We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Danbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Danbury to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Danbury
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Old Ridgebury Road, Danbury, CT 06810   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Danbury
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stop over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Found this place by accident. Great place clean and modern. Plenty of free parking great amenities awesome staff. Really cool bar with a piano. I would stay here again no doubt. If your in this area enjoy.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Danbury, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Orie;
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found us, even if it wasn't intentional. We do hope to welcome you back when your in the area again.
Warm regards, Christine Mazzoli, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
1
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a one night stay at the Crowne Plaza while in the Danbury area for a wake and funeral. When my mother arrived (we were traveling separately), the mamager assisted her with her bag and took her to her room...nice touch! Rooms are nice and appeared to be clean...until the morning when we actually saw a few disturbing things. When brushing my teeth, I noticed caked on toothpaste spatter on the lamp housings on each side of the mirror. Ok, a little gross, but it didn't touch me so I was willing to let it go...until...I sat at the desk to do my hair and makeup and found a used lollipop stick had rolled under the edge of the coffee service tray. You wouldn't have seen it unless you sat at the desk. However, it is clear to me that the countertops are not wiped down after each guest or if they are, the cleaning staff simply wipes around anything that might be in their way. Gross! I would probably give this place a second chance, but the cleaning staff needs to be better supervised.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Danbury, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies our guest room were not up to par during your stay. We have addressed this with our housekeeping staff and hope you do give us the opportunity to show you we have improved. Thank you again for your review.
Warm regards, Christine Mazzoli, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was there a few times never have iit liike this the new management is not the giving you the best services thay r not cleaning the same as the old one rooms was dirty & came in the morning was before check out was closed the ballroom that we paid I'm not advising groups to go there come to paying thay r over charging hope thay will get better

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Danbury, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ely,
We do take our reviews very seriously and we are disappointed in your review. The hotel is under a new ownership and management, we are very proud to be working for both. We have made changes to our level of service and based on many reviews we see we are moving our service levels to better serve all of guest.
To post a poor review on a social tool in order to receive compensation from the hotel is just as unfair as the business paying for positive reviews. We do not partake in either practice.
The hotel had a signed contract for this event along with a food waiver and indemnification clause. It clearly stated that the hotel would charge a cleaning fee if the ballroom needed to be cleaned. Based on how the room was left when the staff came in the next morning the cleaning fee was warranted.
Sincerely, Christine Mazzoli, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a class reunion for new years weekend, the hotel it's self is not too bad though the building looks more like a jail, however they remodeled recently the bath tub and shower can use an update but the service we got was horrible we stayed 35 couples after our stay we got the bill and to our shock we saw a charge of $1100 miscellaneous fee... that charge wasn't part of our contract.. we will never return here had an horrible experience

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Danbury, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Pini G;

We have reviewed your comments. We take pride in our hotel and our level of service we provide to our guest and groups. We are very disappointed in your review and would like to clear up the miscellaneous fee. The miscellaneous fee of $50.00 per hard key was on the signed contract. Since we have a signed contract we are just providing the wording we use on our contracts to this response:

Guest Room Charges:
• Hard Key Charge $50.00 at check in as a deposit. At check out, the deposit will be reimbursed once the Hard Key is returned. This will be an incidental charge at check in. Credit cards are required at check in and will be billed nightly.

The signer of the contract had in fact known about the $50 per room hold, based on the 22 guest rooms the group picked up it was $1100.00 hold on the card. The contract was based on all charges to the master bill, which included any incidentals on the individual guest rooms. The hard key incidentals was clearly indicated and agreed upon. The $1100.00 hold was placed on the card upon check in and released on the Monday following the departure when our front desk verified all hard keys were returned.

We do apologize that you felt this was an unfair charge, however it was on the signed contract.

Thank you,
Christine Mazzoli, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On our way from Boston to NYC over the Christmas holiday, we stayed in Danbury to visit with family. We have stayed many times at the Crowne Plaza in Danbury and, once again, we found the hotel to be clean and quiet. As for quiet, we were in the hotel on Christmas, so there were very few guests; however, this hotel is usually quiet.

We were told by the front desk that the hotel has been under new management since July 2014. With the change in management, we were glad to see that the decorative items in the lobby with "do not touch" signs have been removed.

