator. My breakfasts are usually three courses and I do not understand how he thought it was meager, most B&B's offer chef's choice. Again, I am disturbed that he did not agree with our other outstanding reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This part of the Connecticut River Valley is gorgeous and hotels/inns price up accordingly. We chose the Riverwind because it offers rooms in the $125-$150 range; a good price for the area. While not smack dab in the middle of historic Essex or next to a landmark, the Riverwind is within 5-6 miles of such destinations and its laid-back atmosphere and comfy rooms more than make up for its location in the relatively humble (i.e., non-touristy) town of Deep River. The rooms offer lots of bed configurations and are decorated, but not oppressively so, in 18th and 19th-century styles. Each room has been furnished with an eye toward the needs of guests to sprawl out your belongings, a concept that carries over into some of the most generous common room spaces I've ever seen in an inn. Our hosts consulted on our breakfast wishes the preceding day; after some chit-chat, they also gauged our interests and offered a few off-beat suggestions for rambling. The overall atmosphere winds up as super easy-going. Finally, I'll say that we really like hosts who can sense when you want to talk and when you are ready to be left alone.

Room Tip: The Inn is located on Main Street, which is a heavily-used county route. This is not a problem if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed overnight at this delightful Inn during a motoring holiday of Connecticut and surrounding states in June this year. Our room was furnished in a most charming and tasteful way and the beds were very comfortable. The guest lounge room was suitably furnished with relaxing lounges, most welcome after a day's driving. The innkeepers, Elaine and Leo, were most hospitable and friendly with ready advice on places to visit and restaurants for the evening meal. Elaine cooked a most delicious breakfast, an excellent start to another day's sightseeing. We would thoroughly recommend this Inn located in a pleasant and quiet town within easy reach of many attractions and the Connecticut coast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This is an absolutely charming, spotlessly clean "home". There are 8 unique rooms with their own themes. We stayed in "Hearts & Flowers". Elaine and Leo make you feel like you are guests in their home (which in a sense you are) and you are welcome to wander around, and make yourself at home in the many common areas and beautiful yard. They serve you breakfast as tho you were in a gourmet restaurant and the presentation is exactly that. It is quiet, private and totally relaxing. Should we find ourselves in the area again, that is exactly where we will stay. Our sincere thanks to Elaine and Leo for their hospitality!

Room Tip: When looking on line, just make sure you read the explanations so you end up with the bed size you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed at The Riverwind Inn earlier this month. Elaine and Leo greeted us at the door with a smile. They were quick to commence with the practical minutia, which was somewhat stilted and awkward. They showed us to our room and gave us space, which we appreciated. Leo was helpful in recommending directions and local restaurants. We were confused by the breakfast that was served in the morning. I am a vegan, and noted that both in our reservation form and upon check-in. We received pancakes slathered in butter and coffee with cream. My spouse LOVED the breakfast (not a vegan); I was a bit cranky on just black coffee until lunch. One thing that was odd: in Yankee Magazine, this inn was written up as offering in-room massages. However, when we arrived, the room had multiple signs expressing that massage oil was not allowed in the rooms. We hadn't planned on massages, but found it peculiar. Overall, it was a lovely weekend and was very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Riverwind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverwind Inn

Address: 209 Main Street, Deep River, CT 06417
Location: United States > Connecticut > Deep River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deep River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the CT River Valley, between Essex & Chester, this cozy colonial B&B offers 8 comfortable rooms,all with private baths. Country breakfast included, free WI-FI, A/C. Voted Yankee Magazine Editors' Choice for 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Riverwind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Deep River
Deep River Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverwind Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.