We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Danbury

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Danbury to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Danbury
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Old Ridgebury Road, Danbury, CT 06810   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Danbury
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Almost there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice job on refurbishing the hotel. Rooms are nice although you cannot run the shower without getting wet. Nice staff. Poorly stocked bar. Never picked up my breakfast order so i was late getting put. Be great with a little more attention to the details

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Danbury, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear ReeveC,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. We will be sure to address your concerns and appreciate your assistance in helping us become Danbury’s #1 hotel.

Christopher Calo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
22
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I just stayed at this hotel for a weekend conference. I was very impressed by the modern details and cleanliness of this hotel. The staff was nice and helpful. The rooms were immaculate and gorgeous. The only annoying part was I could hear a baby crying from another hotel room at night-but that could happen in my apartment building, too. I also developed some weird allergy to the sheets-I think. My husband didn't experience the same thing and we shared a bed-so therefore, I assume it was me. And no one else on the conference mentioned anything, either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Danbury, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Malkig,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the all new Crowne Plaza Danbury. Our newly renovated hotel boasts modern charm combined with functionality. We had comfort in mind when creating our unique spacious guest rooms that provide pillow-top mattresses and plush pillows as well large workspaces and ihomes. Also, upon your next visit please feel free to request a “hypoallergenic room” that we use special cleaners for people with sensitivities. Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Crowne Plaza Danbury, Danbury’s ”place to meet!”

Christopher Calo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We attended a New Year's eve wedding at this hotel. The food was excellent and the banquet room spacious and nicely decorated. The hotel has been renovated and it is beautiful. The room was spacious and bed in the room was very comfortable, the bathroom was updated and the room was also very clean. The rate was very reasonable. We had meal in the hotel restaurant that was delicous and the buffet breakast was also great. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Danbury, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Kimmijac,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the all new Crowne Plaza Danbury! Our 26,000 square feet of function space underwent a complete renovation and the designers left nothing out. Our space is perfect for any event ranging from birthday parties, bar/bat mitzvahs to weddings. Our Food and Beverage staff is always prepared to make your dining experience a memorable one. We take pride in knowing that you had a great experience and will make sure to pass this along to the team that makes it all possible. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Danbury, Danbury’s “place to meet!”

Christopher Calo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Point, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the Danbury Crowne Plaza to attend a conference. Although I've been to Danbury many times, i was unfamiliar with this hotel The Danbury Crowne Plaza is a recently remodeled hotel and rebranded. The hotel was very clean, the rooms bright, and the catered food door the event was very good. The lunches that were provided were impressive. The room was very large, almost too large for the newly appointed furnishings. The hotels creates very high expectations. I did have two disappointments during my stay though. One was with my room never being made up the first night of my stay that was not resolved until 730pm, and after 3 requests to hotel staff. Second, I had hoped to have breakfast in my room before my conference, and the hotel staff never picked up my order two nights in a row. In my eyes, these two issues are "growing pains" and not show stoppers. I would certainly go back to this hotel and look forward to future event here.

Room Tip: This hotel is right off Rt 84 but is a little tricky to get to because of the way it is situated on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
231 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A great hotel: Everything looks fantastic. This place is a notch above normal Crowne Plazas. Service was excellent; the cheese tray in my room was a nice touch. The phone in my room was broken, however, and the internet was not working. I had to switch rooms late at night just so I could call the internet provider. This was a major inconvenience. I was told I would be reimbursed with some extra Priority Club points, but this never happened despite trying to contact the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed from 4th to 9th Nov 2012, right after Sandy. Fortunately Danbury did not face the wrath of Sandy as most other cities did.
Interestingly, the entire place was booked by a local electric company carrying our repairs in the vicinity (there were only 2 of us who were international guest).
Large Room size, fast internet speed, large work area and a decent cupboard space.The place is nice, well connected by a vehicle, rooms are quiet to noise from the road etc. The best part was that the hotel offered free pick-up and drop facility to travelers like us, with no local transport. A great relief in more ways than one.
The only restaurant was monopolised by the electric company staff and a dinner buffet was laid out exclusively for them, inconveniencing the rest of the guests (princely - 2 Nos.) who happened to be vegetarian Indians. The pick-up and drop to restaurants for dinner was a great service, much appreciated.
Breakfast menu was fixed and rigid and that was annoying. Since the service would start by 4 am to cater to the electric company staff (over 100 of them), the restaurant staff would be tired and snappy by 8 am when we came down for breakfast, while fatigue was understandable display of the same was not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis mn
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Newly renovated, great rooms, flat screen, bedding, and upscale bath surfaces. The drain was slow, but we notified them upon check out. The bar/lounge was also updated. The service and food was very good in bar. highly recommend this property especially at current rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Danbury, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza Danbury with Tripadvisor community. Our team will be delighted to hear your wonderful comments regarding the décor, services and amenities provided. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Danbury. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Danbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Danbury

Also Known As:
Danbury Plaza Hotel Danbury
Plaza Hotel Danbury
Danbury Plaza Hotel
Sheraton Danbury
Address: 18 Old Ridgebury Road, Danbury, CT 06810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Danbury
#6 Business Hotel in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Danbury 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully remodeled 242 room hotel features coffee makers, iron & ironing board, oversized desk with ergonomic chair, high speed internet access, two line telephone and iHome Docking Stations, 42 or 37 inch flat screen TV's and HD TV stations. Our elegant and chic guest rooms combined with our 9 meeting rooms and three ballrooms with a total square footage of 26,000 makes this the perfect selection for business or pleasure. The hotel also features an indoor pool, game room and fitness center. Enjoy Fusion Cafe for breakfast and lunch and Jays Bar for an exceptional dining experience and drinks, as well as the availability of room service. Why stay anywhere else when our Shuttle will transport you to nearby corporations and attractions? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Danbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Danbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.