One of the reasons we like staying here is the pool. It is attached to the hotel by a long indoor walkway. Why is this good? It is far enough away from the rooms that guests will not be disturbed by noise from children, i.e., our sons, having a good time in the pool. Also, the chlorine level is just right. This was an issue a year ago - too much chlorine which burned the eyes.

We did like the painted mural which line the walkway to the pool, but it is now gone. Not a big deal, but it made the walk to the pool a bit more enjoyable.

We thank the new management for setting the standard as the best place to stay in Danbury.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room not facing Route 84.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Danbury, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Boston Suburb,
Thank you for your review. In July the hotel was purchased by a new ownership and a new management company is here now. We are very pleased that you noticed the many changes we have made, we continue to work towards meeting and exceeding our guest expectations and remain within the brand standards of IHG.
We hope to see you when your passing through the Danbury area again.
Warm regards, Christine Mazzoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

I have stayed here a number of times over the past few months for business and I'm now looking for an alternative place to stay. Some of the rooms have been renovated and are really nice. I got one of those the first time I stayed which brought me back but if you don't get a king size bed in an executive room, you will be disappointed. The times that I was put up in a double bed room because the Kings were either all booked (even though they said upon reservations that there were available) or if you book through a third party (like this site) you cannot get rights to the nicer rooms and they automatically put you on the third floor without a king bed and a broken vending machine. One time the shower didn't work and one time the heat didn't work. If you're going to stay here I advise these two things: A). Don't book through a third party site - you will become second class. B). Make sure you get a new king size executive room.

Good luck!

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Danbury, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Dear Statefarmjake,
Thank you for your review. We have reviewed the comments in regards to our guest rooms. In 2012 the hotel completed a full guest room renovation. The guest rooms are designed with the same furniture and amenities in each room. The only difference would be some rooms have bathtubs and others showers only. We do offer an Executive level, this level does have some upgraded amenities and does have a cost associated with the upgrades. One of the amenities for the executive guest rooms is our concierge lounge.
We do offer discounted rates through different avenues for guest to utilize, this may be for the business person whose company does not have an established rate or for the leisure guest looking for the getaway. Our staff does no review any of our guest booking these rates with any dissatisfaction. Our guest, no matter the booking style is treated with the same courtesy as any other guest paying higher rates. With our loyalty program our IHG Rewards Guest receive upgraded amenities and bonus points because of their loyalty to the brand as a whole.
Our sincere apologies for the issues you had during your visits. As we try to exceed our guest expectations, we try to quickly address these issues as soon as they are brought to our attention. I apologize we fell short on fixing them during your stay.
Warm regards, Christine Mazzoli, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gloucester, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The room was beautiful. The hotel has been beautifully renovated.

I was disappointed at the cigarette smoke odor right by the front door. There was no avoiding it.

The towel supply at the pool area needs to be better monitored. A later evening swim opportunity was thwarted by lack of towels.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Danbury, responded to this review, December 10, 2014
Dear Linda,
Thank you for giving the Crowne Plaza Danbury a TripAdvisor 5 Star. We are pleased to read such nice comments about our accommodations. Thank you again for staying with us. We know you have a variety of choices in the Danbury market. We hope you stay with us again in the near furture.
Warm regards, Christine Mazzoli, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Danbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Danbury

Address: 18 Old Ridgebury Road, Danbury, CT 06810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Danbury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully remodeled 242 room hotel features coffee makers, iron & ironing board, oversized desk with ergonomic chair, high speed internet access, two line telephone and iHome Docking Stations, 42 or 37 inch flat screen TV's and HD TV stations. Our elegant and chic guest rooms combined with our 9 meeting rooms and three ballrooms with a total square footage of 26,000 makes this the perfect selection for business or pleasure. The hotel also features an indoor pool, game room and fitness center. Enjoy Fusion Cafe for breakfast and lunch and Jays Bar for an exceptional dining experience and drinks, as well as the availability of room service. Why stay anywhere else when our Shuttle will transport you to nearby corporations and attractions? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Danbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danbury Plaza Hotel Danbury
Plaza Hotel Danbury
Sheraton Danbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Danbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.